We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just passing..... Wish I had” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Cromer Road, West Runton NR27 9QP, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Derby
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just passing..... Wish I had”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Was in the area at lunch time in the week, looking for lunch, The Village from the outside looked promising, so we stopped.
The food was uninspiring, the service poor, the decor inside was shabby chic, we'll it needed redecorating really.
The beer garden looks very attractive, perhaps if we had eaten out there I might have enjoyed it more.
In a nutshell if you are passing...... Keep going.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    23
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Village Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Village Inn is a lovely old building and has a lot of character. The gardens are also lovely.
We went to West Runton out of season so the evening we popped in for a meal, it was very quiet in the restaurant.
The restaurant itself is well-appointed and attractively decorated - modern and minimalistic.
I am interested in old buildings and I asked about its history. The person serving did not really know much about it and did not really seem interested - that's a pity as it must have a real story to tell.
The food itself was disappointing and very average. For what we paid we did expect a bit more. My scampi had been over-cooked and was not enjoyable.
If the food was improved it would be such a lovely place to eat.
We will go back to West Runton again but would only go to the Village Inn for a drink.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely pub in West Runton, very dog friendly ;-) Good choice of vegi food, very tasty and good service, will certainly go again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great food and plenty of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went here a few times while in the area The food was great and pleanty of it and nice and hot too . The puddings we had were fantastic what great place to eat will go back again when in the area

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner for 4 and a small child”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 6.30 pm without a booking after having a lovely day at Blakeney. The staff. We're friendly and although busy seated us in the Restaurant area with a High chair for the child.This is not fine dining however the food was lovely and the service was good and this is reflected in the price.
I had the braised brisket which was lovely. Would recommend

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Inn also viewed

 
West Runton, Norfolk
 

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.