We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Burythorpe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Burythorpe House to your Saves list
Burythorpe House
Nr Malton, Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Recent Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I agree with criticism of state of building it needs many thousands spending on it and the pool should be knocked down and rebuilt it is in a disgusting condition. Drinks prices were very expensive an average bottle of wine £20 and a small warm beer was £4 25. Room ok staff were helpful and dinner although small portions was good. Having said all that I would not rush back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    88
    31
    25
    8
See reviews for
28
231
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night via a Travelzoo offer. The building from the outside looks quite impressive & has obviously been a little gem in its day. Indeed there are certificates displayed in the hall showing awards won in 2008/2009. Sadly, things appear to have gone downhill since then & the hotel is quite shabby in parts. The staircase carpet is very threadbare & the floorboards very creaky - as you'd expect from an old house. We stayed in the Fountains room which is a good size with a large ensuite bathroom with a lovely rolltop bath & complimentary Molton brown toiletries. The large walk in shower was let down by the dirty grouting & stained shower head. The base of the bed also had several stains & the bed was extremely soft. The pillows - only one each, were the size of a postage stamp & again far too soft. Fortunately, only staying one night, we didn't have many clothes to hang up but there were only 4 coat hangers in the tiny wardrobe.
The lounge is very roomy & looks quite cozy with several sofas. A number of candles burning when we went down for dinner made it look quite welcoming. There isn't a bar in the hotel, so a member of staff brings you drinks from the kitchen.
Dinner was good overall as was the service, with plenty staff waiting on.
Breakfast was quite a strange affair. Unlike every other hotel I've ever stayed in, there was no self-service element & every item, from fruit juice to cereal, fruit, etc was waitress service. This wasn't a problem from the guests perspective but placed a huge burden on the one waitress who had to serve several tables. Apparently, the other waitress hadn't turned up. The lady who was working not only had to contend with taking all the orders & serving every course, she also had to deal with all guests checking out at the same time. She did a great job considering.
Having read some of the previous reviews, we had a look at the pool & can only concur with what has been previously written. It really is a shame that many of the problems commented on could be rectified without the need to spend a great deal of money. A really good clean & a lick of paint here & there would transform the place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We tried to check in at 2pm as we were off to a party and had travelled for 5 hours . Unfortunately there were only cleaners on site so not only could we not freshen up or leave our bags we asked if there was any possibility of refreshments . Although the cleaners were very friendly and gave us directions to a great pub we found it most strange that even though check in isn't until 3 pm you would expect there to be a member of staff around .
We had to check in at 10.30 pm .
The hotel is such a strange mix of good and bad .
It was a very nice bedroom but a cracked sink and broken shower and no toiletries in the bathroom
My husband asked if there should be toiletries and was given a large bar of soap and told that the deliveries had not arrived . We have since discovered that they were telling people this 3 weeks earlier ! If that was my establishment I would of been to the supermarket !
The bed was incredibly comfy and one of the best breakfasts I have ever had . The best scrambled egg I have ever had !
Because of this we booked dinner with high hopes . Which we had gone to the pub instead ! They had run out of 3 of our choices but that can happen anywhere . 2 off us had fish except that it was all bones and for the first time in my life we had to send back. We apologised for needing to do this and pointed out to the waitress that the sand dabs ( this is what they were despite being called baby lemon sole ) she took them away and the men ate there meals as they were so ravenous . Their meals were far from great one had Lamb which was cold and the mushroom spinach and ricotta cannelloni was actually loose tubes of pasta coated in Philadelphia and a couple of chewy mushrooms . We did say to the waitress that we had ordered cannelloni and she just smiled .
Already feeling embarrassed and extremely uncomfortable about sending our 2 fish meals back the men ate what they had . It was a good 10mins later that the waitress came back and said that the chef could cook us some scallops in place of the fish we said that would be wonderful and thanked her and once again WE apologised for not being able to eat the original meals . We were met with no response at all . Even though there were only 4 other people eating in the restaurant by now we waited almost half an hour for our meals and our husbands had to sit and wait with us .At no time did anyone apologise for the poor quality of the fish and the long delay . Our scallops were fantastic and we asked the young waitress yet again to pass this on to the chef and thank him for all his trouble . We were just stared at with no response . When we ordered desserts they had yet again run out of our choices so I had cheese and biscuits and my husband just had a coffee . I have never had such a small portion of cheese which was a shock as it comes with a £2.95 supplement on the £30 ph for 3 courses. Even though my husband had no dessert they expected us to pay for the coffee and cheese !
At breakfast the next morning there were not enough staff and most people did not get there toast which we were all ( including the waitress ) having a joke about . The poor waitress was also taking payments for the people checking out in the hallway .She was amazing but were was the manager or proprietor !
Has for the pool area it should be condemned it is truly disgusting as many people have commented on for over a year and yet they still have made no attempt to address this issue which would suggest that they simply don't care .
It is so sad that such a beautiful. house has fallen into such a state of disrepair and that the owners are not interested in what they are offering their guests. They need to change their take it or leave it attitude if they want this hotel and restaurant to succeed , they have a little gem of a building and a good chef but need to stop running it on a shoe string and listen to what people are advising them . They have a great opportunity I hope they take note .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great setting in small village with one country pub. (although the pub has recently stopped serving food)
The food at the hotel is excellent, both breakfast & evening meals. The staff are all friendly & helpful, with nothing being too much trouble; along with the hotel & gardens being immaculately kept, this is well worth a visit for a short break - apart from the major downside.
The leisure facilities are appalling, the pool area is at best shabby, with crumbling plaster & holes in the roof, & a green haze to the pool walls. Some of the gym machines don't work & the whole building is in major need of refurbishment. It would be better to close the building rather than it drag down the rest of the otherwise very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked as an unknown short get-away, we were thrilled and delighted by the vision of the ivy-clad hotel bathed in sunshine. The warmth of the welcome, the delightful decor of the public rooms and the views from the garden were just a start. Our room was spacious, attractively decorated with an enormous comfy bed. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious, showing the Chef's skill and flair, and the quality of the ingredients was very noteworthy. A walk through the village to the attractive characterful pub and then up to the church on the hill were a bonus as the views from there were stunning. After seeing comments on recent reviews re council houses - all I can say is 'What council houses?' The village was pretty and very well cared for.

