We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Plough Inn to your Saves list
The Plough Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Front Street, Ellington NE61 5JB, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ellington B&B and Inns
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visted and was a very nice place, felt very relaxed,there was lots of choice from the menu but also more choices on the specials board so we deciede to both have the chicken leek and mushroom pie and was delicious very recommended and the pudding was yummy too, can't wait to visit again thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We came here for steak night last night and was cooker perfectly, didn't make pudding as too full but best steak in a long time, will definitely be back to try something from the full menu, and make sure we leave room for pudding..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We recently had a day out and had lunch at The Plough Inn. We both had Oven Roasted Chicken Supreme with vegetables, followed by Syrup Sponge and Custard. The meal was well presented and cooked perfectly. Environment was relaxing and the service was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had been to the Plough for meals previously, but I needed to stay a night in the area and noticed that they now did rooms. Booking over the web site was easy. Arrived - check-in was friendly and quick. Straight to nice clean rooms then back down for a bite to eat. The food was good as usual, though the restaurant was quieter than usual. The room was comfortable and the WiFi worked. Slept like a log. My bathroom was fine, but the basin was a little small. Breakfast was ready and even the special request was complied with - very rare. And they even had de-caf tea! This is a place where they go out of their way to anticipate some of those little extras. Well above average service for well below average price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having stayed at Cresswell Caravan Park in August and eating at The Plough, we decided to go again during our latest break last week. As before, the food was wholesome and well presented. My mum had the Steak and Ale Pie and although not quite enough gravy for her liking, plenty of tender meat. I had the Lamb Shank as before and it was excellent. My son went for the Burger with Bacon and Cheese and left a plate so clean it probably didnt need washing. The staff were warm and welcoming. Will always find time to have a meal here when we stay locally and would happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed nearby at Cresswell Towers Park Resorts this pub is not far away. We ate here twice during our stay. The first time was Saturday evening I had chicken in a peppercorn sauce off the specials menu which was very tasty. My hubby had Gammon which he said was good and both mums had a starter as they do not eat much, they had the chicken liver pate which was nicely presented and they both enjoyed immensely. On the Sunday we booked in for the Roast lunch 12 till 3pm. The food again was very tasty and we all enjoyed our meal. The staff were friendly and the dinning area was nice and relaxing. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting good pub food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have been to this pub for a meal and it does not disappoint. We took our brummie friends here on the 12th October 2013. We had reserved a table. If I had to find an criticism it would be the lovely girl serving the meals could have done with an extra pair of hands however she still coped marvellously with a constant smile on her face. We had Shoulder of Lamb which was beautiful and one of us had the salmon - again she said it was delicious. For sweets it was my old favourite Chocolate fudge cake with icecream - again delicious. We will certainly return again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Front Street, Ellington NE61 5JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn Ellington, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.