We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no respect” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fox at Farthinghoe

Save Saved
You added Fox at Farthinghoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fox at Farthinghoe
Baker Street, Farthinghoe NN13 5PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Farthinghoe B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“no respect”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

pre fathers day meal - not cheap but always had good experience prior to this - special family meal.
food good as usual, man who was front of house brusque, rude and dismissive. Two tier service - posh ladies get kisses and plenty of attention. Normal every day people beware you will only be tolerated. bar staff waiting staff brilliant.
when complained to owner he asked for my e mail address - over a week later and sent my e mail address again - still no response. wanted to give them a chance to resolve problem - realise negative review can ruin business - not to be taken lightly. first negative review I have ever written.
There is a lack of respect or customer service

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Northants
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Have eaten here several times and the last occasion was a family lunch over the Jubilee week end. We were in fact celebrating 5 family birthdays which ocurred within a 5 week period. Food as always was very satisfying. The menu is quite varied from Fish and Chips served in a paper bag to an excellent locally produced Aberdeen Angus sirloin steak. My growing grandson had a massive burger which would be a challenge to any man. All in all a very pleasant lunch in a very friendly atmosphere

Room Tip: this is a restaurant review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I didnt eat here but just called in for a drink as I was passing but I won't be calling again as I fekt the bar prices for a village pub were well over the top. Nice looking place but never again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We had an ad hoc meal here as we used to enjoy it. What has happened? The menu was too long - usually a sign of bought in food and this appeared to be no exception. The waiter was brusque and faintly patronising. Our drinks order took a while to come. The food was uninspiring. The whitebait was alright but tasteless. The main courses were dull and stodgy and utterly forgettable. The atmosphere was one of rush to turnover customers. The decor was nice - at least that hasn't been altered! All in all I could not and have not recommended this pub. A shame as it used to be so good and such a treat.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farthinghoe hotels

Bicester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Compliments to the chef!

My wife and I had the most exquisite meal at the fox and we can't tell you how much we enjoyed the evening, decor and setting.



On a negative note we felt it inappropriate a bar manager, I think his name was Nick? Gave my wife a kiss on both cheeks while entering the bar. As new customers we felt this over the top and as my wife put it, sleezy! Feeling quite shocked by this we moved onto our table without complaining at the time. Later on in the evening we caught him wiping the sweat off his face with his top, quite disgusting I'm sure you will agree.



Not wanting to end on a complaint, we thank you for your hospitality at the Fox and hope this incident will not happen again and was a one off. Maybe mistaken identitity on the bar managers part as regards to my wife?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Imagine....
A beautiful summers evening,
An attractive country gastro pub,
We arrive early for an unexpected evening out,
We decide on the most expensive item on the menu,
New bottle steak - a local farm specialising in organic meat.

The reality......
A sour faced waitress,
Flies,
And a £20 steak that was only half edible,
And,
A lack of concern about leaving half the food served.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at the Fox as our son chose it as the venue for his 30th birthday party.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful; the food provided for the party was probably the best buffet style spread I can remember having; the room was of a high standard of decor and very comfortable.
The pub does not serve full breakfast, but during the evening a selection of cereals, fresh fruit, fresh milk in a thermos flask, and croissants were left in our room for the morning. This seems such a simple but clever idea - I'm surprised nowhere else has ever thought of it! I was also very impressed that the tea and coffee facilities in the room included a cafetiere and pot of fresh ground coffee. A detail which I have not seen before and much appreciated!
I would love to visit again for dinner one day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox at Farthinghoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox at Farthinghoe

Address: Baker Street, Farthinghoe NN13 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Farthinghoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Farthinghoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fox at Farthinghoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox at Farthinghoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.