We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week in Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karibuni Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cul de Sac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karibuni Lodge
Save
You added Karibuni Lodge to your Saves list
29 Terrasses de Cul de Sac, Cul de Sac 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip to Pinel Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Cul de Sac B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Week in Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I had tried the last two times we had visited St. Martin to stay at Karibuni but not been able to get a room (there are only 6), I was determined to book far enough in advance to get in and it was worth the wait! My husband was concerned about not being able to walk out to the beach but now that we have stayed here it will always be our first choice. The Lodge is beautiful the view from the red room is straight from a post card and the staff are all so friendly and warm. We thoroughly enjoyed it and it is our new favorite place on our favorite island!

Room Tip: Go for the Red or Green room for the view if you can get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Have spent a wonderful relaxing week at Karibuni Lodge. Very clean comfortable room. Excellent views towards Pinel Island from bed in the morning, (red and green rooms).don't know about other rooms. Breakfasts are large: beautiful fresh baguettes, pastries, fruit salad, coffee, juice, cheeses etc. great to sit on the shady deck eating it looking out over the sea. Nice pool with loungers around. Though the pool are can be very hot with no shade at times.
Small kitchen in room with fridge with icebox, small hob, oven etc. the gardens attract a selection of birds. Beautiful tropical flowering shrubs.
Celia and Savanna are lovely, very helpful and an asset to Karibuni. About 20 - 30ins drive from main international airport.
Karibuni offer free boat from
Their dock to Pinel and will reserve loungers with parasols on island for guests. Brilliant day out. A laundry service (wash and fold) is offered. Takes a few days to come back.
10 min drive to Grand Case for a huge selection of places to eat. Ti Bouchon and Sol et Luna in Cul de Sac and closer to Karibuni are restaurants well worth a visit.
Looking forward to a return visit to Karibuni Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This place truly is the perfect refuge in St. Martin. Part of me doesnt want to provide such a glowing review because I would love to keep this as one of my hidden gems however after the warmth and hospitality shown by the entire staff it would be selfish not to give them the recognition they truly deserve. The property is a very private and thoughtfully put together "village" and the room was even nicer than pictured.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Wonderful B&B, impeccable service (Thank you Celia!) Loved my stay at the Karibuni Lodge. It doesn't get better than this in St-Martin! I highly recommend this place. The room was very large and absolutely beautiful. I really enjoyed our private terrace.The view from the lodge is spectacular, just in front of Pinel Island. Breakfast was fresh and delicious every morning. Just perfect!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. The Pink room is the best, it has a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had not visited st. Martin in 14 years. We heard complaints from people how built up it is, etc. yes, this is true in some areas. This is why we tried staying in an area we had not stayed before, Cul du Sac, sort of getting onside our comfort zone of a gate enclosed resort. We are happy we did. karibuni Lodge is wonderful, we agree with all the positive reviews. We really enjoyed the boat ride to Pinel island! and their restaurant there! great people watching and a. Ice upbeat vibe there. Driving in the area is easy, and 10 minutes to Grand case for dinner and a walk. There is a small kitchen in the room. So one night we ate in. The room is very special, beautiful view, and a big outdoor space all your own.
Want to thank Celia and Sylvana for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If I rated this place out of a hundred, it would get 100. We stayed here for 10 nights during November for our honeymoon. We had the room with the pool and it was absolutely beautiful. The photos on the site do a pretty decent job of showing the room, but it's even more spacious in person. The view was stunning. The decor was beautiful. The hammock was essential.

But the #1 thing that set this place apart and made it one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at in my life was the service. Manon is the definition of professionalism and hospitality. She is gracious and friendly and very knowledgeable about the island. Every restaurant recommendation was perfect. She really cared whether we were having a great time, and she made sure we were absolutely satisfied at all times.

They also bring you an amazing French breakfast of fresh fruits, pastries, yogurt, coffee and juice every morning. And they have two extremely cute dogs. I could go on, but I don't have to. I can sum it up by saying this:

this place is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is comprised of 6 beautifully furnished and designed guest rooms. Each room has its own terrace that is equipped with a hammock, table & chairs, lounge chairs and a spectacular view of the sea. While the "lodge" is not on the beach, there is not only a clear view, but a constant breeze. There is an efficiency kitchen that is well equipped with everything including a Nespresso machine for those who travel with pods (like us!). Breakfast is served on your own private terrace daily. It is a simple, yet delicious basket of breads, yogurt, juice, coffee, cheese and gorgeous fruit. Karibuni is owned by Erik and Marion who also own Karibuni restaurant on Pinel Island. There is complimentary transportation to Pinel Island for Karibuni Lodge guests. It is a 2 minute boat ride to a glorious beach that includes chairs and umbrellas. The restaurant serves delicious food ranging from grilled fish to sausage spring rolls. Everything is tasty and fresh. The lodge has been open for two years and is run by Manon who really understands service and the art of making things luxurious without being fussy. It all makes for the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: We were in the Green Room and our daughters (20 and 17) were in the Red Room. These rooms had a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karibuni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibuni Lodge

Address: 29 Terrasses de Cul de Sac, Cul de Sac 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Cul de Sac
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cul de Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Boutique Hotel of Six Spacious rooms on the best spot of Saint Martin, marine reserve ,special transfert and service on pinel at Karibuni restaurant ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karibuni Lodge Cul De Sac, Saint-Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karibuni Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.