We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, fair value pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Black Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Black Lion Hotel
Friday Market Place | Little Walsingham, Walsingham NR22 6DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walsingham
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Friendly, fair value pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had been meaning to visit for lunch for some time and finally got round to it the other weekend. First impressions very positive - nice renovation but not overdone so the pub has retained a lot of its character and has avoided the ubiquitous leather sofa / farrow and ball look.

Very friendly welcome and good menu for a Sunday lunch as well - choice of two roasts and a number of other interesting dishes.

Our children had a small roast and the kids burger (looked home made which is nice) and we both had the roast. No complaints with the food at all - well cooked and quickly served. It wasn't fancy but was a very tasty good value pub lunch. Good choice of beers and a very reasonably priced wine list as well.

There are fancier (more expensive) places nearer the coast in particular but if you want good value, decent food with attentive service then I would not hesitate to recommend the Black Bull.

We will certainly be back.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival exellent welcome from staff.had booked table for sunday lunch, bit disapointed with this we had the turkey was told would come with all the dressings ie pigs in blanket stuffing, sprouts none of these. Hotel nice and warm on arrival with open fires,how ever rooms cold when got in heating not come on untill 4.30. Shower not very good must get them changed needed to run round to get wet.Breakfast was very good only draw back very dark and cold. Has been nicely restored if you are looking for the old world, but not for me, needs more comfort.

Room Tip: Only one room with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the Black Lion for the first time, having watched the renovation over about a year we were interested to see what was on offer. From the moment we stepped through the door we were more than pleasantly surprised. A warm welcome from the manager, an excellent menu and a good drinks list. We all decided on the roast dinner, the beef was succulent and the roast pots crispy and tasty, the veg were not over cooked and tasted of broccoli,beans and peas! Staters were well balanced sweet course was limited but tasty. At the moment we would rate the food at the top end of what is on offer in this part of the world and at a reasonable price. We have decided to try again very soon and hope the staff and the chef stay there.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

we ate here at least 3 times! that says it all really. the staff were very friendly and well trained always happy to help. the food was delicious, especially the mussels which were plump and well cooked. would recommend this pub to anyone visiting walsingham, the dog also enjoyed his time there.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The real delight was how friendly the staff were, they gave us and Teagan (the dog) such a warm welcome. Two open fires blazing and a pint of the local bitter relaxed us into the start of our stay. The decor is trendy shabby chic, clean, warm and inviting. The room was lovely, very clean, a comfy bed and a doggy bed provided for Teagan including a bowl of dog treats! The food was good with a few vegetarian options - which always beats the standard vegetarian lasagne option! Overall a wonderful break away from it all. I will be back and would highly recommend this as a great place to stay (and I'm not easily pleased!).

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

4 of us stayed here the past 2 nights, we had the most fantastic time. We stayed in rooms 4 and 5 which were both doubles, and beautifully decorated. Tea at night was lovely and cooked to perfection. Tables were reserved with a lovely plaque with surnames on, (it made you feel very special.)Both mornings there was a wide variety of breakfast. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, booked us a taxi to thursford and this morning a lovely lady showed us around the rest of the rooms for when we next stay. If you are in this area this pub is definately worth a visit. Thankyou for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Beautiful and clean room, top class service for us and the dog. The dog had his own special bed, towel and biscuits which was very sweet! Reasonably priced food was delicious and the breakfast very good too. Wish we'd had two nights and would definitely would go back. Lovely (and slightly spooky) village fun to wonder around and good dog walks from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: Friday Market Place | Little Walsingham, Walsingham NR22 6DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Walsingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walsingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 700 year old coaching inn with seven en-suite bedrooms, several with original medieval feature walls and windows. The restaurant serves modern British cuisine and is based on what local seasonal ingredients are available from the farmers and fishermen. There is all day tapas and light snacks and during the winter they serve a sit in or takeaway "soup kitchen" menu. A la carte is available lunch and dinner. The bar serves several local cask ales and ciders, the usual selection of lagers, spirits and wines and has a good top shelf of Scotch and Whiskey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Hotel Walsingham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.