We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascada de las Animas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cascada de las Animas to your Saves list
Cascada de las Animas
31087 Camino Al Volcan | San Alfonso, San Alfonso 9460384, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here in early April in one of the suites and really enjoyed ourselves. We stayed here during the week and there were only a couple of other guests, which made it feel like we had it to ourselves. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly. The pony ride for children was great and the zip line fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    71
    20
    12
    14
See reviews for
49
115
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I just got back from a wedding held in Cajón del Maipo, and I stayed at the "Lodge" that is part of the Cascada de las Animas compound. The "Lodge" is the more upscale part of the property, and each suite is actually a separate cabin. The design is really cool - there are no right angles, and it´s really organic looking and blends well into the surrounding mountains. The restaurant that is part of the property was excellent - we had salmon there one evening that might have been the best I have ever had. We also took part in the hiking and horseback riding activities offered by the outdoors center, and I would recommend both...there is also rafting, a zipline, etc. Overall, a really great place to stay in a beautiful part of Chile. I would recommend it to anyone who likes the outdoors and mountain views. It also makes a great place to stay if you want to do area vineyard tours. Best of all....the dogs that belong to the family hang out on the property and we were able to go hiking with some of them....really made for a great experience. I usually like to go new places, but it would definitely be worth going back to the Lodge.

Room Tip: if you are up for the more upscale part of the property, I definitely recommend the suites at the Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Do not confuse the hostel and suites
lodges as many people do so.
Hostel: this was our 2nd stay, unfortunately the new manager of the hostel allows more access to the kitchen even in the refrigerator. This was necessary because the lunch is too late for hiking.
More: good for small budget, beautiful patio, beautiful garden.
Least: no access to the kitchen, 10 minutes of Cascada, no wi - fi, breakfast mince and no possibility to pay for a supplement. Beautiful House of renovation that is if need renovation.
For suites lodges: most: original decoration and unique, large room, great shower, small gallery. Good breakfast
Least: no connection wi - fi at this price, the path is poorly informed of the lodge
restaurant, breakfast too late and too late organized hikes in summer activities.
Important: on 2 occasions, the Manager has the correct errors to the home which have left a bad memory.
It is the only place in our 2 month trip where we wanted to deny our American money very very slightly crumpled.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

A cabin as you would imagine it, small quaint and rustic. This place is in a beautiful part of Cajon del Maipo. Lots of things to do from futbol, to a play area for kids to hiking to kayaking to a zip line. Lots of cabins throughout the reserve. Very rustic, we went in May, onset of winter and enjoyed the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

First, the positives: the activities we did - zip wire and white water rafting where great, staff really friendly, good experience overall. Water is more cafe con leche than crystal clear...still didn't spoil the fun.
But, the restaurant is a disaster, complete disaster. They can't do anything right - first day the chicken I ordered was seriously undercooked. One dinner there we had eight issues in one meal ranging from taking so long to bring our drinks that we gave up waiting, to bring two of the same dish, to forgetting to bring things we ordered. Understaffing is partly the problem, when they're not serving the waitresses are helping with the cooking!
Finally, we had booked a wine tour for our last day, we had booked it weeks previously but the agent forgot to book it with the vineyard. We weren't told they couldn't do the time we had expected till the moment we were due to leave, then we were given three completely different versions of what had gone wrong. Risible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Overhanging the Maipo river, Cascada is worth the trip out from Santiago. The restaurant/bar offers good food and a friendly atmosphere. Our riding holiday was unforgettable, riding through landscapes which are the stuff of dreams.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Visited the cascadas before sun-set. Lovely view over the mountains, which were tinted in the evening sunlight. Retreated for a really delicious meal to the restaurant afterwards. Super nice atmosphere, you can choose between sitting in the cozy atmosphere inside or lounge on the sofas outside with the sound of the river flowing nearby.

A very lovely evening indeed!

There are also plenty of activities on offer which unfortunately we didn't have time for but worth coming back for another time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascada de las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascada de las Animas

Address: 31087 Camino Al Volcan | San Alfonso, San Alfonso 9460384, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > San Alfonso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascada de las Animas is a full service eco-tourism resort located in a natural paradise of over 3700 hectares of rugged mountains and valleys, rivers, springs and waterfalls. Only 60 kilometers from Santiago Chile, you will find a wide assortment of delightful cabins, rooms, hostel accommodations, a full service restaurant, swimming pool and more, all located in a park-like setting. Guided horseback riding, whitewater rafting, trekking, wine tasting excursions and other activities are available year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cascada de las Animas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada De Las Animas Hotel San Alfonso
Cascada De Las Animas Chile/San Alfonso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascada de las Animas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.