We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to enjoy everything the Brunswick valley has to offer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broken Head Holiday Park

Broken Head Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broken Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broken Head Holiday Park
Beach Road, Broken Head, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect place to enjoy everything the Brunswick valley has to offer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's very handy being ten minutes out of town. It's quieter and you don't need to wrestle byron's amazing traffic. The park is small and simple. While the amenities could be cleaned more frequently, the park is just one minute's walk from one of mosh beautiful beaches around the area. Always love staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Redders69
Thank you for your review and highlighting some of our better features at the Park, the quietness and not having to wrestle with the traffic in Byron township, which can be something else when everyone comes to town at the same time. As you experienced we're proud of our beach and the pleasure it seems to bring to so many guests. We note your comments about cleaning our amenities more frequently and we will take this into account as we review and look to maintain or improve our cleanliness throughout the Park. Look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingara, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed in one of the beach shack's recently, was impressed when I opened the door as it looked good, large bed, sofa, air-con, white bathroom, kitchenette. But when I took my shoes off, the whole floor had a greasy feel. So thought I'd relax with a cuppa & found there was no milk supplied, although there was tea/coffee which is strange as it's a 10 minute drive to get some. Flicked on the tv, but there's no instructions on how to access Foxtel. So I called reception to be told the manager won't be available until 6pm, but they will get him to call. Didn't get any call. So when I got back home I called again, but the manager didn't offer any apology, just wanted to argue. No doubt he'll spend more time writing a response to this review than dealing with the issues raised.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Karena

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent one night stay in our new beach shacks.There is no excuse for the greasy floor and our apologies that you experienced this.
If we had been made aware of this at the time we certainly would have ensured it was cleaned again, or offered to relocate you into another Beach Shack while you were out enjoying the day. We have just put in place a new cleaning system so issues like these do not arise again for our future guests. We are also currently working on new compendiums for the beach shacks that will have full instructions on how to use all appliances within the shacks and yes we agree milk should be supplied. Thank you for rating Broken Head Holiday Park 5/5 for location and 4/5 for sleep quality and its great to hear you were impressed with the new beach shacks therefore we hope you will visit us again in the future and we can have the opportunity to offer you a more complete holiday experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here for a two week camping trip as we have been here previously and the location was great and easily accessible to Byron Bay and places like Bangalow. Our campsite was terrific - plenty of space and nice views. What I became frustrated with was the lack of showers and toilets avail. Usually the amenities are seperated with one side male and the other female but on this trip there were 'renovations' taking place. What these were is a complete mystery! In the end there were only two showers for females and three toilets (of which one always seemed to be broken). The lighting was also non existent and it really wasn't very nice brushing ur teeth next to a urinal!!
On the positive side the food prep area was fantastic and provided a great space for getting to know other travelers. There was a second covered food area which was smaller but it had no hot water avail and no electrical points which was a bit of a downer.
Would we come back? Yes. Like I said, location was great and food prep upgrade area really good. I just hope the showers and toilets are fully operational next time we're here. Oh, the grounds staff were also really friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Melika - thank you for your feedback and our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with limited showering and bathroom facilities during your time with us. We had previously 'refreshed' the shower cubicles throughout the amenities block, but to our angst, part of the paint system failed such that we needed to rectify that issue, and we chose, what we thought would be time of less demand in this facility to have the contractor carry out those remedial works. Re-arranging the facilities to meet health and safety requirements is never easy and invariably causes some issues such as you experienced. We will examine how we could better manage such situations in the future.
Your comments about our second food preparation area are valuable and we will explore your suggestions and see what could be undertaken to include those items you have suggested in this area. As you have indicated it could supplement our new camp kitchen to a better level. We encourage our grounds people to quietly enhance our guests experience so they will appreciate your feedback also. We look forward to next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family spent 3 weeks camping at Broken Head. This is a very relaxing part of the coast with magnificent beaches/surf and headland.
The Holiday park has good amendies, well serviced and maintained.
There are many families who come here reqularly and have been for many years.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Trevor thank you for your comments and we're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and were amongst those many couples, families and others who like to stay, often for extended periods and experience this really nice little part of Byron Bay. Over the coming year we are looking at further improvements to the Park to enhance those special holidays a little more. Looking forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Right on the beach and nestled in a nature reserve, Broken Head is a beautiful, special place that's lured our family back for our summer holidays since 1985. If you camp backing onto the reserve you could see fireflies, goannas, wallabies, bandicoots, echidnas, antechinus, and lots of bush turkeys.

