We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must go back soon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest View Walkers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byrness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest View Walkers Inn
Save
You added Forest View Walkers Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   6 - 8 Otterburn Green | Byrness Village, Byrness, Northumberland National Park NE19 1TS , England (Formerly YHA Byrness)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Byrness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“must go back soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My family and I stayed here and it was a most enjoyable experience. The proprietors Joyce and Colin were very nice and very helpful people. The accommodation was first class and we look forward to future visits.
The menu was excellent,even included a vegetarian section and the disabled suite which was warm cosy and had a very comfy bed more than catered for our needs.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for your kind review.It is always nice to chat to a fellow `Geordie` and get to compare places that we have in common. See you in the autumn when you come again. Joyce & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    13
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
50
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you enjoy getting out into the sticks away from hustle and bustle, meeting genuine people and being cut of from the majority of technology then this is the place for you. When me and my friend arrived at Forest view walkers in Joyce said that there was no T.V in the accommodation....to which i replied 'perfect'.

Joyce and Colin were very accommodating and friendly they have a host of local knowledge and are happy to share this with you if you show an interest.

On our first night we went out for some food and then came back to Forest view were we drank with a couple of the locals who were very funny, friendly and had a shed loads of stories about the local area.

The weekend was perfect and this was due to the hospitality of Joyce and Colin the people we meet and the beautiful landscape and history in the area.

We went to Byrness to attend dark skies at Kielder observatory....we didn't see one star due to the weather....but this really didn't matter...the weekend was perfect anyway.....it's also a good excuse to go back.

Thank you to Joyce Colin and all the people we met in Bryness (you know who you are).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed Byrness and it`s quirky residents hope to see you again next time you need to recharge your batteries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here after coming up for the dark skies at Kielder Observatory. After getting numb with the cold, to then come back to a roaring fire and a hot meal (and maybe a pint or two from Colin at the bar...) was very welcome!

Colin and Joyce went out of their way to help; I especially enjoyed the atmosphere and mixing with the others in the pub.

My room was absolutely spotless, as well as being exceptionally comfortable - I have stayed in places many times the price which did not live up to Forest View.

Accordingly, I returned home rested after a lovely trip and would urge anybody visiting the area to give it a try.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am glad that we were able to thaw you out it is just a shame that you didn`t have much company on the night you were here, better luck next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After seeing the ad on the YHA web site, I thought it might be fun to celebrate the New Year somewhere different. Different it certainly was! The owners, Joyce and Colin made very little effort to help guests feel welcome - Joyce hardly said a word and I don't think I saw her smile at all. Colin was friendly but the constant reminder of the rules made us feel like we were at school.
The bathroom was clean, the rooms spacious and beds ok (except for the plastic sheeting which made us sweat). The heating was sporadic - after coming back from a cold and wet walk, finding the heating turned down to minimum and an open window in the bedroom was not welcoming. The wood burners in the lounge and diner were great - if only Colin would shut the door to the freezing cold conservatory! The food was good but more choice would have been nice (different juice, more than 1 tea and decaf coffee).
On New Years Eve, the buffet was good but we weren't told it had been replensished so most of it went cold and uneaten. There were no celebrations of any kind.
On New Years Day, dinner was served at 5pm - far too early and only because Colin had booked the locals for dinner - surely staying guests come first?
Fortunately, the other guests were very good company and we laughed at the ridiculous regulations and school-like manner. I'm sure if staying for 1 night you'd have a good night but I wouldn't recommend staying there any longer to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Elaine, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback especially as you are not a typical guest for Forest View Inn. Thank you for your kind remarks about the cleanliness of our facilities and the welcome of our log burners after a long walk in deepest winter. The heating was on from 4pm-9am and thermostatically controlled in each room unfortunately when guests come in chilled to the bone it takes time for them to thaw out even with 2 log burners going full belt (especially if they have opened their window before they went out for the day) The buffet was replenished at intervals in order to make sure that the food was not kept warm for too long, it is much safer to serve a little more often.The safety of our guests is paramount and everyone seemed to understand this and all of the other guests commented on the quality and quantity of the food. It is made very clear on our website that Byrness is a place that you visit for peace and quiet. The lounge was full each evening and seemed to have a happy and sociable atmosphere with plenty of games and laughter.
I am sorry that you felt 5pm too early for New Years Dinner but it did mean that you could spend a full 2 hours at the table to enjoy your meal. The other guests who came for New Year have sent us a lovely E-mail thanking us for a comfortable stay and great food. At £90 for a 2 night half board stay with a 4 course New Years dinner I know that what you recieved was value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Colin and Joyce are terrific hosts and they cater perfectly for walkers and tourists to this special part of England. Mike and I stayed for two nights to complete the Pennine Way. The food was fantastic and the beer was the best I've had! Brilliant mini bus service helps to split the final leg of the Way. Very highly recommended. Colin and Joyce- keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words I am glad that our bus service helped you to enjoy the last leg of your Pennine way. Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

One of the friendliest b&b's we've stayed in. There are no TV's, so the bar is well used and everyone chats. Nice choice of wines and real ale!. Colin and Joyce are the perfect hosts. We used Forest View as a base for 2 nights for visiting Kielder Water and walking in the area. The full english breakfast was excellent and really sets you up for the day, we only needed a midday snack to keep us going until the evening meal. There was a choice of 3 starters, 5 mains and 2 desserts for the evening meal. At £11.50 for all 3 courses it's excellent value. We had a ground floor family room with en-suite shower room. The bedroom was spotless and the linen looked like new. There are no coffee/tea-making facilities in the rooms, but these are available in the conservatory.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback we have taken your point about the tea & coffee trays and these are now supplied in all rooms. We have however left the tray in the conservatory as people do like to make a cuppa while chatting to fellow guests in the Bar and lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The two night dinner, bed & breakfast package with a lift from and to the halfway point on the last stretch of the Pennine Way from Byrness to Kirk Yetholm is the perfect way to finish the walk. This splits what would otherwise be a marathon into two enjoyable days with an easy descent from Windy Gyle to the pick up point at Trows Farm. To add to the unbeatable value of this deal, Colin and Joyce, two very friendy Tynesiders, are great hosts and work very hard to make sure their guest are comfortable and well looked after. We stayed in the Old Post Office, across the green from the Forest View. The accommodation had a bit of 1950s character about it but was very clean and comfortable. Dinner in the small restaurant at the Forest View was excellent and again great value. The well kept beer and the lively chatter in the cosy bar were the perfect way to end a good day's walk. If you're planning on doing this last stretch of the Pennine Way, look no further than the Forest View for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since you stayed we have had en-suite facilities installed in all of the rooms at Forest View Inn ready for the next walking season. Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest View Walkers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Walkers Inn

Address: 6 - 8 Otterburn Green | Byrness Village, Byrness, Northumberland National Park NE19 1TS , England (Formerly YHA Byrness)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Byrness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Byrness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest View Walkers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest View Inn is an award winning inn and restaurant set in the Cheviot foothills just yards from the Pennine Way. The beds are arranged in single, twin and triple rooms which are all en-suite or have private facilities. A self-service breakfast is available for those leaving very early. We are fully licensed and specialise in hand pulled, locally brewed, traditional and real ales. Forest View has its own minibus to pick up and drop off guests over 2 days for those who do not wish to walk the 28 miles to Kirk Yetholm in one day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest View Walkers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.