We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still like this place lots - but much prefer it at night when it is not full of babies/small children.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Lounge

Alto Lounge
32 Church Street, Caversham, Reading RG4 8AU, England
+44 118 947 3522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Caversham
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Alto Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“I still like this place lots - but much prefer it at night when it is not full of babies/small children.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I still like this place for lots of reasons - mainly the helpful staff, a good selection of newspapers for customers to read, and the lovely tapas dishes and burgers. But I have noticed that there are more and more groups of mothers and babies/toddlers using this as a meeting place, and some days it feels more like a creche than a cafe/bar/restaurant. Despite the fact there is a designated area for prams/buggies a lot of parents choose to block aisles and access to other tables by keeping their childrens stuff next to them. I am not a child hater - it is just that I am starting to avoid Alto during the day as it is becoming very difficult to have a a quiet breakfast, coffee break or lunch due to noisy/screaming kids.
I would now rate it as 'poor' during the day (for the reasons stated) but 'very good' in the evenings/at night. Therefore I am rating it average overall.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto-Lounge, Manager at Alto Lounge, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Merry Christmas and thank you for your view all the way back in April. We really hope you are well and would like to see you again some evening, when service is a little quieter on the small loungers front.
Good health and happiness for 2014 #lovelife #lovelounging .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love the Alto Lounge, it's one of Caversham's gems. Although it's a chain, it still feels independent, with slightly quirky decor and cheerful, friendly staff.

The food is great, I can particularly recommend the burger and the banana split (though maybe not if you're watching your weight!). The free Wifi is a bonus as well, especially if you want somewhere to work and a decent cup of coffee.

The only potential downside is during the day, particularly mid-morning and mid-afternoon, it becomes very busy with yummy mummies and babies/toddlers. This is obviously great if you fit into that category, but might be best avoided if you're looking for peace and quiet!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto-Lounge, General Manager at Alto Lounge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
First off, thanks for your kind words about us here at Alto. We are happy to offer good service in a quirky setting which people enjoy. Chef is particularly happy you enjoyed his burger and banana split, and apologizes for the calories!!! Its important we continue to serve great coffee so again, we appreciate you enjoyed it.

Regarding the lunch times we understand it can be quite busy with mums and kids, but we do try to look after the little loungers as well as the big loungers and try to make it so we appeal to everyone.

Thanks for taking the time to review us on trip adviser and we hope we can continue to offer the same experiences to you in the future.

All the best, from AltoLounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Oxfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the name, I expected a cocktail bar or similar. In fact, this is a delightful little bistro-style restaurant with a comprehensive but inexpensive menu. The ambience is rustic and welcoming and the staff are helpful and friendly. We all three had very tasty, well presented meals and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for a lunch or dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto-Lounge, General Manager at Alto Lounge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us at Alto Lounge. Like I have said on many occasions before, we would be nothing if it wasn't for lovely, hard working staff and wonderful, fun loving customers.We appreciate all feedback and your comment will help me keep my staff smiling.I hope to see you again soon.
Marie-Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversham Reading
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely place to share Tapas in the Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had a great sharing supper with some girlfriends, we had 15 tapas between the 5 of us, a great choice and more than enough. The tapas were very tasty. Good place in the evening, been during the day for a coffee and sadly it was full of screaming children which put me off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto-Lounge, General Manager at Alto Lounge, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed our tapas dishes! We love our little loungers during the day and as a community cafe/bar we do try to cater to everyone big and small . However very glad that you enjoyed your time even more so in the evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A good place if you are going for Breakfast, lunch or for Dinner.

They have a license so wine or beer with your meal is fine.

a really good choice of food options form the blackboard...too many as I coudn't decide but good food at a reasonable price.

And Free WiFi too!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto-Lounge, General Manager at Alto Lounge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Really lovely to have a nice response from you, we all very much thrive of great feedback and hope you will continue to visit us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alto Lounge also viewed

Woodley, Wokingham
 
Caversham, Reading
 

Been to Alto Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.