We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the hassles of life.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Allensford DH8 9BB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
SUNDERLAND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Escape from the hassles of life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed at the Derwent Manor for one night as we attended a wedding at the nearby Allensford Youth Village. The hotel is situated a few miles from Consett on the boundary of Durham and Northumberland in glorious open countryside.
Reception allowed us to check in about an hour early which was helpful and allowed us time in the bar. The bar was more like a pub setting than a hotel bar which was pleasant and offered a full range of Sky television which the remote was left for the punters to use themselves. There was a pool table and a large dining area. We didn’t eat and the menu was very expensive for our budget. We’d suggest if you’re on a budget trying one of the pubs at nearby Castleside or Consett that you pass on the way to the hotel.
The room was really large, with two double beds and still ample space for chairs dressers and wardrobes and still plenty of standing room for us. Bed was very comfy and room was immaculate.If this was a standard room then the executive rooms will be like heaven.One of the finest hotel rooms we have stayed in.
Reception area was also immaculate and the grounds around the hotel were beautiful. There was a separate spa area but we didn’t have time to use but I’d imagine it to be in tune with the rest of the hotel and be very good.
There were various function rooms dotted about the hotel and they looked superb venues. Non were in use on the day but open to look aroud.The hotels corridors were immaculate but if you struggle with walking request a room near to reception. Some of the rooms are a little out of the way. Fine for us but not for anyone with walking difficulties. Wheelchair ramps were considerately positioned we noticed. Entrance from hotel to the bar was a fantastic stone corridor which really gave the place character.
Only negatives were the driveway up to the hotel. The pathway was full of potholes and a ditch on either side. A nightmare to walk up and a nightmare for your car wheels.
Also we had no hot water on the morning of our departure. Now this is just one of these things that happen and we were just unlucky. The reception staff would have been more than happy to allow us into a nearby room to use the facilities even after the designated check out time when we informed them of the fault but by then we’d had a cold shower which didn’t do the wedding hangover any harm.
A great hotel in a lovely area. Ideal just to get away and escape the rat race. Full marks for hospitality and standards.We will be sure to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to reception if you have walking dificulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Many thanks for a full and frank review, our bar prices are in keeping for a hotel of good standing ,the pub food in castleside is very hit and miss our clients and locals tell us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    256
    100
    58
    34
See reviews for
107
393
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A perfect setting for a visit to the North East, positioned in the beautiful Derwent valley with close proximity to the great city of Durham and such attractions as 'Beamish outdoor museum'.
Our two night deal included dinner, bed & breakfast. We were greeted warmly when we arrived and were allocated our room which was at the front of the hotel and had great views. The room was large and very comfortable. The dinners were good with a small but varied menu. The food was well served, presented and perfectly cooked. There was a very good wine list. The breakfast selection was excellent and my wife tried the ' porridge' which was made with cream and quite delicious and gave a great start to the day. We will certainly be going back to stay in this fine and friendly establishment.

Room Tip: There are great views from every direction. It would be better for people with mobility problems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you a fine grand old hotel we are though a lady never tells her age Years 27 would be about right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from Derwent Manor.We took advantage of a hot wire deal.Exceptional value.We were upgraded to suite as it was our anniversary.We received a welcome drink and crumpets in the bar.We then went for a swim .Follow by a 3 course dinner with bottle of house wine.Staff were all helpful .Nothing was a bother to them.They even supply gluton free food which is a bones for me .We will definately be back.
Sue

Room Tip: E Mail them if you are celebrating asthey may up grade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Delighted we were able to look after you and your gluten free bones tasted good we always try to look after peoples diets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having been tempted by an exceptional value for money 'last minute' email from Best Western, we booked an overnight stay at the Derwent Manor. Upgraded on arrival to a suite, we were off to a flying start ! Our deal incorporated a welcome drink and choice of savory or sweet crumpet on arrival to be taken in the bar area - which filled the time nicely until our room was ready . Late afternoon was spent in the spa and followed by a pleasant walk in the hotel grounds. Evening meal in the restaurant was included - along with a bottle of wine. We chose entirely different meals and thoroughly enjoyed all three courses - plus a decent bottle of Shiraz ! Breakfast was good - with enough variety to satisfy even the most picky of guests - and we checked out feeling relaxed - which was the whole purpose of the visit .. good job BW !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Delighted you had a good time look forward to seeing you soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived for a chill out once at reception on time for checkin we where told the room wasn't ready so we should go and wait in the bar,one hour later we went back to reception but where told our room still wasn't ready and was offered a free down grade to a basic room as we had booked a suite. After rejecting the rather silly offer we eventually got our room keys at 5pm. We booked our table for evening meal and guess what our table wasn't ready so had to wait in the bar again. Once sat down for our meal after paying £22.00 per person everything on the menu had a supplement to be paid. Things got worse when we tried to brush teeth and wash in our bathroom next morning as the water from taps wash orangey brown with a slime covering it, my partner was ill as she had drunk water from the taps during the night. We complained by email and where told the water system had been cleaned that day but was not flushed out properly and basically tuff. I will upload photos for potential guest to see .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
What cani say sorry ! we are a busy hotel and maids work as fast as possible, our water supply is a natural spring and water quality is excellent, but we do need to carry out routine cleaning and flushing the system is just part of it, menu is 3 course fully included but supplements are offered for more expensive items, comments are taken on board but seem very harsh and not the norm, but thanks for posting the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Arrived without booking on a Saurday night as we had been let down by another hotel. Alhough they were full booked in the hotel (not surprisingly) the very pleasant man on reception found us a ground floor "cottage" across the car park. This consisted of a lounge area with TV, settee, table and chairs. Through a galley style kitchenette to a bedroom with ensuite off. The bathroom needed a complete refurbishment with bad tiling and botched repairs. For £97 it included breakfast in the hotel which was very good. We also ate dinner in the restaurant which again was quite adequate costing £84 with wine. To be honest we were just very grateful to find anywhere reasonable to stay on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We do try our best , do come back soon and book one our excellent packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed B/H weekend as a couple, nice room, large with good beg, full bath, basic TV and WIFI free to use. Easy parking, once you negotiate the bumpy drive. Nice little pool area, jacuzzi, sauna,for relaxing, not big enough for lengths, can take about 10 people then its full though, so look to use it when not busy. Only dissapointment the bar food - awfully over priced - £7.50 for 34 pieces of bread and some olive oil, £12 for a veggie burger - good restaurants in Hexam and Wolsingham will rescue your evening.
Breakfast ok - gets very busy, toast is only the half burned or half raw travelling oven type but at least the cooked breakfast is seved rather than hot counter. Loved the area will likley go back sometime.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if secuity is a worry, no window restrictors, ours blew wide open in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Many thanks for your constructive comments gives us a lot to work on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Address: Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.