We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Woolpack Inn to your Saves list
Woolpack Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street | Chilham, Chilham, Canterbury CT4 8DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Chilham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay with a group & is very doggy friendly. It is a good jumping off point for all sorts of activities - whether walking or visiting the locality. The breakfasts were lovely, freshly cooked to order & tasty - however the same could not be said for the evening meals which were very mixed - shame really - however the mushroom starter was consistantly delicious!

Room Tip: Make sure when you book that you specify either a double bed or a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    55
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked into the Woolpack for one night. Very welcoming staff. We stayed in a four poster room and the bed was huge and very comfortable. I don't usually sleep well in beds that are not my own, but this was perfect! Bathroom was lovely and luxurious with nice toiletries. Breakfast is chargeable separately (I don't mind this, but would be nice if it could be paid for at the same time as the room). Unfortunately, the cooked breakfast wasn't great. Bacon was not cooked properly, and we'd asked for ours without black pudding but they came with great slabs of the stuff anyway, which put me off the rest. Weird set up with butter, etc. toast is brought to your table, but you have to get the butter and jams from other table in the restaurant. Also mugs on the table, but then you have to get your drinks from the same area as the jams etc. Bizarre and mildly irritating. All in all, a fantastic place to say, but breakfast lets it down unfortunately.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 is over the bar so can be noisy. Rooms 5 and 6 are over the kitchen and can be very hot. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room was small but comfortable it had everything you needed for a one or two night stay. The breakfast was tasty but maybe a hash brown would have accompanied it better. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It was very clean. Would i return to the Woolpack ? Yes definatley

Room Tip: Be sure to say when booking if you want ground floor as some rooms were upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle Of Man
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for one night, checked in at around 10 pm however called earlier to advise we were on our way as we were settling our don into Uni. Staff were very friendly. Check inn was easy and we were shown to our room. Room was very hot and was unable to turn radiators down. Telephone did not work however room was nice and quite spacious. Water pressure from shower no more than a trickle however seemed a bit better in the morning. Breakfast was great however surprised that not included. Very friendly staff member serving breakfast and very helpful.. On the whole we would return as the grounds are lovely and the traditional feel of the Inn was Charming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Very basic accommodation. The room was ok size. The bed was like a student bed. The walls wer so thin you could hear next door go to the toilet! The shower was ok but the tv was very small and kept cutting out.

On the plus side the food was lovely. The pork belly was delicious and the service in the restaurant was good.

Would I stay here again. No. Would I eat here again. Yes.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Over the years we have visited this establishment many times and the standard of the food and the hospitality have changed little maintaining a high standard considering the grumpiness of some patrons. ( having seen it first hand). The rooms are comfortable with everything the guest should want. The food has always been very good, breakfast, lunch and dinner. The village is a real gem, England at its best.
We have found very few Inns that match the location and the warmth of this wonderful country inn. OK some of the prices of the beer and food may seem expensive but you only get what you pay for. Having just returned from London and paid £3.95 for a pint of the same ale I feel that under the circumstances I would rather be sat by an open fire on a chilly evening supping a pint at this Inn. On the whole a great place to spend some time relaxing and enjoying a wonderful meal.
A place of character and nice staff.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms opposite the pub for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed overnight with my little dog Godot, while driving through the country. Was tired when I arrived after a long drive and ferry taken from France. They quickly checked me in, led me to a nice, quiet room, later on I enjoyed drinks before dinner, then the next morning, an absolutely fantastic breakfast served with charm on their back terrace. Nothing fancy; just right, a great place to stay if you've come to see Canterbury Cathedral.

Authentic environs, wonderful staff and a great place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Inn

Address: High Street | Chilham, Chilham, Canterbury CT4 8DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chilham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chilham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Hotel Chilham
Woolpack Inn Chilham, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolpack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.