We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laiya beach, Batangas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laiya Beach

Laiya Beach
San Juan, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in San Juan
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“Laiya beach, Batangas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A nice getaway from the city. Do book your resort in advance ! There are other beaches in Batangas as well, but you need more than a day to explore the place. It is very hot during this time of summer. Evenings are good :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    26
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

beach is clean and few people around. roads are a bit rough going to the resorts though. An SUV would probably be a good choice to bring. Lack of commercial establishments in the area so either bring your food or buy from the resorts

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The water's color is divine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I LOVE THE WATER! It's not too deep even if you're pretty far from the beach front. While the water was a bit rocky on some parts, you can ask the locals where the less rocky part of the beach is. We got into a banana boat and they drove us to a snorkeling site. It was so beautiful that it didn't register to me at first that we were in the middle of the ocean. The corals were very prominent under the water, and the fishes were beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling and diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Laiya Beach is a really refreshing, uncrowded beach with excellent snorkeling and diving sites. Be warned, it is a rocky, pebble beach, so you should definitely wear water shoes!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“My Feet Hurt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Laiya Aplaya is a beautiful place, with a long white beach and a warm turquoise ocean. The resorts which line the beach are many, and diverse, featuring quiet getaways, or family fun, or powerboats and jetskis. For me, getting away from the big city noise and pollution is always a positive experience.

The beach was clean, thanks to all those resort employees, and the ocean generally clean as well, with just a few plastic snack bags floating around. There are reefs for diving or snorkeling.

The beach, however, was made up of larger coral particles and rocks. Since I'm forced to wear shoes for most of my life, my feet are too tender, so I have to wear sandals, and shake the "sand" out of them constantly. It's also steep where the beach meets the ocean, and it's easy to get trapped in the water at high tide between the pounding waves and the steep sand. I got tossed around by the waves, trying to get out of the water, and ended up with about half a kilo of beach inside my swim shorts.

It's not White Beach or Coron, but it's also two hours from Manila by car, and that's worth a lot.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laiya Beach also viewed

Batangas City, Batangas Province
Calatagan, Batangas Province
 
San Juan, Batangas Province
Batangas City, Batangas Province
 

Been to Laiya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laiya Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.