We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest View Walkers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byrness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest View Walkers Inn
Save
You added Forest View Walkers Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   6 - 8 Otterburn Green | Byrness Village, Byrness, Northumberland National Park NE19 1TS , England (Formerly YHA Byrness)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Byrness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheshire
1 review
“Excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Six of us stayed over the last weekend to complete the Pennine Way and really enjoyed our stay. We used the bus service to Trows, which worked really well and help break the long stage into two enjoyable legs - highly recommended. The rooms, food & especially the draft beer were excellent and Colin & Joyce were very welcoming hosts. Despite some stress when 6 - 10 arrived unannounced, they managed to fit everyone in and welcome all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
The night that you stayed was very busy.It is good news that the origional National Trail is becoming more popular again. In fact I have recently changed the bus to a larger minibus so that more people can split the last section of the Pennine way. We hope to see you again if you are ever passing this way. Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    13
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
50
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a great place to stay one or two nights when walking the Pennine Way. Colin and Joyce put themselves out to make us welcome and accommodate our individual needs (like ice packs for the champagne at the end of the Pennine Way!). Had a great time there. The facility to collect walkers from Trows farm and take them up the next day (thus avoiding a 29 mile walk to Kirk Yetholm) is thoroughly to be recommended - it takes the pressure and sweat out of an otherwise very long day. The walk down to and up fromTrows farm looks alarming on the map but as the track is green and soft (and NOT boggy) it's really not too high a price to pay for splitting the final push in to two days.. The walk through the Cheviots deserves the two days and it would be a shame to push it in one day unless super fit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi I am glad that you enjoyed the beautiful walk over the Cheviot Ridge. We were pleased that we could supply an ice pack for your bubbly it makes a change from using ice packs for swollen and sore knees etc. Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

i stayed for the two day package with meals when i walked the pennine way. joyce and collin were more than great hosts. a great pot of tea and dried boots and an up graded room for free.the food was excellent being a veggie was not a problem and it wa a great room and really clean and the pick up after the first day was great and joyce waited ages for my slow desent to the ugly house! everything you could want as a walker was catered for and the house is well looked after and has a nice garden too.i met some interesting people including 'the slogger' and felt part of the pennine wayers! joyce and colin work hard at their walkers inn to make it comfrtable and welcoming.

Room Tip: all rooms are comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Well done on finishing your journey in what was a rotten summer. One of the guys you met `Slogger has recently competed in and almost finished the `Spine race` in some of the worst snow storms in many years you chose a better time of year for your Pennine way. Hope to see you again in the future. Joyce & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Spent 2 nights here (on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis) with my brother last week as we finished off walking the Pennine Way. This location enabled us to break the final walk from Byrness to Kirk Yetholme into 2 easily managed hikes and we took advantage of the complimentary bus service offered by Joyce to collect and drop us at the half way point.
The accommodation is very comfortable, clean, warm, and the food is great. I am vegetarian and found good choice during the stay. Our bedroom was one of three on our landing and we shared a bathroom between the three rooms.
The bar had 3 wonderful hand pulled ales from Allendale each evening, as well as an assortment of bottled beers.
Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the conservatory for a donation to the local rescue charity.
There is a drying room which is really useful for us hikers to dry out footwear and outerwear overnight.
During our stay most people were hikers on the Pennine Way but we did meet a couple of lads from Luxemburg just staying here as they visited the area.
Overall this is a great value place to stay and I would recommend it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for recommending our Inn to other walkers. The room that you had now has it`s own shower room and wc. We have spent the winter upgrading all of the rooms so that no-one has shared facilities any more. Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A warm welcome on arrival,together with drinks.After walking for hours in the rain,my wet gear was taken away to their drying room.leaving me to relax straight away.
Excellent evening meal and breakfast,and very comfortable accommodation.
This is an ideal place to stay if walking the PW,and is in the perfect spot on the long section between Bellingham and Kirk Yetholm.The walk from Byrness to Kirk Yetholm is one of the best long hill-top ridge walks in England, even if you are not doing the full Pennine Way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedback it`s a shame that you got one of the wetest July`s on record but it obviously didn`t spoil your walk over the spectacular Cheviot Ridge. I am glad that we managed to get your kit dry so that you at least set out comfortable. Joyce & Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Made a booking prior to walking the Pennine Way which upon arrival they did not recognised. Had to find alternative arrangements as did not have enought cash to cover paying again, (I'd already paid once) Not the reception you want after a hard days walking. Far from a warm welcome to me or my walking collegues.WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO MY ENEMY.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F0restView, Owner at Forest View Walkers Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
You arrived at Forest View without any paperwork or booking code to tell us the type of room that you had booked. You were invited into the conservatory for a cup of tea and a comfortable seat (as we do when welcoming all of our guests) while we went onto the website of the booking agent that you had used. You refused and said that you were going up the road to camp with some people you had met on your walk. 20 minutes later and with the owner of the land on which you were going to camp listening I again asked you if you wanted to use the room that you had booked and again you said that you wanted to camp and wanted a refund. I explained that a refund on the date of your booking was out of the question and asked you to sign a waiver saying that it was your choice not to use the room but you refused. We did all that we could to accommodate you,your room was available and it was your free choice not to use it. We are very proud of our hospitality as our other reviews show and as I told you at the time we do not respond to blackmail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuustwezel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Thank you so much, dear Collin and Joyce, for your nice atmosphere, your clean room and bathroom, for your superb meals, for your hospitality, for your nice tea/coffee at the moment of arriving, for your service to dry our shoes and cloths, for your beers and wines, for your humor, for your sympathy, for your understanding of our 'problems',e.g. blasters (-_-)
Our stay at your place was almost 'heaven on earth'...
Kind regards and we wish you ALL THE BEST
Jan & Maj (Belgium)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest View Walkers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Walkers Inn

Address: 6 - 8 Otterburn Green | Byrness Village, Byrness, Northumberland National Park NE19 1TS , England (Formerly YHA Byrness)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Byrness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Byrness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest View Walkers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest View Inn is an award winning inn and restaurant set in the Cheviot foothills just yards from the Pennine Way. The beds are arranged in single, twin and triple rooms which are all en-suite or have private facilities. A self-service breakfast is available for those leaving very early. We are fully licensed and specialise in hand pulled, locally brewed, traditional and real ales. Forest View has its own minibus to pick up and drop off guests over 2 days for those who do not wish to walk the 28 miles to Kirk Yetholm in one day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest View Walkers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.