We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite go to place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Taitu

Le Taitu
Mont Vernon Lot 65, Cul de Sac 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-4323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 restaurants in Cul de Sac
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are located on the road to Mont Vernon : At the Cul de Sac roundabout, take the road to Pinel Island ferry or Radisson Blu, Drive for 600 meters and take the first right, 100 meters more and here we are on your left hand side.Welcome to the TAITU. We are open lunch and dinner, every day, except on sunday.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite go to place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Consistently good, fresh food...Very friendly atmosphere. Love the creole flavor.
French, but not too heavy flavor. Always go at least once per trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    121
    23
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Tricky spot to find ( driving from Orient beach continue on the main road, at the car wash and home store make a right then drive about 2/3 of a mile. Make a right onto the rosd in the right.)The sign for the restaurant is facing the opposite direction. If you drive too far, turn around and look for the small white sign in your right then make a left).

Ordered the conch stew( a little chewy) and the catfish which was excellent. Creme caramel and profiteroles for dessert.

Very nice dinner.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience on trip advisor.
Hope to see you on your next trip to St Martin.

Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crest, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good atmosphere, friendly welcoming... a place to eat and relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good place to eat in Mont Vernon 1, "Le Taïtu" is a nice place to stop and enjoy a meal.
Children menus are very good ( especially fish "Mérou" ) and the home made food is excellent!!
The welcoming owner will make you feel at home...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We know why this is the #1 rated restaurant in all of St. Martin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Le Taitu is a French restaurant that you should put on your list while on St. Martin. We have been going there for 15 years while on vacation. Jean, the owner, keeps an immaculate restaurant both in the kitchen and the dining room. His restaurant is not in the touristy areas but on a quiet street in Mont Vernon, a part of St Martin on the French side. It is an open air restaurant and has a quiet atmosphere. The food is unpretentious and simply delicious. The high quality of the food and the sauces are memorable as well as the reasonable prices. For dinner consider the 8 oz. ribeye steak with blue cheese sauce or mushroom sauce, it is delicious. For dessert try the aged rum raisin ice cream it will make you smile. Le Taitu deserves it's number one rating in all of St. Martin.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Hype?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I really wanted to like Le Taitu. Really, I did. After reading so many great reviews on TripAdvisor, my family and I decided to make a reservation. When we couldn't reach the place, we decided to wing it because of all of the hype.

The place had a good atmosphere upon walking in. It was casual and relaxed--a welcomed break from the more upscale French restaurants of Grand Case. The guy in charge was very friendly and seated us right away. The menu looked excellent...I wish I could say the same about the food. For appetizers, we ordered the mushroom salad and the Creole platter. The mushroom salad was absolutely nothing special: iceberg lettuce, flavorless tomatoes, and raw mushrooms with a mediocre dressing. The Creole platter was OK--the fish fritters were the best, but the stuffed squash and the crab were just decent. My main course, the conch stew, was a MAJOR disappointment. Although the beans on the side were tasty, the conch was nearly inedible: tough, chewy, and almost rubber-band like. My family decided not to stay for dessert.

Maybe we had an off-night, but I don't know why this is the #1 restaurant in St. Martin. Yes, the service and atmosphere are nice, but the food was nothing special, I'm sorry to say.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taitu449, Owner at Le Taitu, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your dinner.
But on that night, we did not have power in our area for 2 hours.
We understand your disappointment and hope to see you on your next trip to St Martin.

Jean
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Taitu also viewed

Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Taitu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.