We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Walsingham Barns Cafe

Great Walsingham Barns Cafe
Hindringham Road, Walsingham NR22 6DR, England
01328 822255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Walsingham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Found this on a recent cycle ride in Norfolk ....
The goats cheese tart with salad, was to die for, in fact while my friends were choosing their desserts, I could had quite happily enjoy another one..... Opted for the carrot cake instead, which was also lovely...
The staff were very pleasant, the place looked lovely and clean, although we chose to sit outside.. All in all a very enjoyable lunch.. £45 for 4 lunches, 4 desserts and 4 teas/ coffees, very reasonable ...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    20
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best steak and kidney pudding ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was a little disappointed on walking in to the cafe as the pies did not look anything special in the display and the decor is underwhelming though it is clean and comfortable. But the service was very friendly and the steak and kidney pudding with mash and extra gravy and leeks and carrot mash was absolutely delicious! Without doubt the best I have ever tasted. Cappuccino was good too and they have tea pigs which I love. We will be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Lasagne I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The service is friendly and accommodating and the food was just amazing. I would highly recommend the lasagne and the goat's cheese tart.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancashire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The place to go for Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited friends in Great Walsingham recently and they booked us in at The Barns for Sunday lunch/. This was possibly the most delicious roast dinner I have ever had - roast beef, yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes and the tastiest gravy ever, followed by a light syrup sponge. At our host's recommendation we brought a selection of their home-cooked pies home. Can heartily recommend the chicken and bacon and my husband is still raving about the venison and sloe gin pie. Have just placed an order for some more when our friends visit us later this month.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pie Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Found this place by complete accident. Little Walsingham is (apparently) a site of huge interest from a christian viewpoint. I'm sure it is, but the Barns Cafe is a little way up the road in Great Walsingham. It is worth finding.
We went in looking for a light lunch. We decided on the spiced venison pie and the smoked fish pie. Everything read well and looked very tempting. We were not disappointed. Both dishes were excellent; beautifully cooked and full of flavour. The fish pie was listed as being award winning. The judges chose well. Service was very good and attentive. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Walsingham Barns Cafe also viewed

 
Walsingham, Norfolk
 

Been to Great Walsingham Barns Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Walsingham Barns Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.