We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round amazing Venue..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapter Arms

Chapter Arms
New Town Street | Chartham Hatch, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7LT, England
01227 738340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pub with excellent restaurant 1 mile from Chartham railway station
Chartham, Canterbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All round amazing Venue..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had our wedding at the Chapters on 4th August and it was made the most amazing day by the owners and staff! Both the lead up and during the day they did everything we asked of them and so much more! I had spent plenty of time at the Chapters years ago(about 15 years) so coming back since these owners have taken over I have seen a real change, but before the wedding the food was fantastic as was during(apart from 1 mix up out of 45 guests, which was unfortunate...but happens..) and the selection is brilliant. The view and grounds are lovely and we have got some beautiful pictures and memories now. Can't wait to keep going back! Would definitely recommend to anyone, whether for a function or just a nice lunch. Thank you for making our day so special..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Have just enjoyed a beautiful three course meal here with my partner and loved everything a put it. If you are looking for great food, friendly staff and a picturesque setting then this is the pub for you., simples ;-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a brilliant day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hosts and the staff were courtious and welcoming. Food was lovely, good service, would definitely recommend for a function or just a meal out anytime. Lovely gardens and nice venue for any occasion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A group of 4 of us went to the Chapter Arms one Saturday lunchtime a couple of weeks back and we were all very impressed with the place. While I can't remember what the others had, I really enjoyed my starter of potted shrimp (if not a little too buttery for my taste), my main of gressingham duck on a bubble'n'squeek cake with leeks, celeriac purée and berry jus was one of the nicest plates I have eaten this year and the dessert of treacle tart and custard was sweet and sickly - so perfect really!

They have a good selection of wines and beers and the gardens are really beautiful and well worth enjoying when the sun is out. The service was friendly and prompt and the bill was quite a lot less than expected which was the icing on the cake to a very enjoyable afternoon. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor and pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

A local near a friend of mine we went one Saturday after moving another friends house contents for some sustenance, not a soul in the place, no atmosphere and the food, whilst edible, was dull, bland and very overpriced. Won't be going back anytime soon. Despite being stumbling distance from my friend he would rather travel to The Kings Head for their great value curry night, the Artichoke for their amazing portions and service or The Hop pocket for the good grub!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter Arms also viewed

 

Been to Chapter Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapter Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.