We stayed here courtesy of Groupon. The room was very big with amazing views. On arrival, after check in time, room wasn't ready so were asked to go and have a drink in the bar and come back in half an hour. We were not offered complimentary drinks and the bar staff weren't very friendly. We returned to check in about 45 minutes later and only one of our two rooms booked was ready. We were offered other rooms but advised they had upgraded the room that wasn't ready so we decided to wait for the upgraded room. On the way to our rooms, at 4pm, there were still dirty breakfast dishes and dirty linen in the corridors.
We were initially pleasantly surprised with the upgrade from a double room to a 2 bedroomed suite with separate sitting room and a corner bath. However there was no television in the bedrooms, just in the sitting room so we weren't able to relax and watch telly in bed. When the bath water was run, it was so dirty nobody would want to get in and wash in it. We contacted reception who said the water was fed from a spring so it wasn't unusual. We appreciate that spring water does sometimes look dirty however this time we insisted it was particularly unpleasant and were supposed to send someone to have a look at it, but they never did. We ended up using the shower in the second bedroom which had a very small cubicle and served its purpose, but was not very enjoyable.
The other room had a double bed which wasn't very comfortable but the room was warm, clean and comfortable with a good shower. The television was very old and was on a stand on the floor and again we couldn't relax in bed to watch television as we got a creak in our necks.
We do not consider the upgrade was beneficial. There was more space which was not needed for two people and the bed in the master bedroom was huge, but there was no other benefit.
We ate in the restaurant as part of the Groupon deal. We were sceptical due to reviews, however the meal was excellent, 3 courses of good quality, well cooked food and the recommendations for food and wine from the very pleasant and attentive, but not overly attentive, staff were greatly received. Breakfast was also excellent.
We were looking forward to using the leisure facilities but were disappointed at the size of them and never got to use them as there were too many people in there, it wouldn't have been relaxing. We went for a walk instead to enjoy the amazing views.
We would stay here again but may be a bit more choosy about our room requests.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for the review. sorry you had to wait for your rooms, delighted you were offered a free upgrade, not sure why the water in one room only should be discoloured as the water in the shower was fine, as it all feeds from one system. Sorry no free drinks just a great rock bottom deal on the overall rate. Still the Best Deal in Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.