We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose Inn at Wickhambreaux

The Rose Inn at Wickhambreaux
The Green | Wickhambreaux, Littlebourne, Canterbury CT3 1RQ, England
01227 721763
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I were visiting my parents in Canterbury and they suggested The Rose for lunch.
We're not easily impressed, but we thought that The Rose was delightful, service was attentive and quick at the bar, and our lunch was really good.
The pub was very clean and well cared for, and there was ample room to move around.
If I had to pick any drawback I'd say that it could do with a self-closing door.
We sat near the door on a quite cold day, and occasionally, (not often), some ignorant person would enter or leave, and leave the door open.
This meant that one of us would have to stop eating to get up and close the door.
This would NOT deter us from visiting again, hopefully in summer next time, but we'd brave the cold again, it was that good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    64
    31
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very pretty country pub lined with hops on the ceiling.
Lovely atmosphere and family friendly.
We all had a roast (beef & lamb) it was good but not the best that I have had in the region.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Will Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A very friendly, welcoming pub in a lovely village setting. Beautifully presented, tasty food at a very reasonable price. Will definitely return :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best country pub we've ever been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went for a weekend in Canterbury and really enjoy going to pubs in the countryside, so I'd already looked into where we could go to eat on the Saturday night, and came across The Rose Inn. We arrived around half 7, it was really well lit and looked so quaint from the outside! We went straight in, it wasn't too busy and the girl working behind the bar asked if she could help us. We asked for a table and she said we could pick where we'd like to sit, there are 8 tables in total. There were only 2 other tables taken, so we sat on a table by the bar. The inside of the pub is really warm, with a wood burning fire, well decorated with flowers around the beams, we loved it for it's old feel and friendly atmosphere. We ordered off of the specials board, I had ribs and my boyfriend had steak. He also had one of their homemade desserts. And we would say that it is the best pub food we have ever eaten, the presentation was beautiful, the food was so tasty and hot. We really really enjoyed it! The girl behind the bar was so attentive and really friendly. We stayed for a couple more drinks, as we were having such a lovely time. I would definitely recommend this pub to anyone passing through or if you're staying nearby. We will definitely be back when we next visit Canterbury.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Thanks for that”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked a table as had heard good reports of this place. Arrived at five to two to be told there would be a 15 minute wait. Place was heaving nowhere to stand or chat. Frankly an awful and uncork able experience half an hour elapsed still no table. Note surprisingly 40 mins in we gave up.
Frankly I think it's disgusting, a table isn't going to be free at the time stated say so.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Inn at Wickhambreaux also viewed

Littlebourne, Canterbury
Littlebourne, Canterbury
 

Been to The Rose Inn at Wickhambreaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose Inn at Wickhambreaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.