We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLISS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Inn

Save Saved
You added The Swan Inn to your Saves list
The Swan Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Inn
10 Lower Street, Horning NR12 8AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Horning B&B and Inns
southend
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“BLISS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

after a hectic few days doing the University thing with our son we booked in late to this wonderfully located Inn keepers lodge.
I felt all the stresses of the previous few days drift away, as I sat on the patio in the rain watching the rain and the lights on the water. A warm coffee in my hand We reluctantly went to our spacious room Filby located to the side of the Hotel overlooking a green area to the side of the broad and the moored boats.
The room was clean and airy and well furnished, and coffee etc provided as well as shower gels etc
Free car parking
The breakfast was self service continental overlooking the water in its own balcony area, You could order at additional charge a full English in the bar area.

If only we had stayed here for the last few days i would have been so much more relaxed,the atmosphere on the patio was wonderful all the following morning. we tore ourselves away around mid day for our trek home
Would recommend and go again ourselves

Room Tip: request river views if you want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I staying at The Swan Inn in Horning and had the most fantastic weekend, we got the 3-2 night deal and was warmly welcolmed by the staff there quickly checked in without feeling hurried and was given the opperunity to book a table for the evening. The rooms were fantastic value for money very clean and what a view on a lovely sunny morning! Our evening meal was excellent from start to finish being showed to a table and looked after by great staff who recommended the venison which was amazing and my boyfriend had the Salmon which was also cooked to perfection and hot!! We really enjoyed our time at The Swan so much we ate there every night of our stay and their standard never dropped even on the busy saturday night. I would strongly recommend this pub to any person looking for a beautiful pub with fantastic staff and great food.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, and book a table!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

just returned from the Swan in Horning, visited in Jan 2011 as well. we booked on the £25 per room per night deal as these really are a bargain. the staff are friendly and the room, overlooking the broads, was clean, comfortable and a really good size. the bathroom was a bit cold in comparison to the cosy warm bedroom but our stay overall was so pleasurable I wont let that affect the score. breakfast was a good standard, continental as with all innkeepers lodges. the waterside location makes this an ideal winter break (I always imagine it must be very busy in summer!) and would recommend to all. I have scored the B&B side of the pub as I find the pub food to be average at best (and a little overpriced if we didn't have the 25% off vouchers) but you dont have to eat here even if you sleep here!

Room Tip: ask to over look the broads
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

go during winter on a cheap deal, staff are friendly and the location by the river is lovely, at 25 quid a night you are made to feel very welcome and given breakfast, rooms clean and comfortable, dont known what else you could want for the money

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed 26TH AND 27TH was I realey inpressed with the bed rooms for the money the staff were friendly and helpfull would recommend to our friends just right for weekend breaks

Room Tip: Ask for room loking at the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We visited The Swan Inn on August Bank Holiday Monday evening-as expected the restaurant was busy..The Swan is in an enviable location overlooking the river.
We ordered food and expected a delay ,however we were pleasantly surprised at the speed of which it was served.My husband ordered a rump steak which was served medium rare and not well done as requested .It was tough and the pepper sauce was poor.Two customers who sat near us ,told us that they were dissatisfied and disappointed with their meal and would not be returning.
I had scampi which was served hot but unfortunately with cold chips and peas.I complained to the waitress who apologised and took my plate back to the kitchen.Many minutes later ,I was served with hot chips and peas and COLD scampi!-when I complained again the waitress explained that the kitchen staff had said that the scampi had gone cold whilst chips and peas were being cooked.What a poor response.
I asked to speak to the manager and was told by the waitress that she would feed back to her..We waited in hope that we would be able to speak directly to the manger but to no avail.We certainly will never eat here again,so take heed of our bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here over the August bank holiday weekend. The pub was very busy, has a lovely atmosphere. The room was very clean, although the bathroom could have done with some updating, and smelt musty.

The location is absolutely beautiful! It is so lovely watching the boats going up and down the river, and the breakfast room has outstanding views.

The food in the pub is very bad, and I would suggest that they review their catering arrangements - small portions, badly cooked.

The staff, however, are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good.

Great value for money, but avoid the food in the pub.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: 10 Lower Street, Horning NR12 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Horning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Horning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Norwich
The Swan Inn Horning, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.