We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk to your Saves list
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
A2 Trunk Road | Gate Services, Dunkirk, Canterbury ME13 9LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkirk
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

we have stayed in this hotel several times as it is cheap and very convenient for channel ferry and tunnel - 20 minutes drive. The rooms were clean but there was an awful smell, which I assume was a carpet that had been cleaned and had not dried. The television was old with a grainy picture - not the end of the world, but I had previously stayed at the Travelodge in Kew Bridge where the standard of the Hotel was excellent. We received a very warm welcome and will stay there again despite the smell.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    50
    39
    31
    31
See reviews for
68
52
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here on a stop over on the way back from Spain.

We were worried having read previous reviews of mold and damp and had phoned them before hand and they had reassured us that we would be given one of their best rooms above reception.

We arrived at the hotel, the check in lady was very polite and we were on the first floor. The room was clean inside, no damp or mold however there was a very strong smell of shake and vac/air freshener. The room was so hot inside though and never cooled down even with the windows open.

The hotel should be modernised inside, it has an old fashioned TV and it really does put travelodge to shame, especially as you get a lot of foreigners staying here. I'm sure it must have been one of the first travelodges ever built and they are keeping it the same inside as some kind of museum maybe? - Travelodge Old Style. We paid £23 a night for this place, even that was steep.

The hotel is situated in the middle of woods so it is quiet at night. Lots of bugs and beasties though.

Room Tip: Fingers crossed and hope for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arrived late, and once again didn't receive a TV remote control as there 'wasn't enough in the hotel.'

Room was dated, and the carpet had been recently cleaned but had not dried so had a very musty smell.The curtain didn't fit the window and the floorboards are so thin that we woke up at 6am when the person above us was banging around.

I know these hotels are cheap, but I still expect better standards. This would have been 1* but thankfully, we had another option for breakfast other than the dreadful breakfast in a bag.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunkirk hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were rather shocked as we have stayed here several times before and it has always been really clean but this time it wasn't. Although we have always found the reception staff to be very helpful and the rooms basic but adequate for our needs for one night, we will be loathe to stay here again after finding the bathroom so dirty. The tiles around the bath and shower were covered in long black hairs which were actually stuck to the tiles. It is obvious that there had been no attempt to clean it after the previous occupants left. Also the plug in the handbasin leaked so you could not hold water in it. I guess we might have been able to change rooms if we had asked but it was 11pm when we went into the bathroom to use the shower and it was too late to get a cleaner. We decided not to use the bath/shower.
But we can't get over a feeling of being let-down as it has always been clean when we stayed there prior to this visit. I suggest the Housekeeper at this hotel should be more diligent at checking the work of her staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is appalling. It's dated and the furniture is in a terrible state. There were marks on the wall, the sofa had stains on it, the bathroom is from the 70s and it just made me feel depressed. We got out as soon as we could the next morning. It's not worth even the £19 they advertise.
Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on the way to France, the hotel took the trouble to phone us to notify us of roadworks on the main road and tell us of a diversion to use, thought that was a really nice touch and beyond the call of duty! Hotel was basic but clean and quiet despite being on a service area on the A20.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After reading quite a few negative reviews concerning this hotel I was quite apprehensive about staying there but booked it anyway as it was close to the wedding we were attending.
We booked a family room for my husband and 2 children and I really can't fault it. The staff were very polite and friendly and the room was clean and tidy. Although it was basic (plastic disposable cups instead of glass in the bathroom) it met our needs. There wasn't much of a view as it's amongst trees but it was good to be set away from the dual carriageway so there was no light or noise pollution in the rooms. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a small bar of soap in the bathroom. My only criticism is that they don't provide any sachets of shampoo, gel or a shower cap so if you decided to stay there as a last minute decision you would need to have these items on you already. Overall I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk

Address: A2 Trunk Road | Gate Services, Dunkirk, Canterbury ME13 9LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Dunkirk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk Hotel Dunkirk
Travel Lodge Canterbury
Canterbury Travelodge
Canterbury Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.