Room Tip: As a late booking we could only get what turned out to be a room suitable for the disabled (Rosedale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

On arrival we were made to feel very comfortable, had a good room although there was room for improvement in the bathroom, where work needs to be carried out. Stairway carpet needs to be replaced as a matter of urgency. However after saying all that the service was good, food was excellent although more vegetables would have been helpful. Leisure facilities needs improving with redecoration and cleanliness. Would however,recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Lower room would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a lovely country hotel in a delightful village; previous comments about the council houses on Trip Advisor give completely the wrong impression - there are a few very well kept council houses in the village as there are in most English villages, it is difficult to understand what motivated the writer to comment on this.
My husband and I were using a Travel Zoo voucher which gave fantastic value for money, we had an excellent meal in the restaurant and the staff were very welcoming and professional. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I did not use the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burythorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burythorpe House

Address: Nr Malton, Burythorpe, Malton YO17 9LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Burythorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burythorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burythorpe House is a boutique country house hotel close to York. Combining a relaxed, house-guest atmosphere, a renowned restaurant and stylish, individually-appointed bedrooms, the hotel makes a unique base for a few days of relaxation and exploring beautiful North Yorkshire. We are especially proud of our restaurant, the Priory, where chef Kevin Mulraney produces creative dishes based on the very best local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Burythorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burythorpe House Hotel Burythorpe
Burythorpe Hotel Malton
Burythorpe House North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burythorpe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.