We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group On Deal - Everything Fab, apart from those Supplement Charges!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Allensford DH8 9BB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Group On Deal - Everything Fab, apart from those Supplement Charges!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Recently me and my wife and 2 year old daughter stayed at The Derwent Manor. We experienced a great welcome from the manager who was very helpful. Our room was spacious and well decorated apart from the bathroom which was a little tired looking and looked like something our of a prize off a re-run of Bullseye from the 80's.

On our first night we went for dinner which was included in our package, we were seen to promptly and seated without fuss. It seemed like we were on 'the deal menu' which consisted of a few choices per course. The usual soup, stroganoff, ice cream were part of the deal menu but even things like Potato skins had a supplement charge against them, It seemed to me like they made the choices included in our package sound so bland and tasteless that you had to order from the supplement menu to get any sort or flavour or satisfaction from your evening meal - All at £5 each!

You will also notice that the drinking water looks like one of the waiters has had a pee in it! This is due to the fact that it comes from a natural spring and is triple filtered and has not been added to by the shady looking waiter. I didn’t take his word for it and left it to one side!

On the 2nd day we spent some time looking round the local area and then went back to use the swimming pool on site which was fantastic, really clean and unusually the pool was lovely and warm. Better still you could still in the Jacuzzi and beckon the waiter to bring over a stiff G&T while you over look the kids splashing in the pool or the old dears desperately trying to keep their hair out of the water while they slowly make their way back and forth up and down the pool.

On the 2nd night we decided to ditch the restaurant and eat in the bar using the bar menu, which wasn't included in our package. It was Fab! I had the burger which was amazing and if i stayed there again I would eat there both nights.

Breakfast was also a treat, giving you just enough to see you through to lunchtime.

I would recommend staying there and would go back, just don't drink the water..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
WOW what a experience, iam sure for a fact the waiter did not pee in the water as it is passed my management as safe to drink. !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    293
    107
    71
    35
See reviews for
121
448
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This three star hotel is still punching way above its weight. Booked a 2-night B&B break with dinner on the first night with Superbreak for just £72pp. Great room (112), food and service. A very comfortable and relaxing stay. Will keep returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words, next time book direct and get our latest deals, will be waiting for you with a large glass of RED WINE.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a wonderful location & a stunning venue in which to have an overnight catch up with my lovely friend. Our room was lovely and spacious with 2 lovely large beds but bathroom a little dated.

The pool building is really lovely too but we found the pool rather on the chilly side. However, when we asked if the swimming pool water could be heated up the staff were onto this straight away & it was a little warmer the nxt am.

As we were only on an overnight stay, the highlight of our catch up was dinnner in the restaurant over a bottle of wine & a great tasty menu. The surroundings are lovely, full of character & very comfortable with great staff who are very friendly & attentive.Unfortunately the food was a real disappointment & really let the evening down.
The "set price" menu is not set at all as for certain dishes you have to pay a supplement for £1.95 extra for certain starters & an additional £5+ for a couple of the main courses. We were actually mad enough to do this & were sorely disappointed with our choices & couldn't work out what the extra cost was for???
My friend simply could not eat her steak & chips as it didn't taste right & I had to leave my chips - a first for me!! The waitress arranged for one of the additional costs for the main course to be waived as it had spoilt my friend's meal but we are still pondering why we had to pay supplements for such small & not very special starters.To conclude, dessert was poor too & we finished our meal searching for fruit in the fruit salad.

Although the food was disappointing, every member of staff we met was so helpful & friendly but sadly not sure if we will return based on our dining experience

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Again thank you for the comments as i said on the BEST WESTERN site can not hold with your opinion, however delighted a member of the team refunded you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. We had stayed there a year oreviously, spending over two weeks there and it was excellent. Some of the staff we'd got to know were still there, which projects a warm image as many hotel staff are itinerant.
The hotel in in a beautiful part of the country and the many attracteion are easily driven to, as are the local towns, with their different appeal.
One negative was that, despite telling reception about it each day, our television never worked. By a 'coincidence', it never worked when we were there a year before! If there was little or no reception in the rooms, it would have been better for reception just to say so. Thedifferent excusees each day made the situation much worse. The TV set was not even swapped with another one. For us, this was really trivial as we were out till late each night, but it was made really irritating my the excuses, plus the mumbled 'promise' on one occasion that 'perhaps we could take something off the price of the room' which never materialised! I write this in the hope that it is constructive criticism that might help the hotel (& Best Western) - both of which we really like.

Room Tip: Very populsr for weddings so, if you don't want to 'share' in the fun of hearing the hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Many Thanks for your positive comments, sorry but the TVs have not been right since the change over but we are in the process of correcting this. Rest assured your comments will be acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was overjoyed to be upgraded to a suite, particularly because it came with a four poster bed and an incredibly spacious bathroom.
The hotel has good old fashioned character and is situated far from the rat race.
I didn't get the opportunity to use their Scandinavia looking leisure facilities but they looked inviting.

Room Tip: Derwent Suites are lovely but they are on the top floor (only accessible by stairs) so not suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Many thanks comments are much welcomed, glad you enjoyed the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights during the worst storms of the past 10 years but did not dull the warm welcome of the staff. Rooms excellent, nice and warm, clean & spacious. Had two double beds as twin. Food very good, reasonable choices. Bar prices no more expensive than most hotels. Internet connection free if a little slow but nothing you don't expect when you are miles from anywhere. Staff friendly and helpful. Only downside is they could do with a seperate lounge away from the bar to just relax and read etc. preferably with views of the stunning countryside around, plenty of places outside but if is blowing a gale and lashing it down hardly useful . Saw some of their banqueting suites and they looked fabulous, beautiful place for a wedding I am sure.
All in all one of the better hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor had no AC noise and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks we feel we have a great hotel ,views are great and yes you are right we do have some great wedding rooms the GREAT HALL is just fab for a wedding ,party or christnas.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Absolutely fantastic hotel. Can't fault it. Great value for money. Enjoyed swimming pool and jacquzzi. Had evening meal in Grouse and Claret bar rather than restaurant. Excellent food and service. Lovely spacious ground floor room with nice views. Stayed for husbands birthday. Would stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hope you had a great birthday ,dont leave it a year to return, missing you already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Address: Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.