We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We popped in here for coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Reading West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Hotel Reading West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Reading West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bath Road, Padworth RG7 5HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Padworth
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We popped in here for coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My colleague and I were an hour early to an appointment so because I had stayed here before we popped in for coffee.
Customer service just the same - friendly and helpful.
Love this hotel and will definitely come and stay again.
Nice coffee!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKC H, Director of Sales at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review. First of all, I must agree with you about the coffee. The one thing I have to do before anything else when I visit Kim and the team is have a cup (or two).

We try to make our hotel a comfortable home from home when people visit us. We want to be known for being friendly and good at what we do for a fair price. Everyone is welcome either as an overnight guest, a coffee lover or perhaps to attend one of our many functions or theme nights.

Once again, a great review and much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    16
    18
    22
See reviews for
9
15
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights the rooms are good could do with the heating looking at. The front of house manager and general manger really let the place down poor customer service. If you are lucky enough to stay when the blonde lady is on reception she as fantastic costumer service skills

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKC H, Operations Director @ SKC Group at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
It is unfortunate that Tripadvisor was unable to assist us with this review after requests for support from them. We reported our observations through the normal channels but received no response.
Sadly, we have to consider the comments made here as an inaccurate reflection of our hotel.

Readers of this review should be aware of the fact that on the night in question, the General Manager of the hotel had to be called in from home to deal with a number of guests from the same party who had been drinking and generally causing disruption. They were abusive and threatening to our staff.

The individuals concerned were asked to go to bed and to vacate the premises the following morning and not to return to this hotel again. As professional hoteliers we have an obligation for the safety, comfort and well being of our guests and staff - hence this action was taken.

This disruption was immediately reported through the usual channels to both the Operations Director and the owner of the business who entirely support the actions of the General Manager.

Whether this action resulted in the review above will never be known however it does seem a bit of a coincidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The staff, especially the female who seems to work ALL day were fantastic. The food was good as well, pubish type food but good sized portions and tasty. Wouldn't stay here again out of choice but staff are fab.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKC H, Director - Sales & Operations at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear FM34, firstly, thank you for taking time to write a review - and what a great review! The lady in question is a very loyal and long-serving member of our team and we are always pleased to have her in our "family". Thanks also for mentioning the other members of our team. We are only a small hotel having only 33 bedrooms so we try our best to class ourselves as somewhat of a "home from home", however without the people that work for us we wouldn't have such a good business.
It sometimes seems that the Comfort Hotel Reading West is not everyone's cup of tea, however we believe that we offer good value for money along with simple, tasty food.
Thanks again for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I would definitely recommend the Comfort Hotel as a venue for family celebrations as they know how to organise a great party!!!
Right from the first meeting they were able to recommend a great DJ who regularly hosts for parties at the hotel and they also helped set up the room and keep everything a secret.
The size of the room was fantastic it held over 80 people easily.
It was brilliant that I could rely on the staff because I did not live locally and so I was able to plan it with them through email and phone calls.
Alot of our family stayed overnight and found the rooms to be of a good standard and the beds were lovely and comfy.
The best thing about the Comfort Hotel, are all of the staff, who worked very hard in making it a lovely stay for all of their guests.
I would rate them as first class when it comes to customer service and organisation.
Thank you once again for making some fantastic memories for my family!!
The Maze clan

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKC H, Director - Sales & Operations at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Samantha M. We are always really pleased to receive positive feedback and this is a great review so thank you very much for taking the time to commit your guest experience to Tripadvisor.
Your family and friends were an absolute pleasure to welcome to into the hotel and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves. Our Thames Suite is perhaps one of the best kept secrets in the area no-matter how hard we try to promote it!
By way of a return review , our staff thought you were all great too so thank you for your business and for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was an ideal location as a stop over off the m4 at only £40 for the room. Staff all ok. Rooms not great and bathroom toilet gurgled through the night. Also had the sound of reversing forklifts in the morning on one side if the hotel- room5 - not great when u ask for a quiet room

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKC H, Director - Sales & Operations at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi britty009 - Quite alot of people say to us that we're better than certain other lodge brands so thank you for making the effort to pass on your comments. The Comfort Hotel Reading West is most certainly a budget orientated hotel but we do try hard to give the best possible value.
We're getting quite alot of comments about the quality of our food which is very pleasing. It's important to us that we deliver the "best" we possibly can - and certainly food is an important part of any guest experience.
Thanks again for leaving this review and we hope that me get to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

As a work trip this was better than a travelodge it was close to were i was working.

It has a Bar and Resturant was a good choice of food. large loung area big TV friendly staff alcohol was a bit pricey.

Room very very basic but i would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Brilliant. Very central and great for breaking up my journey. Well priced and very comfortable.
I was travelling from Paignton to Reading to visit relatives and this proved to be perfect for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the small side, but very well equiped and comfortable. Great for a business traveller w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Hotel Reading West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Reading West

Address: Bath Road, Padworth RG7 5HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Padworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Padworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Hotel Reading West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just of the M4 Junction 12 the refurbished Comfort Hotel Reading West makes an ideal base for Reading, Newbury, Aldermaston & Ascot races. Each hotel room is comfortable with an en-suite with all mod cons including cable television and wi-fi internet access. The bar is an ideal meeting place before a reservation in the Conservatory Restaurant, which offers an informal atmosphere while serving the best in traditional English cuisine. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the public areas and plenty of free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Hotel Reading West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Reading West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.