We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to revisit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollyhock House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Runton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollyhock House
Save
You added Hollyhock House to your Saves list
Church Close, West Runton NR27 9QY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 West Runton B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A place to revisit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at Hollyhock House B&B over Easter 2014. I couldn't have been made more welcome. I went down to West Runton on the train and was even picked up from the station. The host were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was all homemade from the bread to the lemon curd. The compote and homemade yogurt were to die for although my grand daughter told everyone that I had ' compost ' and yogurt. Bless her!
The house is on a quiet private road and only a few yards down to the beach by way of some steps.
The crowning glory that made my stay home from home was when I was told that if I needed it there was Hot water bottle in the dresser drawer. Absolute bliss!
I will definitely recommend Hollyhock house to all my friends and when I visit the area again will hope there is a room available for me to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hollyhock House in the summer of 2012. We couldn't have asked for more. The owners were warm and welcoming. The rooms were clean, well equipped, peaceful and very comfortable.
What raised this B&B above any other B&B or hotel we've stayed in before, or since, was the extraordinary effort made to accommodate our vegetarian, coeliac daughter. Broadening her travel horizons has meant that we have yet to return to Hollyhock House as we had intended, but she still asks when we will visit again. We do, however, plan to visit again and have recommended Hollyhock House to friends and colleagues.
Hollyhock House was the perfect holiday base for a small family with special requirements.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshirewoman
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I can just reiterate what others have written: friendly welcome, including by the lovely little spaniel, great vegan breakfast, spotlessly clean throughout, beautiful bed-linen, at end of private road 5 minutes' walk along a grassy path to the top of the cliff (with 81 steps down to the beach), wonderful centre for the delights of the N. Norfolk coast & hinterland, close to the route of the hop-on/hop-off bus that runs along the coast road. Excellent value for money so it's a pity we could stay only 2 nights. However I shall definitely be back!

Room Tip: Only three and all are very nice. Two have a sea view and the beautiful garden. One of those is en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not only is HollyHock House in a very private and beautiful setting (right by the sea),it is ideal for a stay if you are visiting North Norfolk. The rooms are very airy,clean and tea and coffee making facilities supplied (phew)! On arrival we were greeted warmly and had a welcome cup of tea,whilst sitting in the lovely garden, which is absolutely delightful, with it's variety of feathered friends including the hens and chicks.
Breakfast is excellent and we didn't need to eat for hours! Thanks to the hens fresh eggs every morning.
We would completely recommend this B and B and happily return.............

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I visited Hollyhock House one October weekend with my 7 month old baby and we were made so at home by Cilla and Julie, I would heartily recommend their B&B to you.

The breakfast was wonderful (homemade pancakes and maple syrup, hot porridge with homemade fruit compotes, freshly baked bread, fresh eggs from the chooks in the garden...deee-lish!!!).

The accommodation was top notch, clean and warm and comfortable, right next to the sea and with a beautiful garden.

Just don't park on the grumpy neighbours' grass!

Thanks Cilla and Julie!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is a lovely peaceful and relaxing B&B in a great location, made extra special by the friendly and welcoming owners. Fab veggie breakfast (also the coffee was just perfect!) Enjoyed watching the lovely chickens. Wonderful area for cycling, also went canadian canoeing. The Shire Horse sanctuary is only a few minutes away (very nice vegan cakes there). A visit to Clementines cafe/bistro is a must - delicious food and really friendly; they cater for veggie, vegan, gluten-free and meat eaters, and are within walking distance of the B&B. Also had an excellent meal at The Bank in Sheringham.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

Set overlooking the sea in a private close. The owners cook a delicious and healthy breakfast using their own produce. Warm and comfortable. Lovely garden.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollyhock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollyhock House

Address: Church Close, West Runton NR27 9QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > West Runton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Runton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollyhock House is a detached house on the cliffs overlooking the sea. Situated in a private close with no street lights and no through traffic, it's the perfect place to take a break from the noise and stress of life. We have been established as a vegetarian B&B for 11 years. We offer a comfortable tranquil space in which to relax and unwind, and pride ourselves on the food we offer. The breakfasts are generous and wholesome using local organic produce whenever possible. Our allotment provides much of our fruit and vegetable requirements and in season supplies our guests with strawberries, raspberries, plums and damsons, and of course tomatoes. We make all of our own preserves and any surplus supplies are sold at the All Natural Company Health Food shop in Sheringham. We are able to provide breakfasts suitable for coeliac, gluten/wheat allergy and vegans.We are into our fourth year of hen keeping. Every year our trusty broody, Hattie, decides it's time to increase her family. At the moment we have 2 marans, 2 barred Plymouth rocks and 4 light Sussex chicks. We are more than happy to show people the ropes and hope our enthusiasm can be passed on. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollyhock House West Runton, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollyhock House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.