We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise upgrade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Allensford DH8 9BB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“surprise upgrade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here 22nd June following a excellent stay a few weeks earlier.We used a voucher £85.00. On arrival were informed we had been upgraded to the bridal suite.This is possibly the best hotel room we have stayed in (we have stayed in some good hotel rooms) it was spotlessley clean and more an apartment than a room.Panoramic views of the country side out of five windows its located above the main entrance and really quiet we never heard any noise while we were staying here .Large (and i mean large)bed.Flat screen wall mounted t/v.dining table and four chairs.two double sofas.Bathroom had large free standing roll top bath (easily big enough for two).his & hers sinks,large corner shower cubicle.We went down to the Grouse & Claret bar for tea and muffins could not decide between sweet or savoury so got one of each and shared both were excellent wife had coffee which incurred a small supliment but was nothing considering the service we recieved while in there.Went for a short walk left at the end of the drive follow the road to the bridge then along the river Derwent to a nearby caravan park.Easy getting there did not realise it was uphill coming back but built up an appetite for dinner.This was in the Guinevere restauraunt three courses and a bottle of wine ( i dont drink so the wife was happy).Again could not fault the food or service amazed the waitor Savos remembered us from our earlier visit .He looks after your every need has a cheeky sence of humour sand realy adds to a pleasurable experience.Did not have time to use the Spa facilities again but no doubt we will retun and try them another time.Breakfast in the Guinevere restaurant and Savos was there again dont think he ever goes to bed.Excellent once again large selection to choose from and did not have to wait very for it to be cooked.Checking out was a pleasure even though there was some sort of cycle club checking out at the same time.did not take to long and receptionist was very organised and professional. As i have said before a hotel is nothing without good staff and team work and this is definatley an excellent hotel.Have just discovered they have directions for two hour and four hour walks available from reception so will have to try one next time we arethere.My only problem is now the wife wants the bridal sweet everytime we stay .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Derwent Manor bridal is just the ticket and when you get a free upgrade just gives it that extra WOW>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    256
    100
    58
    34
See reviews for
107
393
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
durham
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed as a special deal from my husbands employer £89 for 2 people 3 course dinner with wine bed and breakfast and tea and crumpets on arrival-a bargain

However there were a couple of niggles which made us think "really!"

on check in we were asked if we wanted to make a dinner reservation-reasonable question but didn't expect to see a £1.95 reservation fee on the final bill for this which would have expected to be complimentary!
there was also a strange sign on reception desk talking about a "traffic light system" which explained breakfast up till 8.15 was green with little waiting time,between 8-9 amber with 10 minutes waiting time and red being 9-10 and peak time with 30 minute waits.

I've never seen anything like this in a hotel before and although it may appear to give info to the guest it actually gives the impression they don't have enough staff to cope at peak times!
Actually we went to breakfast at 9.30 and were served very quickly

The weather was beautiful so we had our crumpets and tea outside and admiring the views.
the hotel and grounds are very pretty.I checked out the leisure facilities -pool small but popular with families staying there.

The room 102 was spacious and comfortable with 2 double beds.The old fashioned décor suits the hotel however the bathroom needs updating.the only other real issue with the room was the sound insulation or lack of.Doors slamming were a big issue and the interconnecting door to the next room every word spoken by our neighbours could be heard

the meal was good and very pleasant service-drinks in the bar area were reasonable and in a pleasant environment.i liked the "courtyard area " between bar and wedding chapel which looked a really attractive place for a wedding

all in all a good break

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Sorry to correct you but NO reservation fee is charged,we do have supllements on the menu which is the charge to your account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights the rooms were first class.we had a couple of complaints one we paid £15 a night extra for our dog ,their was not even a bowl to give her a drink.The other one was the food we ordered a 10z Scottish sirloin steak costing £17.50 each.I have had many steaks but I have never had one so thin it was not worth the money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Sorry we do have a dog charge for extra room cleaning, sorry you felt the steak was not the best but it is what is stated on the menu but we will speak with the butcher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a problem finding this hotel as the Satnav did not recognise the full post code.
Well worth the price and the accommodation was far better than we had anticipated with lots of function rooms and space.
Scenery is superb and close at hand we visited Derwent reservoir and all around is beautiful countryside.
Food was great and a credit to the Chef and staff who were all friendly and helpful.
Staff on reception very supportive, providing us with complimentary flannels and toothpaste as we had forgotten our. Definitely well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Some sat navs do have a issue with our post code , but delightd you fund us and enjoyed the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The offer we received for £89.00 included bed and breakfast, full use of spa facilities, a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine and tea and crumpets on arrival.
We arrived at around 3pm and on checking in we were told we had been upgraded to The Bridal Suite as it was our anniversary, I think I had mentioned it on booking!
We weren't offered tea and crumpets but after the lovely gesture of the upgrade and seeing our room that didn't matter!
The room was huge, a king size bed, couches, table and chairs, flat screen tv on the wall and the biggest bath in a beautiful bathroom it was fab,
The spa was small but ok although changing rooms were a bit shabby but more an observation than a problem!
Guinevere restaurant was quaint, my husband enjoys historical features and you defiantly see that in this hotel. The food was lovely, there are a few supplements if you want certain foods but we were happy with those on the offer. The service was brilliant very efficient and the staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast is also served in the restaurant and although very busy when we came down we were seated, fed and cleared within 45 minutes.
Overall a brilliant stay we certainly enjoyed our first wedding anniversary and according to my husband we are coming back next yr!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your upgrade, sorry you missed your afternoon tea always served in the Grouse Bar. Get that booking in quick cant always promise a free upgrade see you next year if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piercebridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Very decent hotel. Stopped here with the family quite a few times. Potholes?! Give me a break. Pool etc good although that & the rooms are somewhat tired.

Have dined upstairs as part of a DBB package & found food to be excellent & far better than the bar food (which is extorionate may i add - as are drinks).

The barlady (in her 50s) is a credit to Best Western. Always very friendly, honest, caring & pleasant.

Free WIFI is great & not many bars these days in the locallity have Full Sky Sports so they should really push this fact more!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for defending our drive we will asap repair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at the end of June and was really looking forward to it. But on arrival we were met with the worst driveway I've ever seen. Then we get into reception and we were early for check in but the way the receptionist spoke to us was just rude not trained in customer service very well. The room itself was dated but ok the beds were very comfy. The shower was terrible though no pressure what so ever. We had a few meals in the bar and the food was very good maybe a little expensive not too bad though. Breakfast was ok nothing special it did say on the menu fried potatoes but we never seen them? We never went to the pool so can't give an opinion on it. This hotel is ok don't get me wrong and the staff in the bar were nice but its not somewhere I'd rush back to.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Sorry to hear we were only average, though as a 3 star hotel we do look after our clients ,things which we cannot control like the drive are a disopoment to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Address: Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.