We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY INTERESTING NATURE RESERVE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascada de las Animas

Cascada de las Animas
Camino al Volcan No31087, Casilla 57, San Alfonso, Chile
56-8611303
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Other
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“VERY INTERESTING NATURE RESERVE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was a very interesting location in the Maipu Valley, just beyond San Jose (and easily reachable by local bus). The guided walk to the Cascadas was very worthwhile, although in Spanish only. Good footwear and a head for heights (and drops) are definitely recommended!
The restaurant/bar is well worth trying.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    8
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“To be experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This treasure is hidden about an hour out of Santiago and should be visited by all those who love to hike, raft, horse ride, zip line and or just relax in a pool, hot tub with view to the river and be pampered with massages, acupuncture and much more.

There are spots for camping or renting of lovely and fully equipped cabins and if you prefer a spot of luxury you can hire a dome on the river or a 'lodge room' which are build in the most environmentally friendly way.

This place is more than just a pretty place to visit. Its owners have taken it upon themselves to ensure that everything is done in unity with nature as well as help re establish native flora and fauna. The people who work their are friendly and helpful and make your stay a real pleasure.

Be sure to go there soon before they build the new dam which will endanger this entire area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Nazzaro, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"BROWN" WATER RAFTING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a very good experience. The guides were very professional and we had thorough info before going to the raft and once on the raft a good exercise on moves to perform while descending on the river. We even rescued 3 members of another raft that tipped over and it was handled fast with no major drama. The groups are assigned to a guide that speaks the language and our guide Yuri spoke very good English which was a plus. We were looking forward to having a scrumptious lunch at their restaurant but it had nothing to offer, poor service and lots of flies. Shame.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding in the Andes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was absolutley one of the big highlights of our family's trip to Chile! The horses were gentle and cooperative, even with novice riders. The views as we rode high into the Andes were breathtaking. The barbecue was delicious and one of the most memorable, authentic meals we had during our trip. A mule carried all the meats, vegetables, fruit, beer, wine, soda up the mountain, and our guides prepared a 5-star lunch for us, from getting the wood fire burning to grill the beef and sausage, cooking a pot of rice and corn, preparing fresh salads, brewing a delicious tea, etc. Our lead guide was Gordita, a lovely and intelligent woman so knowledgeable about horses and the mountains and people. The whole day -- the company of our guides and 9 other guests, the food, the views, the riding -- was delightful! Our family includes a 9 year-old, 14 year-old, 19 year-old, and 49 year-olds. This day trip was a thrill for all of us!
Many thanks to Gordita and her wonderful team of guides.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nature by the river”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived to this beautiful place without any booking, there were plenty of expensive accommodation and finally we got the cheapest room, where we were told to get there by ourselves, carrying our luggage by a dirt road. this is a big place and it was difficult to find. Finally we got to the room, nice one but next to the workers one, so the noise started quite early in the morning.
All workers very serious and the owners who work at the restaurant completely unpleasant, treated us as we were little children disorganising their home. Food ok and overpriced.
The place is astonishing in nature and beauty, lots of activities to do like walks, rafting, horses, canopy and they are the most expensive ones in the area. There are many other places where you can hire this for cheaper prices. All of them quite professionals and committed.
Although the place is really nice the owners and their staff are far too serious and you get the idea that this is only a money making business without any concern for customers satisfaction.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascada de las Animas also viewed

San Jose de Maipo, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Cascada de las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascada de las Animas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.