We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynn,Dave.Maureen and Barrie.A little gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalk Farm House

Chalk Farm House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wighton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalk Farm House
Save
You added Chalk Farm House to your Saves list
14 High Street, Wighton NR23 1AL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Wighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lynn,Dave.Maureen and Barrie.A little gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just had a 2 night stay at this lovely B@B.Lisa and Ian were excellent hosts.From the minute we arrived to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail was fantastic .Beautiful clean comfortable rooms and 'chef' Ian with his 5 star breakfast is not to be missed.The log fire in the lounge is a real treat and was always waiting for us after our day of walking.Will definitely stay again if looking to holiday in this area Thankyou so much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Picked off the Internet, this was a great find - in fact, I had considered keeping it secret to ensure we could always get a booking in future.
Two well-appointed bedrooms, comfortable bed, clean and functional bathrooms, good tea/coffee provision and a really good full English breakfast.

The hosts were very welcoming and helpful, friendly without being intrusive.

I will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A very delayed review as we stayed here in the summer. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Location was great, situated in a quiet village but only a short drive to the coast. Would definitely recommend a visit to Holkam beach. Breakfast was delicious and we felt very welcomed by Ian and Lisa! Hope to come back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Booked at the very last minute, so expectations not high, how wrong we were. Ian and Lisa made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived (late). Lisa even phoned the pub to ask them to keep the kitchen open. Room was wind full. Well appointed with extremely spacious and comfortable bed. Bathroom was beautiful. As others have mentioned, Ian's breakfasts were amazing. Wighton may be a dot on the map, but it's a great jumping off spot and we managed to see a lot in our three days. As recommended by Lisa & Ian we walked to the Carpenters Arms for our evening meal, and we're glad to do so. Ian and Lisa worked in top end hotels and it shows, but their welcome is not "professionally turned on" but genuine. This was a one off trip to see the Houghton Revisited exhibition, but I have no doubt we'll be back here. Best B&B We've ever used.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a find!!!! Chalk Farm House is everything you need when getting away for a break. The accommodation was lovely, clean and comfortable with little extras thrown in to make your stay all the more enjoyable.
Lisa and Ian were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They recommended places to eat and even booked our taxi for us. Ian's hearty breakfast set us up for the day.
All in all our stay was everything we imagined and more. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Chalk Farm House to family and friends and we would certainly stay here again.
Many thanks to Lisa and Ian for making us feel most welcome.
Chris, Martin and Geoff x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice quiet village just South of Wells and within easy reach of all the attractions of the North Norfolk coast. Ian & Lisa are perfect hosts and made us feel as if we were their only customers. Excellent breakfasts and comfortable, clean room. What more could you ask for??
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a great break at Chalk Farm House, Wighton whilst spending several days at the New Dawn Conference in Walsingham. We were truly blessed in many ways and this was included by our hosts Ian and Lisa at this lovely little B&B. Ian cooks a fabulous breakfast which really set us up for the day! Nothing was too much trouble and they put extra little touches which made things extra special. There is also a separate lounge for guests to use if they want to relax after a busy day.

If you want to be really spoiled in a relaxed atmosphere - this is really the place for you. The village of Wighton is near Wells Next To the Sea.

Thanks Lisa and Ian and we shall hopefully be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalk Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Farm House

Address: 14 High Street, Wighton NR23 1AL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalk Farm House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.