We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holly Lodge

Holly Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holly Lodge to your Saves list
Holly Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Street, Thursford Green NR21 0AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a 2 night stay at this beautiful, homely place. We were greeted as soon as we arrived and were shown our room (which had been upgraded at no extra cost) Claret Cottage. The home made cake, wine, fruit and attention to detail were second to none. Jeremy made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The gardens, conservatory are a delight with many little gardens within the garden. The breakfasts were first class & the home made fig & date yogurt yummy! All the information regarding places to visit and eat were most helpful.
Thank you Jeremy & Jill we shall return.

Room Tip: Any room you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I agree with all the other reviewers regarding Holly Lodge. My new husband and I have just spent a fantastic weekend there. The people in Thursford are so friendly and helped me with my family research, whilst we were there. I found out a lot of new information about my ancestors, who were born in Thursford. I would really recommend Holly Lodge if you like peace and quiet, beautiful countryside, history and being pampered. The family history information was an unexpected added bonus.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller room, which was the Country Cottage, but it was plenty big enough for us an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just spent four nights here. Nothing too much trouble for Jeremy (the owner). Lovely breakfasts and a very comfortable conservatory for the use of guests. He provided a very useful booklet advising about local villages and attractions - the advice regarding places to eat was particularly useful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights recently and were looked after very attentively by Jeremy the owner. He cooked us a beautiful meal on the first night and a fantastic breakfast in the morning. The locally smoked kipper had us feeling full all day! The room was comfortable although I wonder if the stone floor would be cold in winter. Bed was large and comfortable. All in all a very pleasant stay and well worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is the first ever review I have ever written, therefore Jeremy is doing something right! I'm not useto staying in this type of accomodation, however was pleasantly surprised. There was a very personnel touch which you don't get in Hotels, and we were made to feel very welcome. I could go on writing about my whole but short experience, however don't want to bore anyone. The main thing is that the owner is very friendly, the room was great along with a comfortably bed. I had an issue with the shower which I thought was going to be the one negative thing however was was due to my own fault and was rectified by Jeremey promptly. (Just be aware not to twist the the hose whilst showering). Nothing Negative to say, we wish our stay could have been for longer! Lovely cake in the room with bottle of wine and a great breakfast. Well done Jeremy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We're a couple with young children wanting to pamper ourselves as part of a two night getaway. The stay at Holly Lodge was lovely and we would definitely recommend to anyone. Jeremy was extremely helpful & even cooked us a delicious and very reasonably priced homemade three course meal the second night. All in all, a fantastic find.

Room Tip: We stayed in Claret Cottage and can strongly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were very impressed with Holly lodge, comfortable rooms, great breakfast and helpful host. We loved the fresh cake in the room when we returned each day and the bottle of wine when we arrived was a nice touch. We would go back again, it makes a good base for exploring North Norfolk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Address: The Street, Thursford Green NR21 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thursford Green
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thursford Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.