We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOME CRITICISMS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Woolpack Inn to your Saves list
Woolpack Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street | Chilham, Chilham, Canterbury CT4 8DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Chilham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SOME CRITICISMS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Accomodation was clean and pleasant but not adequately soundproofed- I could hear the guests next door to me snoring and the external doors were noisy.

Breakfast was good though I was not too happy to hear
the staff in the kitchen moaning that they had to do another scrambled eggs( for my breakfast) and using the f word. Not very professional.

Finally- and I may be being paranoid here- the person who looked like the manageress ignored me whilst being cheery and friendly to two women sitting together. Perhaps she just tends to ignore people on their own. But a word here, you never know who they might be so to err on the safe side, I would say hello to everyone. Unless you are trying to dissuade all people who come on their own in favour of big walking or cycling groups.

Setting lovely but not enough professionalism and customer service skills. I will not be recommending.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    55
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night after driving through France and catching 1500 ferry. Great location our room was fine no complaints,bed and shower very clean with good fluffy towels,what more do you need.Had a meal in the restaurant which was really oldy wordly( the room not the meal) which was very good and at a reasonable price,as was the breakfast.The owners run a taxi service into Canterbury and pick up for return, which is a really good idea.We will certainly return here as we wish to see more of Canterbury

Room Tip: ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay with a group & is very doggy friendly. It is a good jumping off point for all sorts of activities - whether walking or visiting the locality. The breakfasts were lovely, freshly cooked to order & tasty - however the same could not be said for the evening meals which were very mixed - shame really - however the mushroom starter was consistantly delicious!

Room Tip: Make sure when you book that you specify either a double bed or a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked into the Woolpack for one night. Very welcoming staff. We stayed in a four poster room and the bed was huge and very comfortable. I don't usually sleep well in beds that are not my own, but this was perfect! Bathroom was lovely and luxurious with nice toiletries. Breakfast is chargeable separately (I don't mind this, but would be nice if it could be paid for at the same time as the room). Unfortunately, the cooked breakfast wasn't great. Bacon was not cooked properly, and we'd asked for ours without black pudding but they came with great slabs of the stuff anyway, which put me off the rest. Weird set up with butter, etc. toast is brought to your table, but you have to get the butter and jams from other table in the restaurant. Also mugs on the table, but then you have to get your drinks from the same area as the jams etc. Bizarre and mildly irritating. All in all, a fantastic place to say, but breakfast lets it down unfortunately.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 is over the bar so can be noisy. Rooms 5 and 6 are over the kitchen and can be very hot. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room was small but comfortable it had everything you needed for a one or two night stay. The breakfast was tasty but maybe a hash brown would have accompanied it better. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It was very clean. Would i return to the Woolpack ? Yes definatley

Room Tip: Be sure to say when booking if you want ground floor as some rooms were upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle Of Man
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for one night, checked in at around 10 pm however called earlier to advise we were on our way as we were settling our don into Uni. Staff were very friendly. Check inn was easy and we were shown to our room. Room was very hot and was unable to turn radiators down. Telephone did not work however room was nice and quite spacious. Water pressure from shower no more than a trickle however seemed a bit better in the morning. Breakfast was great however surprised that not included. Very friendly staff member serving breakfast and very helpful.. On the whole we would return as the grounds are lovely and the traditional feel of the Inn was Charming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Very basic accommodation. The room was ok size. The bed was like a student bed. The walls wer so thin you could hear next door go to the toilet! The shower was ok but the tv was very small and kept cutting out.

On the plus side the food was lovely. The pork belly was delicious and the service in the restaurant was good.

Would I stay here again. No. Would I eat here again. Yes.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Inn

Address: High Street | Chilham, Chilham, Canterbury CT4 8DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chilham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chilham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Hotel Chilham
Woolpack Inn Chilham, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolpack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.