We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning... this place is a hell hole” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Roque Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added San Roque Beach Resort to your Saves list
San Roque Beach Resort
Buco, Talisay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Talisay B&B and Inns
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warning... this place is a hell hole”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We found this place at some website, the map was very misleading and even the name is. On the map the location says its near the beach. So most people would think its not a lake resort but a beach resort also because of its name which i think is misleading poor tourists. unfortunately we were one of those people and my bf made a mistake of booking 3 nights instead of one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bohol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010 via mobile

If you are looking for a peaceful getaway on the lake you can't go past this value for money property. Family run the welcome you get when you arrive is followed up with wonderful service. The rooms are small but very clean and the whole property is well maintained. The owners can organize a boat etc. Just ask.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

San Roque Beach Resort, Talisay
March 2010
Nice place at the lake with very nice view on the Taal volcano.
Very nice rooms 1500-2500 pesos, very clean, aircon, hot water.
Boat to the volcano: 2500 pesos for 5 persons. Go at 7 AM, it's terribly hot and steep, take 2L water per person! And a hat! You can climb up and then down to the inner lake with boiling mud.
They can get you in Tagaytay if you want, 300 pesos, there are no jeepnees. Or 200 pesos for a tricycle.
Good food, and very friendly!
NO beach, but the lake is not the place to swim!
free WIFI, slow.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

I stayed at the San Roque and was pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of all the staff and the helpful attitude of the owners. I enjoyed the serenity of the place, after a week in Manila doing business at a frantic pace, it was great to relax and have some meaningfull conversations with other interesting travellers. I went out to the volcano and climbed to the top and all in all I had a great relaxing holiday there. I made a video of the resort that I put on YouTube
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-KY9bAhKYo
have a look and see what you think - I had a ball there.

Tony Coen

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

While searching in the net for better resort options (as many of the real good ones were already fully booked), we came across the San Roque Beach Resort in Talisay, Batangas. Telephone inquiry with the owner was done and soon after, arrangement was made and cash deposit of P5,000 was promptly made as requested by the owner, Aling Lita..

Then came the much-awaited day!!!

We reached the place in the morning of May 10, 2008 after an annoying experience with unruly motorcycle-riding men who kept on following our car to offer different price bid of their unwanted boat service unmindful of our negative response.

Upon reaching the San Roque Beach Resort ground, we were disappointed to see that the place is much smaller than the representation created by the photos posted in the internet.
Sorry to say that place has nothing exciting or anything remarkable to offer. In fairness, the lodging rooms and the surrounding maybe clean, (but even the other resorts or the comfort of our homes could offer the same or maybe even more!)

The small backyard shaded by a big mango tree has an ordinary old style swing. The covered picnic cum kitchen is also comparatively smaller with one medium table where we all sat down exhausted from the perplexed trip brought about by the unclear road direction to this place. There were few smaller tables and chairs on the adjacent side where we spotted around 4 young lady guests who lazily sat down viewing the lake looking like bored ???.

The view of the beautiful Taal lake might be very appealing to the
first time lookers but to us (who have been frequenting the beautiful, cool Tagaytay). the scene is already a common one.

While thinking of ways of how we could still enjoy the place (after all), some of us made a pose for a photo shot to entertain ourselves,while our staff coordinator was checking one of the offered lodging places with the owner. Some of us tried to look around the small place trying to search for anything more wonderful, but there were none! We were looking for the beach, because it was supposed to be a beach resort as its name suggests. Tthen came Aling Lita pointing at the crudely fenced portion of the lake that looks like a fish pen where few dark small tilapia were swimming and the water looks stagnant and unclear. We looked at each other in disappointment. the place has no swimming pool either and hence we were at a loss on what could be a better alternative for the kids we have in tow. Seeing that we all look dissatisfied and disappointed, Aling Lita insisted that the lake is clean and even said that his earlier guests have been enjoying the lake since yesterday. But how come we found nobody swimming in the lake when we arrived there.

Then we quietly returned to the table not knowing whether to laugh or cry. Going here without checking the place first is a big, big, big mistake we whispered.The kids who were dying to swim were all anxious, what was happening??? they must be asking as their innocent eyes were waiting for their moms to give them the go signal to start the water fun. Of course the kids are too young to know our concern.

Then we heard the voice of our Boss, who was all the while surveying the place, calling all of us. He pointed at the dirty tiny elements floating at the designated swimming area that even
multiplied as we stared closely. Then we also spotted the moss on the slippery steps down the lake which is not safe for our children. Our Boss then asked all of us if we are willing allow our kids to swim in that dirty lake??? Then we thought, maybe we just will not swim and do what the other guests have been obviously doing.... sitting while sighting the Taal ake view over and over again till we get drowsy and fall asleep. OH NO!!! NO! NO! NO! OUR KIDS WILL NOT LIKE THAT IDEA we all thought. THEN WE WERE ALL RELIEVED!!! Our Boss told all of us that we still
have plenty of time to just retreat and go find another place... a real beach where we could all swim, and with many other amenities we could all enjoy. Never mind the down-payment, forget about it he said. YEHEYY, We all screamed while thanking our geneours, good natured Boss! We happily moved back to our cars while our kids are somewhat bewildered, some were crying even!!!

Aling Lita who was very kind over the phone while we were still making deals suddenly turned contentious because while our staff coordinator was explaining the decision of the group to retreat, we overheard her saying nasty hings about our Boss that she does not even know personally so how could she easily make negative comments just because our Boss would not allow our outing to be spoiled by the dirty lake she was offering? Even the daughter of our Boss was not spared and Aling Lita called her "maarte" and even boasting about her foreign visitors and telling that we will regret our decision and many other nasty words unbecoming a real hospitable person. But who cares about all her defensive remarks, our own naked eyes could prove that the place will not be worth our stay. We did not withdraw our deposit anyway, she earned P5,000 and her rooms were left untouched so we were really stumbled by her rude attitude.

We drove farther away ! And our kids' their tears turn to joy upon seeing the new place we find.... a real beach.. in Nasugbu!

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — The owner's hypocricy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

This is an outstanding property. The owners are so friendly and helpful. They have their own boat to take you to hike the volcano. The rooms are very large and clean. The prices are excellent. They really give you a lot of value for the $. The restaurant is outside at the lake side and the food is excellent and affordable.
Just can't say enough nice things about this property and the owners. Definetly worth a stop while in the Philippines.

  • Liked — The great owners
  • Disliked — no hot water
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Roque Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Roque Beach Resort

Address: Buco, Talisay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Talisay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Talisay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your San Roque Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Roque Beach Hotel Talisay
San Roque Beach Resort Batangas/Talisay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Roque Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.