We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Tar

Jolly Tar
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jolly Tar to your Saves list
Jolly Tar
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Queens Road | Hannington, Hannington SN6 7RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hannington B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A local favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I go here fairly frequently for both business and leisure. The food is always of a very good, informal standard with a warm welcome.

I will continue to visit and am looking forward to the Winter months when the fire will be lit :-)

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
23
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

I had lunch, hadn't been to The Jolly Tar for years and it had some good reviews on Trip Advisor so we thought we would give it a go. My husband and I had homemade steak and ale pie and my daughter had Cajun chicken. My daughter enjoyed her food but she is only 13 and likes simple plain food. However, my husband and I were very disappointed with our's. It cost over £10 so we were expecting it to be quite a hearty meal, there was hardly any filling and it came with frozen french fries and random tomato and a very soggy mushroom, both of which I think were there to fill out the plate. The actual pub is nice but we could have got the same meal for a fraction of the cost at a hungry horse. Location is not enough, you need to put in some effort, hence why the pub was empty on a lovely Friday lunchtime.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

A great pub/hotel.
I could not fault the staff helpful, polite and courteous. The rooms are stable conversions and the one I was in was rather small but as I was alone so that wasn't an issue. Perfectly clean and well equipped room with parking right outside the door.
The bar area had a great selection of drinks on draught.
The food is exceptional I had a 500 gsm Flat Iron steak 1 of the best steaks I've ever had, I will certainly visit again.
There was no in room wifi as I was too far away but free wifi in the bar area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Very welcoming pub with excellent accommodation. Very friendly and helpful staff, food was lovely and freshly cooked, plenty of choice for leisurely breakfast. Would definitely return if visiting the area again.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good, Wi fi only available within the pub/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

This charming little pub is worth searching out. It serves some really good pub grub and their beers are well looked after.
It works for a simple meal or would be ideal if you're looking for somewhere to celebrate a special occasion.
The staff are friendly and service is quick and cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of our journey home from Devon. We arrived before the pub was open & despite being told how to make ourselves known by ringing the bell, this didn't seem to be working & my partner had to wander round knocking on doors & windows til he made the landlord hear.The ground floor room was great, big enough & with a good en-suite, & it was only a short step to the dining conservatory. The meals were interesting, not all the usual things & the service was good although maybe we had to wait quite a while for our starter but they were very busy. We had a good nights sleep & enjoyed the breakfast, plenty of choice & again friendly service from the landlord. Despite there being a time to check out we were told not to hurry, just leave when we were ready. All in all a very pleasant stay, we would return if in that area.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We were staying down to attend an evening wedding reception and found this great place in Hannington for 75 pounds. The rooms are all clean and modern and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had no idea where we were going and the owner arranged a taxi for us and made sure we were looked after. I would definitely stay here again to explore the local area as it is lovely. The pub I also served great food and had a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jolly Tar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Tar

Address: Queens Road | Hannington, Hannington SN6 7RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hannington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hannington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jolly Tar 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jolly Tar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Tar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.