We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who would have thought?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Taitu

Le Taitu
Mont Vernon Lot 65, Cul de Sac 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-4323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Cul de Sac
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are located on the road to Mont Vernon : At the Cul de Sac roundabout, take the road to Pinel Island ferry or Radisson Blu, Drive for 600 meters and take the first right, 100 meters more and here we are on your left hand side.Welcome to the TAITU. We are open lunch and dinner, every day, except on sunday.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Who would have thought?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in a condo on the beach that uses the road this restaurant is on to get to it. We were pleasantly surprised to see such wonderful ratings for a restaurant we could walk to. This place was great! I am a vegetarian but they created some type of creole veggie/potato/rice dish that was so flavorful! I wish we had tried the restaurant before our last night.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    121
    25
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great, Cozy Little Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I ventured to Le Taitu because it was close to the condo we were staying at for our trip. After being immediately sat, we were given menus and placed drink orders which is pretty rare for St. Martin as the service usually takes way longer at most restaurants. Since neither of us were feeling up to it, we skipped alcoholic beverages even though there was a great wine/drink list. I ordered the stuffed squash and soup of the day, cream of tomato. Both were extremely delicious and a great choice. My husband seemed even happier with his grouper dish and went so far as to call it his favorite dish while on the island. Overall, this was a great little find and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food,easy to find. Ignore all directions given by previous reviewers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Most of the previous reviews are pretty accurate, except for the directions which are actually quite simple. The food was great, the service and the friendly owner were wonderful.

Directions: Use the simple tourist island map which is free and provided by almost any place you go.
On the North side of the Island there is only one round about, from here go North East onto D217, then it's only 600 Meters/yards where you turn right onto "Rue du Mont Vernon" ,this is actually the first road you're able to turn right, After 170 meters/yards "Le Taitu" is on the left and the parking is on the right.

In Short:
Coming from Grand Case heading east, 2km=1.25mls Turn Left at the roundabout, 600 mtr/yrd Turn right onto Rue du vermont(= 1st right), 170mtr/yrd left hand side =Taitu.

Coming from Quartier d'Orleans heading North West, 4 km=2.5mls, Turn Right at the roundabout, 600 mtr/yrd Turn right onto Rue du Vermont(= 1st right), 170mtr/yrd left hand side =Taitu.

Oh..... one advise, do not try to read any road signs unless you want to crash, they are very small and mixed in with other signs. Just go by the distance given. And for you Americans....600 meters/yrds is 6 football fields long. :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taitu Twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Taitu deserves it's high ranking. Great fish,salads, and dessert. French snd creole, but less traditional (and cheaper) than restaurants in neighboring Grand Case. Nice location and a friendly owner. We ate there twice in 7 nights-recommended

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of Creole and French Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I think the best food I ever had. And all I could hear from the neighboring tables was: "You should taste this, it's delicious.".
You could have a worse experience for a bigger price on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Taitu also viewed

Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Taitu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.