We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farm Cottage Guest House

Farm Cottage Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Farm Cottage Guest House to your Saves list
Farm Cottage Guest House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Thropton NE65 7NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Thropton B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at farm cottage for the first time it was perfect with very high stanards. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room(sunset) was very clean and comfortable with all the little extras you would expect from a 5 star b&b. I would certainly recommend ths little gem to anyone and will definatly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muswell Hill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have stayed at Farm Cottage 4 times during our yearly visits to Northumberland. The whole place is warm and homely, the owners very friendly yet professional and discreet and the room we usually stay in is comfortable and has everything one would expect in a 5 star B&B including a mini fridge right outside the room. Superlative breakfast, generous and with several choices available. Attention to detail is evident in the house and room cleanliness, decor and service that does not stop after serving breakfast. Joan and Alan really want you to feel at home and will go the extra mile to make sure you do. Their dry room is a bonus if you love walking and get caught in the rain, you don't have to think about your wet clothes until they are returned to you the next morning but the lovely Joan. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b'ham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our second stay with Alan and Joan and we're pleased to report that standards remain exceptionally high. Our room(sunset) boasts a view across the Cheviot hills, is comfortably furnished, flat screen tv, hot drinks tray and complimentary glass of sherry upon arrival. The bathroom comprises a corner bath, toilet, bath robes, sink, shaving point and various toiletries. Just outside the room is a fridge, suitable for storage of your personal cold drinks, milk etc.

Breakfast was simply gorgeous and a special thank you to Alan for such a wonderful feast.

Literally fifty yards from the b&b lies the Three Wheat Heads. We dined at this establishment on both Saturday and Sunday and would highly recommend the experience. The food presented was flavoursome and very well cooked, however this isn't really a pub with an atmosphere for a good drink. If the weather's fine, sample the views from the garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire ENgland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here in the garden room junior suite and had a lovely time for two nights.

This B&B deserves it's high rating both on tipadvisor and its English Tourism 5 Star Gold rating.

The rooms (my parents in law stayed in room 2) were excellent and clean with spacious bathrooms. The grden suite has a king size bed, we chose that one because we are used to a Super King but this was fine. One small issue that may need attention is the fan in the bathroom is very noisy and needs replacing but it only works for a short period after the light goes on- no real issue.

The owners are very pleasant and the breakfast is exceptional. All local ingredients and very very high quality cooked to perfection. A comprehensive continental offering is also available with specials available if ordered the night before.

Parking is off road on the drive and safe just go slow it can be a l little tight if it's busy.

The local area is full of good places to eat and if you don;t want to drive you can go the pub opposite.

Overall 5*'s

Would I go again, yes definitley! Well done and thank you!

Room Tip: Try and get the garden room, bigger bed and nice and sefl contained. The3 rooms are lovely too thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and were warmly greeted by the hostess Joan upon arrival. There was a problem with room we had booked so we were upgraded to the garden room, this was a beautiful room with luxury bedding and a very comfortable bed ,a real home from home . The breakfast was lovely and well presented with a good choice of food . As my husband is disabled, this room was ideal for us as there is a private access to the room ,the shower had a grab rail and was quite large but the bathroom would not fit in a wheelchair. This was our first trip to northumberland but it wont be our last we had a lovely relaxing break and our host Alan was very helpful and gave advice on where to go and what to see . I would recommemd this Guest House and we will stay here again .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in the mini Garden suite which wasn't large but had everything you could possibly want. The entire place is spotlessly clean and very peaceful.
Breakfast was good with all local produce - didn't like the sausages (from the local butcher) but that's just personal taste.
Only met the lady of the house - she was lovely - very welcoming, not intrusive like some B&B owners but helpful with suggestions if we wanted them.

Room Tip: Minin garden suite is at the back of the property so ver quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Scottish Borders
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our experience could not have been more different from the reviewer who rated Farm Cottage as 'terrible'. We were warmly welcomed. The room was spotless and better than you will find in many four star hotels. Breakfast excellent with five or six choices. Would definately use again and recommend to anyone

Room Tip: We had the Garden Room which is self-contained
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farm Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm Cottage Guest House

Address: Thropton NE65 7NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Thropton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thropton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Farm Cottage Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Farm Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farm Cottage Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.