We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can you ask for the money?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Allensford DH8 9BB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What more can you ask for the money?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

After we booked a weekend here we were a bit alarmed after reading some of the reviews. But we knew that we had got a really good deal on a two night dinner, bed and breakfast package, so arrived expecting the worst but hoping for a little better. We can only speak from our own experience here, but it is all positive. Fantastic location with great views from our window. Yes, it's in the middle of nowhere, but a few minutes in the car gets you to Corbridge, Hexham, and a host more local sites of interest. (And it's worth knowing that mobile and 3G reception is good - at least on 3 and T-Mobile.) Our room was large, well furnished and spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed, and all the electrical equipment worked! The meals were of a standard far in excess of the price that we paid, and we found a superb red wine at a reasonable price. Restaurant service was attentive and friendly. The only thing I could fault was the coffee at breakfast, which was way below standard. The exceptional part of the weekend was the way every single member of staff did their utmost to be helpful. Absolutely full marks for this. We have stayed in a lot more expensive hotels and had worse rooms, poorer quality meals and far worse service. I think that some of the people who complain about this hotel forget that on the package deals they are getting three star value at two star prices. We were travelling with our dog, and I would class the hotel as 'dog tolerant' rather than 'dog friendly' as the only place the dog was allowed was in the bedroom ( - though some customers no doubt regard that as a positive!) That said, most of the staff made a great fuss of her whenever we were coming and going, so that makes up for it somewhat.

Room Tip: 119 was large, comfortable, close to reception/restaurant (but still quiet) and had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We will review our coffee offering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    293
    107
    71
    35
See reviews for
121
448
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dunfermline
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Dreadful, dreadful, dreadful staff miserable, service unbelievable call in the hotel inspector

Room Tip: Dont Go! Rooms need updating and some heating would be good1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a disappointment !

When we got to our family room, the first thing we all noticed was the two ripped chairs ! The only thing they were good for was the tip !

Anyway , we decided to go for a swim , myself looking forward to relaxing in the jacuzzi. Oh dear ! The jacuzzi was not working and was stone cold.

Next was dinner in the bar area. They had run out of the roast beef at 5.30 !!! So I went for the pork. That was totally inedible and was a mass of gristle and fat. The fish and chips they replaced it with were nice.

Breakfast offered waffles on the menu which the children wanted.....Oh dear the waffle machine was broken !
The final nail in the coffin was that evening when I decided to have a bath and guess what the hot tap didn't even turn on !!

All this was reported to the staff politely over the two days and no-one seemed to be that bothered !

Certainly would never go back or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse12shrews, Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you, please note all chairs have been replaced many rooms have been up graded this responce is from a while back, but thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We booked this as a special DBB offer and had read the reviews. Not expecting the world we went to stay last weekend.

The hotel is in a lovely location, the drive up from the main road is a bit dicey and will probably not see out the winter if they get more snow/ice in those parts but the views and the setting are wonderful. It is a very peaceful place and not a bad drive out.

We checked in quickly and were given directions to our room. The room was fine, clean and very spacious with two double beds. The beds are a bit past their use by dates but the pillows were obviously new and were the most comfortable pillows I've ever slept on. The decor in the rooms lets the hotel down, when the outside, the reception and hallways are really nice. But it is only 3* and that is really accurate.

It would make a lovely location for a wedding, most of the large banqueting rooms were set up for weddings, and if the food is as good as in the restaurant then it'd be a winner for me.

We had dinner included in our rate and made our way to the restaurant. The receptionist had offered to make us a reservation which was good but we'd already made our own. The food was really good. We were both very impressed. We had a starter, main and dessert each and thoroughly enjoyed it, it was tasty and well cooked. We had to pay supplements for some of the dishes but they were still good value.

Having read the reviews on here I wasn't expecting much of the staff. In honesty, the waiting staff were pretty good, but I'd not have liked to be on the other end of the rolling eyes of the management. We did see a couple send some food back and the manager returned and argued with the lady about it. She then made her wait for a good 30/35 minutes for another meal. That coupled with the reviews and responses the management staff put on this site makes me think they don't take complaints or criticism too well.

We had been told a bottle of wine would be half price when we arrived for dinner, at check out this hadn't been applied (Because reception was closed when the bill was created the night before?) but it was sorted, with little eye rolling thankfully.

Breakfast was plentiful with a lot of choice. Nothing bad to say about it at all. It set us well up for the rest of the day.

