We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Wheat Heads

Three Wheat Heads
Front Street, Thropton NE65 7LR, England
+44 1669 620262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Thropton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, British, Vegetarian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Ate here twice in the evenings last week whilst staying in Elsdon (about a 20 minute drive away). Was very impressed with the food and the service. Booked the first time and was sat in the restaurant. Was shown to our table and the owner(?) seemed quite disappointed that it was dark outside - I think he wanted to show off the view! There was a huge selection of food, plus a variety of Greek dishes available. The food was not super rapid in arriving, but I think this was reflected in the amount and quality on the plate. The beef stroganoff was superb, and my wife and mother-in-law both enjoyed their meals too. The three ales on offer - Workie Ticket, Thrum and Three Wheatheads were all delicious. The lady serving was very friendly and remembered us from last year... all in all it was a bit like coming home!
I told the owner(?) on the way out that I thought it was excellent and that if it was on Tripadvisor I would review it and say so. So here it is.
The only other comment I would make is that it did seem a little stark in the restaurant - the lights were quite bright and (this may be just my memory) but there didn't seem to be curtains at the windows? I suppose that they may be away for cleaning though. This, however, is a minor quibble compared to the overall evening.
All in all, the £70 for the amount and quality of food that the three of us had (and beer that I had) was outstanding value, the service was superb, and I would not hesitate to recommend it.
The second time we ate in the bar area, and the experience was no less enjoyable and the service still top-notch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    37
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Would go again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Food excellant, would highly recommend the Carvery, although how anyone could manage the 5 slices of meat is beyond me!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice food and really good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We visited over the past weekend at the recommendation of our B&B (Tosson Tower Farm) as it had been getting some good feedback recently. We'd not booked but they found us a table and got us started with minimal fuss. The food choice was plentiful and i took the monkfish and prawn kebab whilst the missus had salmon. Both were nicely cooked and tasty - no complaints there.
The young waiter that looked after us deserves a mention as he was both friendly and efficient - so much so that i commented during the meal that i wished all service staff were like him.
The food was well priced and i'd happily head back there next time i'm in Thropton.

If i'd say one thing it would be to perhaps lower the wattage of the lighting in there and get a bit more ambience as it was a bit on the bright and clinical side. Hardly a big deal though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went twice over a four night stay in Rothbury. Food and beer were fine and service very good. The young waiter who looked after us was excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswell Hill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It may yet improve”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The restaurant has been reportedly under a new ownership recently. We did not see much difference in quality of service, food or choice of decor that we previously thought was fairly dreadful under the old management. The place is somewhat sombre and without character, the large glassed doors offer lovely views of Simonside Hills though give a feel as though you are sitting in a large fish tank. We arrived pretty hungry and ordered soup as a starter assuming it was a quick option. We had to wait for 30 minutes and when it arrived it was cold (quality is another poor performance issue and applies to our main meal, too). We noticed that excessive waiting time for food was a universal problem across all the other tables, yet only about a third of the restaurant tables were occupied. We would not go back in a hurry but hope the new owner will make the place in what it deserves to be.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Wheat Heads also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Sharperton, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 

Been to Three Wheat Heads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Wheat Heads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.