We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Taitu

Le Taitu
Mont Vernon Lot 65, Cul de Sac 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-4323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Cul de Sac
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are located on the road to Mont Vernon : At the Cul de Sac roundabout, take the road to Pinel Island ferry or Radisson Blu, Drive for 600 meters and take the first right, 100 meters more and here we are on your left hand side.Welcome to the TAITU.From May until the end of October,we are open for lunch from monday to saturday (noon to 2.15pm) , and dinner from wednesday to saturday(6.30pm to 9.30pm).
Sault Ste. Marie
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Le Taitu is small and cozy place located off Rue de Cul-de-Sace which is just north of Orient Bay. Great atmosphere for couples or small groups of people. I believe it was the owner that served us - he was very friendly, patient and prompt. The food was delicious and fresh. I had Octopus Stew which was cooked perfectly - it just melted in your mouth. My girlfriend had chicken with a blue cheese sauce. Most restaurants I've been over do it on the cheese - this place nailed the sauce perfectly. To sum it up Le Taitu offers high quality French food and great service at a lower price point then some of the bigger venues in the area. We will be back. Thanks Le Taitu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    25
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Foodie's beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This restaurant didn’t live up to its reviews for us. We went on a Monday night. They are closed on Sunday. Ordered the crab appetizer others had recommended and it was tasteless? We had the cream of celery soup that was difficult to tell what it was. The cream taste dominated the soup. Our entrees were disappointing one fish one meat. The sauces were light and mild and on both of our plates the sides were rice, potato and a small portion of sweet potato or it could have been a sweet squash. We ordered the chocolate cake for dessert. I am an amateur baker and this cake was stale at least three days old. It isn’t as expensive as other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great value and simple food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We eat here each year once or twice as its affordable and interesting food. We enjoy the sole owner who serves and never fails to greet you warmly. It's a nice outdoor experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“consistency is key, delivers everytime, love le Taitu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Le Taitu, an unassuming bistro/cafe delivers consistently honest fare at honest prices.
I love a restaurant that doesn't pretend.
The Chef is solid, the food is fresh and plentiful and never disappoints.
The owner, takes care of all the guests without rush and with great ease .
Le Taitu, is on my list, whenever visiting St Martin, simplicity wins out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Le Taitu is tucked away in Mt. Vernon but worth the visit. We were able to walk there from our lodgings in Mt. Vernon. The food is simple, fresh and very tasty in a quiet, relaxed atmosphere. The catfish on coconut sauce is not to be missed. The owner serves you himself and is lovely to chat with. A little less pricey than the restaurants in Grand Case also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Taitu also viewed

Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Taitu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.