We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More pillows!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woolpack Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Woolpack Inn to your Saves list
Woolpack Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street | Chilham, Chilham, Canterbury CT4 8DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Chilham B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“More pillows!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice enough B&B, pub is a bit pricey thou sixteen quid for a bottle of house rose was a bit steep!
Couple of huge down points. we had the four poster courtyard room which was freezing on arrival, it's was ok room for one nite, but shower hanging off wall and you needed to dance under it to get wet! The biggest moan is the pillows, we had one each and it was so thin I could have seen through it. So not a great nites sleep!

Restaurant food is fab thou and reasonably priced.

Be warned this place is in the middle of no where, so grab a bottle of vino from asda for the room before you arrive.

Room Tip: Request extra pillow and the heating turned on before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
36
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very pretty location, staff seemed friendly enough and nice atmosphere but disappointed in room standard, felt a bit grubby, window sills mouldy and black. The shower was also dirty, with mould on the tiles and hair in the plug hole which is a personal hate. Food was nice, especially the trio of deserts.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom if you can first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely one night stay at the Woolpack Inn. The room was really comfortable and the bathroom was particularly well designed. The food was delicious (hearty portions), the pub was had a great atmosphere with a roaring fire and the staff were really friendly. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Stable rooms are great and ideal if travelling with a dog and the food in the pub is excellent
Staff are very attentive and friendly
Dogs are welcome in the bar
The village itself is full of character and is near to Ashford for the designer village shopping and surrounding areas
The hotel runs a taxi service,hires bikes and recommends walking routes for the area.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We were attending a Halloween party with friends at the nearby White Horse pub in the village and all chose to stay at The Woolpack overnight as The White Horse doesn't have accommodation.

On arrival at The Woolpack, the staff were dressed in Halloween costumes and the pub was also suitably decorated. It was wonderfully atmospheric as the pub's interior is pretty old and unspoilt, with a large open fireplace in the bar.

We were checked in very quickly and shown to our rooms in the grounds (possibly in a former stable block?). The rooms themselves were quite simply yet stylishly decorated, with a bit of a rustic theme, and absolutely spotless, and all necessities were catered for, with an en suite shower room, and the king-sized bed was really comfortable. We particularly liked the fact that the window had a blind and curtains.

Breakfast was extra (£6 for buffet; £8 for buffet plus cooked) and was extremely tasty, and the service was very quick and friendly.

For £60, we couldn't fault any aspect of The Woolpack, and really enjoyed the experience.

We should add that Chilham village is particularly magical at this time of year, and the surrounding countryside is absolutely stunning in all of its autumnal glory!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from spending the weekend here for a friends wedding that was nearby. Most of the guests staying there were at the wedding, the food was lovely and the staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room number 5 in the main building the floorboards were a little creaky but then it is a very old building. We would certainly go back again

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Stayed 3 nights to see this part of Kent and have a day in France. Handy for both. 30 mins to the shuttle and less to the centre of Canterbury. Chilham is lovely and worth a walk round too. Our room was spacious and well equipped ( no 5 ), and the staff were polite and helpful. We ate in the bar once and the food was fine if unexceptional.
I would also suggest checking out the white horse which is the other pub in the village and only a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Inn

Address: High Street | Chilham, Chilham, Canterbury CT4 8DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chilham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chilham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Hotel Chilham
Woolpack Inn Chilham, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolpack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.