We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Craven Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Craven Arms to your Saves list
The Craven Arms
Brackenber Lane, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

had a lovely night here. very welcoming and very friendly staff. Everything about this place was wonderful. Bar area very nice, dining room lovely all very modern and clean. Food in the evening was excellent and breakfast delicious! Will definitely be going back here. even the toiletries etc were very good! thank you to everyone there
.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    46
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
91
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Lovely reception, terrific rooms, tasty lunch and Debbie is an absolute asset to this establishment. Hubby and I tour all over uk, this by far is one of the best hotels. Well done guys!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was booked as a Groupon Offer B&B overnight for one stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. Wonderful friendly staff, most helpful, nothing too much trouble. Room comfortable and clean, good size ensuite with heated floor tiles in the bathroom! Evening meal was wonderful - all meats and veg locally sourced - beautifully cooked and presented, Deserts scrumptious - the same goes for Breakfast. Excellent. Would love to stay again even if not on a Groupon deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have just returned from one night at the Craven Arms. It is a great little place. Modern establishment inside and absolutely spotless. Our room was a decent size, very clean, comfy bed and bed linen, tea/coffee and biscuits provided, toiletries in bathroom, and a comfortable headboard if you want to sit up in bed (many hotels have wood/plastic headboards which is not comfy at all). When we arrived the weather was terrible and the room was lovely and warm with heating on. The bathroom floor appeared to be heated - amazing for a small place like this - bliss. However, I must say the TV was absolutely tiny and on a bracket high up. There is a porch area with somewhere for muddy boots and a fridge with jugs of fresh milk in if you didnt want the UHT on the tea tray. It was very easy to find being on the A65 and has plenty of parking. Breakfast was great and again cutlery etc spotless. We did eat in the restaurant for dinner (it was busy but we reserved when we booked the hotel) and I really enjoyed my food but my husband didn't like his 'Salt Beef Wellington' at all. It had a huge sheet of fat in and the pastry was very 'claggy'. I felt sorry for him.
However, this is a great place to stay for a walking weekend. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Found the Craven Arms via a Groupon deal. Was greeted with a very warm welcome at check in and shown to my room. Very clean with great shampoo and bath gels! Nice crisp white sheets. Had made a dinner reservation which does seem essential on most nights. Was seated at a nice table with a window view. Great meal with a nice dessert. Was dining and staying solo so they made me feel at home.

Very convenient to the Three Peaks of Yorkshire. The Tourist Information Center in nearby Horton-in-Ribblesdale was very helpful in showing me where to walk.

Lovely and relaxing breakfast. Would definitely stay again when I complete my Three Peaks Walk.

Only drawback is the road noise which is counterbalanced by the easy to get to location near the train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Spent one night here bed and breakfast with some friends using Groupon vouchers. It is an old pub that has been modernised and rooms added. We felt that the room was adequate, clean and comfy and probably deserved 4 stars but the restaurant and staff increased our rating to 5 stars overall.

The evening meal was excellent. Good value for money with very pleasant staff. We had mussels to start with followed by a trio of pork with spinach and Dauphinoise potatoes. My husband had a rhubarb mess off merringue, rhubarb and cream which was lovely. There was an additional charge of £2.50 for veg but one portion was enough for two people.

Breakfast again was excellent and we didn't really need to eat again until the evening.

The room was next to the main road but we weren't disturbed by the traffic. Our friends room overlooked a field of lambs and was more peaceful.

The hotel is only a few minutes drive from Settle. Would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel very welcome.

The food was outstanding. 6 courses between me & the missus and both of us would have exactly the same again, it was so good.

We cannot recco this place enough. We will be back again when we are back up in Langcliffe

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Craven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Arms

Address: Brackenber Lane, Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Giggleswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giggleswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craven Arms is situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and offers what we believe to be the warmest welcome any where.We have 8 en-suite bedrooms and our award winning restaurant serves the best of contemporary Yorkshire cuisine.There are many attractions within walking distance including the world famous Settle to Carlisle railway and the Yorkshire 3 peaks walk.The Giggleswick railway station is only 30m away and we offer complimentary collection from Settle train station.We can arrange a many activities including Golf, Clay pigeon shooting and angling amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Craven Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Arms Giggleswick, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Craven Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.