We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Well Restaurant

Old Well Restaurant
Howfield Manor Hotel, Howfield Lane | Chartham Hatch, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
+44 1227 733892
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Well Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Chartham
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Excellent local produce in an relaxing environment
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was the first time I went to Old Well Restaurant and I am sure it will not be the last. The food was excellent and the service was great. I highly recommend if you are ever near Old Well stop and grab a bite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulsharma, Director of Sales at Old Well Restaurant, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Alin

We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated as it is always good to have feedback from diners who have experienced what we offer.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Good value. Should be much busier!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at Howfiled Manor for two nights and ate at the Old Well restaurant on our first night, a Friday in April.

The decor, glassware etc, is all a bit old fashioned but the food is comtemporary, delicious, well presented and good value for money for the high quality of food on offer.

I had a smoked samon and crayfish starter followed by pork leg then chocolate fondant. I enjoyed each one very much, and the service was attentive and appropriate, except for a few missed wine top-ups.

The restaurant did lack some atmosphere, with only a couple of other tables filled, but they deserve to be a lot busier.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

An unexpected delight at the hotel, truly first class food and great variety too.Well cooked and well presented.Nothing to dislike at all.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Lunch Carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Three weeks ago, Four of us, aged from 22 upwards went to the Howfield Manor Hotel on its first Sunday doing a Carvery. The dining room was lovely, small and intimate and so didn't cater for too many people. It was their first time at doing a Sunday Roast Carvery and it was excellent and the price for three courses was under £20. The staff were attentive and friendly. We were not rushed and it was a case of when it is gone it is gone, so no food was kept heated up for a long time. Hence the need to book! The customers were of all age groups. It was nice to go to a carvery that wasn't big and noisy and in a building that had lots of history and character. Will certainly go and would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NYE dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent food for NYE dinner. Went with my partner and enjoyed a 3 course dinner. The 3 waiters were accommodating and very helpful. It was a really wonderful experience that formed part of a special stay at Howfield Manor.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Well Restaurant also viewed

Chartham, Canterbury
Chartham, Canterbury
 

Been to Old Well Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Well Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.