All in all, if you can get this on a special offer I would say jump at it. It was very much worth what we paid and will likely return for dinner, and hopefully to stay over.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thankyou for a balanced and fair response. Your review and thoughtfullness will help both the management and staff improve, and rolling eyes should never happen again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The niggles started when we arrived and were given our room key with the words "it probably won't work but try it anyway and if it doesn't, come back down and we will see what we can do". Needless to say the key did not work but the housekeeper at least let us into the room to drop off our luggage before the long trek back down to reception. We then had to wait 20minutes for someone to bring us a replacement key.
We booked our dinner table for 7.15 and arrived promptly and stood waiting in the corridor for about 5 minutes before someone saw us and showed us to a table. Service was very slow but very quick when it came to signing for the drinks.
The following morning we again waited for what felt like an age to be seated for breakfast. Service was OK and again very slow. I ordered the waffles to be told the waffle machine was broken.
We went out for the day and upon our return decided to have our inclusive afternoon tea. We ordered and sat down and waited, and waited-should be special we thought-wrong. Our afternoon tea, which is charged at £11 per person, eventually arrived. We were each given the equivalent of one round of sandwiches, cut into fingers, a slice of cake (type unknown possibly date and walnut) and a scone filled with cream and jam all on one plate, along with a pot of tea and a pot of coffee.
We went back to our room to find that the glasses we had used the night before had been removed and not replaced. We had booked a table for dinner for 7pm. Again we arrived promptly and waited to be seated. We both decided to skip a starter and go straight for a main and then dessert. We placed our order and were told that as we were skipping starter there would be a delay in getting our mains!!! When it eventually arrived the meal was not as good as the previous evenings and my husband said his was quiet oily. We were asked if we wanted to see the dessert menu to which we said yes. Ten minutes later the waitress came to take our order only to realise that she had not given us the menus. Orders eventually given and another long wait ensued. Desserts came 25 minutes later and a thick skin had developed on my husbands' custard, so how long had it been sat waiting to be served. So an hour and a half after arriving we finally left.
This morning as I stood in the bathroom about to get into the shower, the bath mat that was there yesterday had gone. I was not going to ring down to reception to ask for one as I was ready to get in.
We arrived for breakfast at 9 to find a queue of 10 waiting to be seated. Someone finally spotted us and realised there were not enough tables in the dining room so put us all into an adjoining room. Although the room was set up for breakfast things were missing, some were missing milk jugs, some were missing menus etc. And we all waited. Orders finally got placed and drinks arrived. And then a waiter appeared and tried to take every ones order again. And we waited. A waitress bought toast for one table minus any butter etc. From where I was sitting I could see that the toast was burnt and very unappetising. The customers then went and got their own toast from the other dining room. No one else was offered toast and if anyone wanted any they got up and got it themselves. My breakfast arrived and the bowl was overflowing with thick lumpy porridge, which while quiet tasty was a chore to eat. One lady was overheard to tell a waiter that it was the worst breakfast she had ever been served.
On the plus side the hotel is in a lovely peaceful area and it is very relaxing. The rooms are large and very comfortable. One criticism of the rooms is the TVs-when in bed the TV cannot be seen as the beds are high and the TVs low. Maybe put the TVs on the desk or invest in some flatscreens on the wall. The bedroom doors are heavy and slam with a hefty bang which can be a shock in the night when asleep.
What should of been a pleasant break away was spoilt by these niggles. I am only glad that I hadn't paid full price and had taken advantage of a deal offered online. This hotel will never get more than a 3* rating while these issue are ongoing.

Room Tip: Not sure about access for wheelchair users as there are lots of stairs. The restaurant is on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax West Yorks
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel is not the easiest to find, but is well worth it. It is situated overlooking the Derwent Valley near to the Durham/Northumberland border - it is not a very well known area, but in a good location for local attractrions. The hotel is well furnished, clean and could easily pass as a 4 star. The public rooms and bedrooms are all of a high standard. The staff in the dining room were friendly and polite and we enjoyed a very good evening meal from an extensibve menu. It was also very good value for money and one which I would recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thankyou! Sat Nav systems generally find our location a little difficult to find however to find such an attractive hotel which such good value for money is well worth looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We went with friends for a weekend bought on Travel Zoo. I had not read the Trip Advisor reviews before I booked and was horrified when I read them. However, decided to go ahead and was pleasantly surprised. Hotel is nowhere near as bad as reported. We had a room on the 2nd floor which was large and clean although our friends were offered room 101 on checking in which they rejected but were happy with room on second floor. The decor was dated but this is a 3* hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, freshly cooked with a large choice. If you have kippers make sure you are hungry! We had an evening meal included for the first night which was good so we decided to eat there on our second night as well as there is very little else in the area. Tickets for Alnwick Castle were included which although it was 50 miles away was worth the visit. Visited Durham on second day which is not We did not try the leisure centre which looked fine. Hotel is large and had lots of rooms for weddings and conferences. We had a good time and would return if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Some reviews are more accurate than others! Thankyou for not being put off by the negative reviews from very few of our clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Address: Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.