We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to just relax and enjoy the fabulous scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Chau Nature Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mai Chau Nature Place to your Saves list
Mai Chau Nature Place
Ban Lac Village | Mai Chau, Hoa Binh, Mai Chau, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to just relax and enjoy the fabulous scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently stayed at Mai Chau Nature Lodge in Hoa Binh provence in Vietnam. I traveled with my 69 year old mother and my sister [both in our 40's]. We stayed in basic bamboo huts with thatched roofs. There was a small bathroom and our hut had two bedrooms.There's a central kitchen, located in the open air and serviced by a small team of local White Tai minority ladies who are shy but friendly and who provided us with three delicious meals a day. From our balcony there were gorgeous views, overlooking rice fields nestled among huge limestone mountains- breathtaking! We were provided with pushbikes and rode around dirt tracks through two Lac villages and into the main town of Mai Chai. We had a go at silk weaving and had the option of a swim in a lovely serene lake if we had so desired. There is also a good walk to a local cave set high in the mountains that is worth doing.
We were provided [on request] a driver and car to take us to a local ethnic minority village of the Hmong people and on the way stopped to chat with some local women picking tea.
The people at the Nature Lodge are so hospitable, there are some fabulous local handicrafts to buy, local walks with beautiful scenery, a local market or you can simply relax.
I hope to travel to Mai Chau again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    33
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The accommodation is quite basic but so peaceful the meals were good. Traditional banquet type dinner and staff really friendly. they also had traditional dancers perform after our meal for us and the other 2 small groups. They get you up to dance and then you all to share a huge pot of local rice wine. I have no complaints It is exactly as above Rustic but really nice and the dancers were fun.
The town and village are lovely and the surrounding country side is absolutely stunning... such a picturesque place... we rode our moto down from Hanoi which was really enjoyable but it did take about 4 hours Highly recommend Mai Chai!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halong bay, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This homestay guesthouse is also a tour operator. We already booked the SIC tour with its agent in Hanoi old quarter (Ngo Huen lane). The tour was great although we didn't stay in the guesthouse but Mai Chau lodge instead. The tourguide was fantastic, apart from accommodation, we still joined the rest activities: trekking, bus transfer, rice wine drinking :) so purely. Mai Chau is a striking charm that you should not miss

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed there just for a night, its really rural such homestay, but maybe you like to have that experience too.
Even as the village looks very tourisic, during the week there are almost no foreigners there. And people seem not to be fiex to the tourist business, so we entered a restaurant and they told us, that they can not make another dinner as they have already many guest. Ok we took some other restaurant, which finally was also our homestay,
very simple one room for all, no air-con, just a net and a tiny matress, but so is live,
and dont ask about the cost.
will defenitely come back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Lush green rice fields set against mountains... Surreal experience of riding a bicycle along village lanes, through rice fields, passing buffalos & chickens. This is what Mai Chau lets you experience!
I stayed at a Riverside Bungalow for 1 night, which I definitely recommend if you can afford it. Please remember you are visiting a rural village, meaning no air-conditioning, only stand fan, using a mosquito net & living in bamboo houses.

A trip to the local market in the morning was fascinating! Raw meat is sold on wooden counters with no refrigeration (got to see dog meat!), live fish, tiny crabs frogs & crickets.

The tour guides were very friendly & helpful. The other tourists on the tour were great company. I would strongly recommend this tour as an escape from busy Hanoi:
www.maichaunatureplace.com

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I would really recommend this trip for foreigners visiting Vietnam. My mother and I went with a private tour guide for two days and one night and it was a really wonderful experience. Drinks (bottled water) were extra, but otherwise home cooked meals, bike rides through the muddy back roads, trekking adventures, and shopping in the village itself make for a good time. The village is the nicest to visit in the area, and the first floor of the stilted houses are turned into small shops where they sell woven scarves, embroidered bags, etc. for very cheap (only a couple of US Dollars). The countryside is very peaceful and feels rather safe. If you are going during the summer months and want to visit some of the other nearby towns, I would recommend bringing waterproof shoes with good traction, sandals for the house, more than one pair of pants (not just a change of shirt) as the back roads are often made of dirt and may be (a 2 foot deep stream) or very slippery mud and you are apt to get a little dirty. Also keep in mind that people here have a different standard of living, so don't be surprised if there are cows next door and soap is only really seen near the guest house.

Room Tip: Try and get one that looks out on the rice patty. The inside of the village may be a little less pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We went with friends and they had organized it all. We have never been to Mai Chau and did not know what to expect. We stayed at a homestay by the edge of the Thai etnic village and the view was spectacular. Rice paddys and fish ponds in the foreground and the whole valley completely surounded by the mountains. Very beautyfull.

The family which house we rented did very nice lunches and dinners for us. To stay in a homestay was very nice but the matrasses was a bit thin for my back. If you can, bring an extra sleeping pad. If you look for a more comfortable place to stay you should stay at the lodge. But bear in mind, its much more expensive to stay at the lodge. We payd 50.000 VND per night/person. Its almost 2 USD.

The kids loved to take long walks through the rice paddys and rent bycycles to explore the dirt roads.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai Chau Nature Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Chau Nature Place

Address: Ban Lac Village | Mai Chau, Hoa Binh, Mai Chau, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hoa Binh Province > Mai Chau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mai Chau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ban Lac Village, an ethnic Thai villageConsists of 4 deluxe river view bungalows and 4 standard garden bungalows. All are inspired by a traditional ethnic Thai stilt-house, built in 1966. The eco-friendly bungalows are on 2000 square meters of land with vegetable gardens, a fish pond and a living museum showcasing the traditional local daily life.At Mai Chau Nature Place- Riverside Bungalows, guests are welcomed and served as members of the family. Guests will live in the same way that people lived centuries ago. Communal life helps guest better understand the local customs from the past and help preserve the Thai traditions.The bungalows were built with local materials that are very friendly to the environment, such as wood, bamboo and palm leaves. Each bungalow has been designed for simplicity but also for coziness and has a spacious private balcony for relaxing or sipping tea, which is prepared for you. From here you can also enjoy the peaceful scenic countryside, green fields, gentle streams and animals grazing. Mai Chau Riverside Bungalows is the perfect place for escaping noisy, dirty, busy city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Mai Chau Nature Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Chau Nature Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.