We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farm Cottage Guest House

Farm Cottage Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Farm Cottage Guest House to your Saves list
Farm Cottage Guest House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Thropton NE65 7NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Thropton B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent small B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this B&B at short notice to extend our short-break in Northumberland as the weather was good. We were allocated the Garden Suite which is self-contained with its own entrance. It was very comfortable and well-equipped. The B&B is in the middle of Thropton village, with a pub/restaurant on the other side of the road. We ate there in the evening and had a lovely meal. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, with plenty of choice and everything was freshly cooked. As keen walkers, we felt this was a great place to stay as there are lovely walks available from the door and it is on our list of places to return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding at the pub opposite. It was perfect and our hosts could not have been more helpful , especially as we had to do the flower arrangements for the wedding in the garden the evening before!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just had 2 nights at the farm cottage. rooms excellent, food great and hospitality very welcoming.would recommend this place for anybody wanting to stay in a superb guest
house. All the rooms were themed and on 2 floors. The surrounding area has great scenery
and off road parking. There is a pub opposite that does excellent food.

Room Tip: all themed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our first visit to Northumberland and we were not disappointed at all. The accommodation was beautiful, incredibly clean and so well presented and the best pillows we have ever slept on. We did take our own pillows as we usually do and they never left the car! Joan and Allen are a lovely couple who were very friendly and great to talk to suggesting places for us to visit which was a great help. Also recommending places to eat for evening meals which were all great. Overall, we had a great time and good weather and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at farm cottage for the first time it was perfect with very high stanards. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room(sunset) was very clean and comfortable with all the little extras you would expect from a 5 star b&b. I would certainly recommend ths little gem to anyone and will definatly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswell Hill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have stayed at Farm Cottage 4 times during our yearly visits to Northumberland. The whole place is warm and homely, the owners very friendly yet professional and discreet and the room we usually stay in is comfortable and has everything one would expect in a 5 star B&B including a mini fridge right outside the room. Superlative breakfast, generous and with several choices available. Attention to detail is evident in the house and room cleanliness, decor and service that does not stop after serving breakfast. Joan and Alan really want you to feel at home and will go the extra mile to make sure you do. Their dry room is a bonus if you love walking and get caught in the rain, you don't have to think about your wet clothes until they are returned to you the next morning but the lovely Joan. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b'ham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our second stay with Alan and Joan and we're pleased to report that standards remain exceptionally high. Our room(sunset) boasts a view across the Cheviot hills, is comfortably furnished, flat screen tv, hot drinks tray and complimentary glass of sherry upon arrival. The bathroom comprises a corner bath, toilet, bath robes, sink, shaving point and various toiletries. Just outside the room is a fridge, suitable for storage of your personal cold drinks, milk etc.

Breakfast was simply gorgeous and a special thank you to Alan for such a wonderful feast.

Literally fifty yards from the b&b lies the Three Wheat Heads. We dined at this establishment on both Saturday and Sunday and would highly recommend the experience. The food presented was flavoursome and very well cooked, however this isn't really a pub with an atmosphere for a good drink. If the weather's fine, sample the views from the garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Farm Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm Cottage Guest House

Address: Thropton NE65 7NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Thropton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thropton
Hotel Class:5 star — Farm Cottage Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Farm Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farm Cottage Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.