We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karibuni Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cul de Sac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karibuni Lodge
Save
You added Karibuni Lodge to your Saves list
29 Terrasses de Cul de Sac, Cul de Sac 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cul de Sac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved this place - amazing views of Pinel Island, the rooms are very cool and have everything you would need, the deck was fantastic, the place is hip and understated at the same time, quiet and secluded, yet close to Grand Case, Pinel, etc. Simply having breakfast on our deck was a highlight of our trip - we stayed in both the Green and Red room and found both to be great, even for a family of four. Manon and everyone else we met were wonderfully nice, super accommodating and had great advice about the island. I can't recommend this place enough. To top it off, it felt reasonably priced as well. Definitely the coolest place we've stayed at in St. Martin. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Red and Green rooms offer the best views and have huge decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Unbelievable! We spent a week here, over the busy New Year holiday, with our three young adult children. Manon and her small staff made every detail perfect. We had two adjoining rooms overlooking the pool and lovely Pinel Island. The rooms were elegant and quiet, very spacious, and furnished perfectly down to the smallest detail. The hammocks were our favorite spot, and though we worried before that trip that there might not be enough for our children to do, we spent the gorgeous endless days relaxing together on the deck, at our very nearly private pool and of course at the beach. The ferry and kayaks allowed us great freedom to come back and forth, and the staff on the island recognized us, arranged our beach chairs and umbrellas day after day, and greeted us with smiles as we arrived each morning, and as we wandered back sunkissed and tired each afternoon. Manon's parents run the restaurant on the island, and we couldn't ask for more than to watch our lobster pulled from the ocean, and then cooked on the fire and eaten 15 minutes later. Perfection. We all loved the French pastries, breads, fruits, jams, yoghurts, juices, and cheeses provided each morning after we raised the whimsical Parrot, our signal we were ready to eat breakfast. The rooms were spotless, and towels soft and dry. Manon gave us one perfect recommendation after another for dinners, from Le Tibon right down the hill, to Le Staminet in Grand Case, which was so remarkable we needed to eat there twice! Not all restaurants were fancy, our other favorite meal was local barbecue at LoLo, complete with dirty fingers and ice cold beer and we had a lovely day swimming and hiking at Loterie Farm on Pic du Paradis on her advice as well. We went one night to the Dutch side to explore the strip, casino, and local color, and were less than thrilled with the crowds, but overall, our trip was a week in paradise, and we would return in a heartbeat. A few tips...we were very happy to have a car to explore the island, but the roads are pretty harrowing, so keep your wits about you while driving. There are a paucity of street signs, but there is really only one main road around the island, so you can't get too lost. Nevertheless, the first drive into Karibuni we felt completely mystified. Read the directions Manon sends, and then PAY ATTENTION as you arrive. Also, take a trip in to the grocery store five minutes away and sample the local fruits, cheeses, meats, french breads and treats. One night you will be very happy to stay on your deck, each a simple meal prepared in your kitchenette, and drink wine and watch the stars till bedtime without having to navigate those roads back from town. Thanks Manon for a lovely lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Secret Paradise!
Karibuni has it all! We really enjoyed our stay here! Amazing view, fantastic rooms, quiet and wonderful friendly service! Breakfast is great too! We stayed in the Red Room:) Loved it!! Spacious, clean, peaceful sun loungers and outdoor table, kitchen with everything you need! Free tender and loungers etc at Island:) Manon goes the extra mile for her guests!! we will be back!! Thankyou:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just returned from a week at Karibuni Lodge. This is an incredible place.
The rooms are beautifully designed, with concrete floors, rainhead shower, kitchenette and
very comfortable bed. Air conditioning is a plus as well. We stayed in the Green room, but all the rooms look spectacular and private. Luxury and elegance at a very reasonable rate compared to other properties in the Caribbean with similar high standards. The photos and virtual tour on line are exactly what you experience. Absolutely fantastic views and charm. You put up the parrot in the morning and Sylvana comes soon thereafter with an infectious laugh and smile with your breakfast of breads, croissants, cheeses, fruit and yogurt. We immediately felt at home by her welcome. Manon, our host, was very helpful with recommendations and reservations, if you desired, but did not hover and allowed us to experience our vacation as we wanted. We intended on visiting many beaches, but ended up loving Pinel Beach so much that we fell into a wonderfully relaxing routine of taking the private boat or kayaking ourselves over to the beach every day. The waters are calm and the food at the Karibuni restuarant (lunch) was the best of all the meals we had the whole week. If you stay at the Lodge and tell them you are going to Pinel, you will find chairs reserved for you and we were served with perfection by Fabian each day -- yes, Fabian is as handsome as his name implies, but it was his professional and yet, laid-back demeanor that was so impressive during a busy time with very demanding tourists. You will need a car to get to Grand Case periodically for dinner. We rented from Banana Location car rental on our hosts' recommendation. Great car and service. So we highly recommend this place even though it is not right on a beach. We saw those other beach-front accomodations and are so glad we chose here instead. We'd suggest to go to Orient Bay to walk the beach, but stay at Karibuni Lodge to truly enjoy an extraordinary vacation. Our only concern is that word will spread and it will be harder to get a room the next time we return. Bravo to Marion, Erick, Manon, Sylvana, Fabian and the entire staff at Karibuni.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a place where you immediately feel relaxed and on holiday, where you get a warm welcome and the staff is smiling; just add the nice view of Pinel Island, a large terrace, the chic design of the room, the "perfect" breakfast brought directly in your room by beaming Silvana(perfect except for coffee which I'm sure could be improved), the complimentary transfer to Pinel Island and beach accomodation and you get a rough picture of the place. Furthermore it is fairly priced, naturally for Caribbean standards and I'd surely like to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The lodge itself is 6 rooms - all named after different colors. We stayed in the Pink room, which is the only one with its own pool. While the views are much better in the upper rooms (red and green at the top), the privacy of the Pink room was great. We went over to Pinel at the suggestion of the manager Manon, who is the daughter of the owners, who also own a very cool restaurant/bar over on Pinel Island. Pinel is chill and probably the highlight of the trip to St Martin.