When you've had enough surf, walk up the beach to the freshwater tea tree lake, with its abundant birdlife, or walk around the headland to the many smaller beaches, and investigate the many rock pools which contain all types of sea urchins, anemones, etc, or just sit in the camp and watch the magnificent sea eagles soar above the headland.

The onsite managers are great, very friendly and approachable, and are available 24/7 via mobile. Facilities are cleaned daily and sites are kept mown, and since the owners took over management in 2012 they've made huge improvements, with more planned for 2013. School holidays are very busy, specially Xmas/New Year (when we are alway there) but there are sufficient amenities, and the irregular layout of the park means you're not crowded. The manager checks the sites early morning and at night, and during peak times, security guards are employed.

Room Tip: Sites on the hill offer magnificent views of the beach and Byron Bay lighthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to share your experiences at the Park following your recent holiday with us. Chris and Alex make every endeavor to offer a Park that is inviting and friendly and as you have indicated, now strongly supported by the traditional owners of this property. The owners saw the need to manage the Park with a more hands-on approach and implement some very much needed improvements. We are sure that since your first visit back in 1985, the Park aged for a time, and now it's being refreshed, with every effort being made to improve the 'camping' experiences for our Guests whether they be pitching a tent, backing in the Caravan, our just simply taking up one of our Cabins or Beach Shacks. We appreciate those families who chose to come back year after year, and warmly welcome those visiting us for the first time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at Broken Head on two occasions. Both times we have had a caravan site that backs on to the public park which we love. Not having another caravan site behind is a bonus. We love it here as it is peaceful and tranquil surrounded by bushland and the beach is uncrowded. The amenities at the caravan park are adequate. They are clean and the showers are good (unlike the trickle of water I have experienced elsewhere). Also lots of hot water. The staff are friendly and helpful. It has a big camp kitchen which looks great (although I haven't used it). The sites are grassy. We had a big beautiful shady tree on our site which was great to sit under on a hot day. We couldn't get tv reception here either, but it didn't worry us - it is good to get away from tv once in a while. You can walk along the beach to nearby Suffolk Park which has a couple of shops, including a bakery and coffee shop. If you are after a no frills caravan park in an idyllic location then Broken Head is for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Kathy thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. As you have written, the Park sits in a setting that offers both tranquility and a peacefulness, largely contributed to by the fact that we are surrounded on three boundaries by National Park lands. Having a good supply of LPG for our Amenities block ensures our visitors enjoy a good and constant supply of hot water. As you noticed during this last visit out Camp Kitchen whilst occupying the same area it always has, the recent refurbishment has created a sense of openness and more space including doubling up the BBQ cooking areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in this idyllic part of the East Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Beautiful location. Unfortunately the campsite was packed to the brim. We were allocated a slot. I was informed that we have a 2 X 2 metre space for our tent. When we arrived folk on either sides have decided to take a bit of our space which left only enough space for one sleeping bag. Not even a tent. We were so disappointed that we just upped and left. The staff service was indifferent. Couldn't care less. People were squeezed in as if there are no tomorrow. It looks like greed to me. I've e-mailed them but no response. I've seen other full campsites that allowed more space around the tents / caravans and didn't squeeze more in. I was so looking forward to this and I never complain, but in this instance I just had to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are proud of our Park and agree with you that the location is as you say 'beautiful'. Christmas is very popular as you saw when you arrived, and we make every effort to do our best to accommodate everyone in the best way possible at this time of the year. In this instance you found your allocated site unsatisfactory and chose an early and prompt departure without consultation, perhaps not giving us the opportunity to address your concerns directly with you at that time. We regret this did not happen and trust that this one off experience will not deter you from trying our Park again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broken Head Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Head Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Broken Head, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Broken Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broken Head Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Broken Head Holiday Park to your Saves list