We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Taitu

Le Taitu
Mont Vernon Lot 65, Cul de Sac 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
+1 059-087-4323
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 10 restaurants in Cul de Sac
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are located on the road to Mont Vernon : At the Cul de Sac roundabout, take the road to Pinel Island ferry or Radisson Blu, Drive for 600 meters and take the first right, 100 meters more and here we are on your left hand side.Welcome to the TAITU. We are open lunch and dinner, every day, except on sunday.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We happened to be staying near Le Taitu, and decided to try it when we drove by on our first evening in St Martin. What a pleasant surprise! The food is not just good, but excellent, and service is world-class - for ~$20 a plate, this is a true bargain.

Despite our limited time to explore the island, we returned on our last evening. We can't recommend this place enough!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    114
    23
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a great place to eat. This was our second time and we were not disappointed. the food was as good as we remembered it. For lunch there is a fixed price menu as well as a la carte. The fixed price menu is 11.25 Euro and includes a drink, the meal and an expresso. That's a good deal. Le Taitu is open ever day for lunch (11:45 to 14:00) and dinner (18:30 to 21). Closed on Sundays. It is outdoor covered seating with a slight breeze, so no worry about the air conditioning being too cold. The atmosphere is very informal and relaxed and you are never hurried. It is just a great place to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great french and creole food. Open air dining. I highly recommend this place. We visited it twice while on vacation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most memorable dinner in St. Martin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Keep in mind, this was our first excursion out of Park de Baie Orient since we arrived on the island. My beautiful companion and I found Le Taitu on this site and figured it was worth checking out. We were not disappointed.

We started with a couple of Island-inspired cocktails and enjoyed them quietly on the patio. As this was the slow time (Halloween/Sandy) , we had the place almost to our selves.

We shared two wonderful entres, the Cajun Catfish and the Grilled Dorado followed by the decadent Coconut Flan. The catfish was served in a delicious Cajun sauce and was perfectly crispy.

It was a memorable dining experience. The service was very good. Even though the restaurant was closing down for the night, our server was attentive and friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Le Taitu, You will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Le Taitu, great french cuisine with a touch of creole. We found it 20 years ago when staying at the Mount Vernon hotel and have come back each time we visit the island. Always great specials and excellent menu with reasonable pricing. Wonderful open air dining with Jean adding his casual touch of class. On our most recent visit in early October this year we were pleased to see that Jean had just re-opened for business after the summer shutdown. It would not have been a St.Martin visit without having dined at Le Taitu and enjoyed the ambiance. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
Barb & Henri B. , Burlington, Ontario

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Taitu also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Taitu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.