The rooms are well-appointed, sexy and whimsical. You can open them to the air or close them up with air-conditioning. The central pool is really the only common area so you are pretty much in your room, at the pool, at the beach, playing on their water toys, over at Pinel, or out and about on the island. As many other reviews have stated, a sense of the whimsical comes when you raise your parrot for breakfast and are greeted by Sylvana who brings you the delicious fruits and breads and inquires if you will be going to Pinel for the day. They are also GREAT at making cool recommendations of where to go around the island especially for dinner. And when others on the island find that you are staying at Karibuni, they always comment how nice it is.

The Lodge is in a great area (about 5-10 minutes from Orient Bay and Grand Case) - so easy to get around. I would say that if you really want to experience a fun playful side of the French side of St Martin, you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms and they each connect in sets of two - all the rooms are comparable with the one e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is not the Westin!

Karibuni lodge is French/Caribbean haute chic at its best, coupled with genuine hospitality of the highest order. And, if you want a world class beach experience and superb dining, this is the place for you.

Each morning began with beaming Sylvana delivering a tray of fresh fruit juices, fruit salad, yoghurt, croissants and baguette to our patio. Thereafter we took the Karibuni speedboat to Pinel Island where the owners of the Karibuni run a wonderful restaurant and beach concession. Waiting for us were a pair of beach loungers and umbrella at the water's edge of the unforgettable beach with its protected turquoise water and clean white sand. To crown it all, whenever we wanted to return to the hotel, the speedboat was at our disposal.

Besides the physical attributes of the Karibuni Lodge, Pinel Island Beach and the culinary treats of St Martin, the Karibuni Lodge also has another trump card: her name is Manon. She showed us genuine hospitality, and went out of her way to ensure we had a memorable time.

Our time at Karibuni was way beyond expectation, and we will certainly be back.

Jeremy & Eleanor, Vancouver, Canada.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karibuni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibuni Lodge

Address: 29 Terrasses de Cul de Sac, Cul de Sac 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Cul de Sac
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cul de Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Boutique Hotel of Six Spacious rooms on the best spot of Saint Martin, marine reserve ,special transfert and service on pinel at Karibuni restaurant ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karibuni Lodge Cul De Sac, Saint-Martin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karibuni Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.