We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute . . . . but reallly loved it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bell Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Bell Guest House to your Saves list
The Old Bell Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Gayton Road, Grimston PE32 1BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Grimston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Last minute . . . . but reallly loved it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Because our usual New Year racing at Cheltenham was cancelled we literally booked this Guest House as we were walking out the door to go racing at Fakenham instead. So much so, Sandra and Rob had not even received our booking when we got there and totally taken by surprise. Saying that we had a choice of two lovely bright rooms, one of which had a four poster bed and the other just as nice. We were out and about the two days we were there and breakast was served at a reasonable hour not a silly o'clock time, especially after a late night New Years Eve. The only downside there was nothing much around that area so spent a lot of time in the car driving whereas in Cheltenham we park up and walk everywhere. Never mind though we really enjoyed the weekend and as they say a change is as good as a rest.

Room Tip: Both rooms were lovely on the first floor, although it seems to be on a busy junction so quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed just for one night for a wedding. Very warm welcome, the room was very comfortable, clean and a good size. Breakfast served in the garden room was delicious. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have dined here on a number of occasions in the past two years. I know I will find an immediate and genuinely friendly welcome, to walk in is to feel relaxed. Dining room is comfortable and opens into an outside covered area surrounded by plants, herbs used in the kitchen and a small and unobtrusive water feature. The ideal surroundings to eat in on a warm day. Food - consistently good and the frequent themed evenings demonstrate the versatility used in making each visit something to look forward to, to enjoy and to be thinking ahead to the next visit whilst leaving from this one. Anticipation, enjoyment, relaxation and wanting to go back.........it's like going home!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I live just up the road from this old Inn but have never stepped through the doors until today. From the very first moment we stepped inside we were made to feel extremely welcome. Service and food in the restaurant were excellent. The surroundings were very clean and all in all a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. Will definitely be heading there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

the old bell was a friendly place to stay the food was first class the bedrooms were spotless and the owners bob and sandra were perfect hosts we were made to feel like one of the family i would recomend this hotel to anyone in the area

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This guest house is local to us and on the recommendation of friends we recently visited their restaurant. The welcome we received was first class, the food was superb and the overall experience was excellent. For that reason we have now visited twice. We have tried their a la carte menu and also their fish and chip night (Friday). The fish and chips was the best we have had in many years - all cooked freshly to order and served beautifully. The a la carte menu is varied, interesting and the food delicious. The prices are excellent too. There is a nice little bar to have a drink whilst waiting and ordering and the whole ambience of the place is relaxing and friendly. We are so pleased to have found somewhere so good and local to us. (We haven't experienced their bed and breakfast accommodation personally but in view of what we have seen we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family and friends visiting the area. )

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We have just spent three nights at The Bell, and it was all we had hoped for. The large spacious room was very clean with 2 comfy armchairs and lovely soft furnishings. It was nice and warm even in December. The conservatory restaurant [where breakfast is served] is very attractive and there is also a small well stocked bar. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, we had our own door key and could come and go as we pleased. The exterior looks better in reality than on Google Earth where the photos are out of date, the owners having taken over only 3 or 4 years ago. We saw the other upstairs bedrooms which are fresh and attractively decorated too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Bell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Guest House

Address: 1 Gayton Road, Grimston PE32 1BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Grimston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grimston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bell Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bell provides Four en-suite rooms, three of which are on the first floor and a twin room on the ground floor. We are centrally based for the historic town of King's Lynn, about 30minutes drive to the North Norfolk coast and conveniently situated near Pedar's Way for walkers and bird watching areas. Sandringham is only a ten minute drive away. Our restaurant and bar are popular and provide a varied menu, catering also for vegetarians etc. We serve real ale and a fine selection of wines. Please note that the restaurant and bar are closed on Sunday and Monday evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Bell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bell Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.