We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Black Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Black Lion Hotel
Friday Market Place | Little Walsingham, Walsingham NR22 6DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walsingham
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights in this picturesque village of Litttle Walsingham at the Black Lion. Very old building full of character. Our room was nicely decorated and spotless, with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom. Restaurant doesn't have a massive choice on the menu but the food wastruly excellent. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.The Black Lion is situated well for visits to the shrine and the abbey gardens (which were lovely) and there are also some nice walks in the area (check out the tourist information for maps of the walks.We enjoyed our stay so much we are going back in September.

Room Tip: all rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly Little Walsingham itself is an amazing village, 'quaint' is a totally inadequate word. A surprisingly large number of clerics wandering the streets is explained by the fact that the village contains a major religious shrine to Our Lady of Walsingham (I fully accept that I'm totally ignorant in these matters).

The Black Lion from the outside looks like a proper old pub/hotel, ancient double doors take you straight into the bar where you'll find a roaring fire (I'm pleased to say), welcoming staff and possibly even more clerics! The bar/eating area has been carefully, stylishly and simply fitted out so loses none of the atmosphere of such an old establishment. The eating area stretches back from the bar with another roaring fire just in case. Rooms are upstairs, many beams but none so low you bump into them. Again the rooms have been tastefully decorated, are very comfortable and with none of the problems you used to suffer from when staying in old pubs. Food is good pub type food, reasonably priced and well presented. Well recommended as a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

The Black Lion is conveniently situated for both a visit to The Shrine and also the North Norfolk coast, it is a lovely boutique hotel, with stylish rooms, hearty, reasonably priced food and a roaring fires in the communal areas.

I stayed in room 1, which was perfect for my needs and I was most impressed with the attention to detail. Everybody at the Black Lion was so friendly, courteous and keen to make my stay as enjoyable as possible...in fact I extended my stay by a night as I was having such a relaxing time!

I particularly liked the decor throughout, which was a mixture of minamalism and reclaimed industrial....really, really unique. A lovely little hidden gem of a hotel...go!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 via mobile

great food, great service, really nice pub too.

Went with the family for Mother's Day, portions could maybe be a tad bigger.

All in all, very very nice though and reasonably priced, I would make a return visit.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

My husband booked a table for Mothering Sunday and we were warned it was a very small table due to being busy, but on arrival we were shown to a good sized table, wasn't small at all. Décor is amazing, original and interesting. Staff are friendly, professional and extremely helpful. We ordered the Sunday roast, which was beef. It was cooked to perfection and extremely yummy. Our son had fish and chips from the children's menu and there was plenty for him, he's got a good appetite and he was more than happy with his meal. Prices are good. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

The food, beer, wine and service were second to none. Along with it's location near the beach at Wells-next-the-sea, I would highly recommend this hotel. The food was excellent and the staff happy. I would also add that the menu ; although limited, was all freshly cooked to order. Enjoy your break

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We just had dinner at the Black Lion, but are tempted to go back and stay. A lovely, large, warm room with a spectacular open fire, is what you need on a winter evening. That's what we had that evening. The service was kind and warm, the food was more than adequate (pub food, but good); the old wooden tables a touch of poetry. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: Friday Market Place | Little Walsingham, Walsingham NR22 6DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Walsingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walsingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 700 year old coaching inn with seven en-suite bedrooms, several with original medieval feature walls and windows. The restaurant serves modern British cuisine and is based on what local seasonal ingredients are available from the farmers and fishermen. There is all day tapas and light snacks and during the winter they serve a sit in or takeaway "soup kitchen" menu. A la carte is available lunch and dinner. The bar serves several local cask ales and ciders, the usual selection of lagers, spirits and wines and has a good top shelf of Scotch and Whiskey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Hotel Walsingham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.