We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge Inn to your Saves list
The Lodge Inn
Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Northants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic place to stay on a cold wintery weekend.
Welcoming staff, roaring log fires, candles, good food and a lovely relaxing atmosphere, a very cosy place to stay indeed.
Easy walk along the beach to Hunstanton, certainly blew away the cobwebs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    73
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
179
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at The Lodge Inn on Bank Holiday Monday with our dog. We were in the Garden Shed Courtyard Room which was lovely, clean and cosy.
Paige the dog was made very welcome and sat with us when we eat in the bar that evening.
I would say there are a few minor things that could have been improved on when eating in the restaurant the sauce to my main came out 10 minutes after the food and the next morning the sausages were missed off of the breakfast. I also feel that £15 extra a night for having a dog is a little excessive.
Other than this The Lodge Inn is a nice place to stay and a short walk to the beach. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacsandy, Manager at The Lodge Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Lodge Inn.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our “Garden Shed” courtyard bedroom. May I take this opportunity to apologise for the items missed at dinner and again at breakfast, I have looked into how this happened and it appears a lack of concentration meant that your order didn’t arrive to you in full.

We do charge £15 for a dog staying in a courtyard bedroom, per stay. We still believe that this represents excellent value for money, allowing you avoid kennel costs which are currently £14.50 per night at the kennels towards King’s Lynn. Our £15 charge goes towards the additional cleaning which is undertaken when a room departs after having a dog stay, I’m pleased to see you noted how clean your room was.

Thank you once again for your excellent review and we very much look forward to welcoming you both (and Paige) back to The Lodge again soon.

Kind regards,

Gavin Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed a three night break at the Lodge Inn with friends. The food was excellent with a varied choice including "specials" which changed daily. We stayed in rooms 6 & 8 both of which were very nice. Room 8 had a 'walk in' shower and room 6 was larger and had a small sofa.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Room 6 is very nice. It is large with a small sofa and has 4 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a two night Travelzoo break here and it was superb. The staff were all so friendly and we were given an upgraded room upon arrival which was lovely. A super room with two lovely armchairs in a bay window with a great sea view and a huge 6' bed with a beautifully decorated bathroom.
Breakfast both mornings was great with a great selection of cooked food to order and cereals, fruit etc. on a self serve basis.
We ate dinner there on our first night and it was great, with a good menu choice and a blackboard of specials.
Would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: We had room No. 1 which was super - sea view through a lovely bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just come back from a lovely weekend at the Lodge. Staff were very attentive, the rooms were very comfortable, & the breakfast was excellent.

Highly recommend to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 nights at the lodge - staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. The room was lovely and would definitely recommend to others.
We even made friends with the local resident (cat).
Would love to go back :)))

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here in dec and had great break with lovely room, excellent meal in restaurant and breakfast and found the bar so cosy to relax in we didnt want to leave! Slightly on expensive side but nice as a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Inn

Address: Old Hunstanton Road, Old Hunstanton PE36 6HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Old Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the old village, The Lodge in Old Hunstanton Norfolk offers a relaxed and casual experience - perfectly combining the traditional with the contemporary. Conveniently situated only 500 yards from Old Hunstanton beach, coastal walks and Old Hunstanton Golf Course. The food is simply sumptuous, our specials blackboard changes daily - with an emphasis on fresh fish and locally sourced produce. For the ultimate treat, try our homemade puddings. Dine in the bar, outside in the veranda garden or enjoy the friendly atmosphere of the dining room. The bar offers a great selection of wines and real ales. We have 16 beautiful, well appointed accommodation rooms , which are simply fantastic, and 5 luxury self-contained cottages . "The Loft" and "The Attic" rooms are superior accommodation suites with sea views across rooftops. Our Courtyard rooms are individually special. Most of the rooms have super king size beds, and all accommodation is equipped to a high standard, with flat screen televisions, modern en-suites and warm, fluffy bath towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Old Hunstanton
The Lodge Inn Old Hunstanton, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.