We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but...............” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sutton Staithe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sutton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sutton Staithe Hotel
Save
You added Sutton Staithe Hotel to your Saves list
Staithe Road, Sutton NR12 9QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK, but...............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Arrived 6pm on Friday for 2 night Groupon Deal stay. Check in OK and shown to our room, but no offer to carry one of our bags. Room 6 - clean but faded. Ensuite clean. Towel rail flex inlet taped up and not functional.Bed very comfortable. Went to bar for drink, cosy with real fire. Good local ale. Went through to table for dinner for 8 pm. Menu a bit 80's (like most of the hotel) Steaks, burgers, pies, fried fish - all felt high in carbs and / or fried - to be fair their menu is on their website. Service a little slow and new young staff. Food very acceptable though well cooked - but no proper decaff coffee - only disgusting Nescafe granuals (80's I suppose). Off to bed - as others have mentioned lots of noise from games room. Breakfast very good fruit juice, cereals, and full cooked if you want it. Similar dinner on second night - well cooked and they made me a main course version of the smoked salmon and prawns with horseradish and cream sauce on lettuce. Good cheese board. Some sort of reception going on in function suite with disco - very loud in bedroom room, stopped at midnight, so just mentioned that it would have been good to warn us BEFORE the event when we checked out. Good value for the price we paid on Groupon. Would need to spruce things up and improve soundproofing if we were to consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Check for any functions and room location as you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    69
    20
    10
    26
See reviews for
25
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A good friend recommend the Sutton Staithe Hotel to me this year, he said the food is really good and the real ale too.Went to Yarmouth this year so i decided to give the place a go and i was not dissapointed,since then i have had two excellent meals with my family there.You could easily miss the place as it is of a main road on the way to Stalham in the middle of nowhere so a sat nav is useful. You need to book for a Sunday Carvery or you will not get a table it seems to be very popular with locals and i'm not suprised the food is excellent. The meats on offer are:- two types of beef (on the bone) and normal,Lamb,Pork,Gammon and Turkey plus a large selection of vegtables.The deserts are lovely but you pay extra for them as they are not included in carvery,our whole bill for four came too about £60.00 which included drinks with carvery meal plus sweets,worth every penny.The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble,the place is a little quirkey with glitter balls on ceiling and building is a flat roofed afair joined onto Hotel,its different but thats what we loved about.See you next year for our Sunday Carveries best wishes the King family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having eaten here several times over the years, we booked a table for the last night of our boating trip hoping to nicely round off our holiday. On arrival we were seated at one of two tables that had been put in a corridor. After 20 minutes someone came to take our order. Our meal finally arrived 40 minutes after that, a long wait when you have children with you. All that could be forgiven for a nice meal but alas the food was not good. Two of us had an 8oz gammon steak, or that was what we ordered. It was really a bit of thick bacon, less than half the depth of the slice of tinned pineapple and it was cold. 8oz? Think their scales must need recalibrating, we were lucky if we had 8oz between us. My youngest was quite happy with his curry (although tikka it was not) but even so he had to wait nearly ten minutes more for his naan bread. My husbands pie was okay but not very much on his plate. No-one bothered to ask how our meal was, even though there were waiting staff constantly going backwards and forwards through the corridor to where I assume the actual restaurant space was. When our meal was brought we ordered more drinks but they only brought three of the four we ordered. All in all very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sutton hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

we were in room 3, noisy loud music from underneath us,door underneath our room opening and closing constantly because smokers going in and out of building.youngsters laughing and screaming outside our bedroom window.seems to be an after hours drinking establishment for staff.

Room Tip: not in room 3 if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were booked into Room 6. Evening meal the food and service was really good. Went to bed early as had been walking from Acle all day along Weavers Way. Was then woken up at 1.am in the morning by continious banging noises from below and and voices. Put up with noise for over half an hour before decided to investigate. Directly below Guest Rooms 6 + 7 found there is a games room where I came across half a dozen youngsters and an adult playing pool. Complained about noise and they all stopped. In morning when complained again found out that these pool tournaments are held regularly throughout year on every Tuesday and Thursday night. Make sure if booking that you do not book any rooms above the games room.

Room Tip: Make sure if booking that you do not book any rooms that are located directly above the games room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I will start with the pluses. Good value, Breakfast, Dinner
Minuses, Cleansiness(not the bedroom tho) just cosmetic in there, The awful smell by the reception area, the location, ( we went for a walk after dinner one evening and you can only walk along the river about 50 yards) loads of the ivy growing into our room, half the tv channels not working.
The staff were ok
I dont like to moan about places as you can see from my other reviews, but this is the first time i can honestly say i wouldnt go back to this pub (its not a hotel)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3 , quiet but ivy growing intp the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Booked the Sutton Straithe Hotel - before a Broads cruise so we could be close to Wroxham and we didn't have to leave early and hoped we could get a good nights sleep. How wrong can you be. We had a Family Room, above a pool room and sounded like loud disco. The kids didn't get to sleep until 11pm, I eventually after two complaints got the music turned off. This is not a Hotel as the beds are probably not fit for use, along with the toilets in the ensuite that gurgle everytime someone flushes anywhere. Carpets thread bear, I could go on. However the lady at breakfast was very sweet and the breakfast was ok. More a stop and drink than stop and stay pub.

Room Tip: Dont book if you want sleep, especially room 8 or any room over the pub or games room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutton Staithe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Staithe Hotel

Address: Staithe Road, Sutton NR12 9QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutton Staithe Hotel overlooks the River Ant in the heart of the Norfolk Broads.Ideally located for the Broads, Norwich, Great Yarmouth and the beautiful North Norfolk coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sutton Staithe Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutton Staithe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.