We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Burythorpe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burythorpe House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Burythorpe House to your Saves list
Burythorpe House
Nr Malton, Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well done Burythorpe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Burythorpe House.
What a delightful little hotel.
The room although not enormous was very comfortable and the food superb - we are very choosey!! The staff were very helpful.
Hope to return again.

Room Tip: We had a twin room so were not able to have a deluxe room. Had a look at the deluxe and they were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    88
    31
    25
    8
See reviews for
28
231
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect reading some of the reviews but we had a very relaxing & enjoyable stay thanks! We didn't visit the swimming pool area as that's not why we chose to stay here & it is true, our bathroom did have some peeling paint & mould on the grout. That said, the rest of the room was beautifully decorated & carpets looked new. The molton brown toiletries were a luxurious touch. The house itself is very relaxing & tastefully decorated. The evening meal was beautiful, especially the amuse bouche & fig with feta cheese & pomegranite starter. Breakfast was fantastic, cooked to order & table service, far preferable than the more common self service at most hotels now. I particularly enjoyed the porridge with cream & brown sugar!!
Since we arrived in the area early on a wet & windy day we found a lovely country pub to have lunch - The half moon at Acklam with a roaring log burner, nice atmosphere & a very warm welcome! The new owners had only been there 7 weeks so we wish them our very best. If you pay them a visit please tell them you have seen this recommendation.
A bit of information for any disabled guests - We stayed in the rosedale room as there is no lift however for me, it presented difficulties as the bathroom is located in a seperate room outside the bedroom & although there is a ramp to get up the step to it, it was too steep for me to manage on my own. The shower is completely level but since there was only a suction handle which was loose, I found it impossible to use. We could also hear whenever anyone walked around in the room above which unfortunatley did disturb us several times during the night.
It did not stop us having a lovely stay though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Beautiful big room and bathroom, most comfortable bed, fantastic evening meal and the best breakfast-EVER- porridge to die for! We will be back! - made our 30th anniversary special and Monica is a star

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My daughter and I booked through Travelzoo and loved the hotel and the welcome we received when we arrived.Our room was lovely and tea in the drawing room was very relaxing as the room is gorgeous and very comfortable.Dinner and breakfast were both excellent,especially porridge with cream and brown sugar.Yum! The grounds were very pleasant and the giant chestnut tree with hundreds of conkers,was a fantastic sight. We found Burythorpe difficult to find but this was because of major roadworks in Malton,but it was well worth the journey.I have already recommended this hotel to my friends and would love to revisit.

Room Tip: Twin room St Mary's was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After booking this hotel with travelzoo & reading some of other peoples reports I wondered what we were in for, but we were greeted upon arrival & shown to our room Byland,which had great views of the countryside looking out to the local church.The bathroom however needed some attention as when my husband was showering the controls came off the wall,now this was not a new fault as upon returning home I discovered someone in June reported this problem,also no plug in washbasin.
The breakfast & evening meal were very good,But I could not understand why they decanted our wine & left an empty bottle at side, upon reflection we should not have accepted this.
The swimming pool is closed for refurbishment.
All the staff were pleasant & made us feel welcome.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amotherby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My partner and I have just enjoyed a one night stay at this lovely hotel. Our room was very comfortable, dinner was delicious and of a very high standard, we couldn't fault the breakfast either. The staff are courteous and nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely recommend, we had a very relaxing and pleasant stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Booked very last minute as in the area on our way to Harrogate. Priced on late rooms at £190 but when rang told the room was £215. We stayed in one of their luxury rooms. A beautiful huge sleigh bed, which to be fair was extremely comfortable but that's where it ended. The duvet cover had a hole in it. The curtains, in the bay window were not hung adequately and one of them had a dirty mark on it, which looked like a water stain from the ceiling. Black mould on the ceiling in the window ceiling. Curtain tie pole was coming away from the wall with plaster dust everywhere. One of the bedside lamps wouldn't turn off unless you got out of bed and used the main plug. The glass shelf under the sink is covered in limescale from a leak which has obviously been left, so long it probably can't be cleaned it needs replacing. Floor tiles in the bathroom are cracked and need replacing. There is a sign above the bath asking you to kindly ensure that the shower curtain is placed inside the bath when showering. It wouldn't be a problem if it was actually long enough to do so but it is too short. Consequently we had to use towels to mop up the water, which went all over the floor. The extractor fan didn't work, so the steam took ages to clear. Toilet paper, which i had to check was actually 2ply as it was so thin. Definitely the cheapest you can buy, its time to give up if you have to economise to that extent. The vacuum cleaner hasn't seen under the dressing table for a very long time. We had to ask for the dressing gowns, which should have been in the room and quite frankly they were crusty, cheap towelling ones. As were the towels, thin and again v basic. I thought the staff were v helpful until checking out, when I was asked as a last minute thought, if i had enjoyed my stay. I reiterated most of the above but received no apology or concern for my comments. I felt very much as if they couldn't care less, they had my money, so tough. It is a great shame that such a beautiful building is being let down by the people, who run it. Shame on you! My advise would be to stay somewhere else, def not here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Burythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burythorpe House

Address: Nr Malton, Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Burythorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burythorpe House is a boutique country house hotel close to York. Combining a relaxed, house-guest atmosphere, a renowned restaurant and stylish, individually-appointed bedrooms, the hotel makes a unique base for a few days of relaxation and exploring beautiful North Yorkshire. We are especially proud of our restaurant, the Priory, where chef Kevin Mulraney produces creative dishes based on the very best local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Burythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burythorpe House Hotel Burythorpe
Burythorpe Hotel Malton
Burythorpe House North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burythorpe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.