We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bartley Rd, Woodlands, New Forest National Park SO40 7GN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 nights for £300 for 2
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I recently stayed at the Woodlands Lodge Hotel for a business trip and can not rate it highly enough. The accommodation was beautiful and clean, staff were welcoming and friendly and the over all feeling and impression was relaxation and comfort. For what you get the value for money is excellent and I would recommend to anyone travelling to Southampton. I will definitely be returning for a personal vacation with my partner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    75
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
51
133
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Happy ,friendly and very helpful staff. Good food.
The only down side was the state of the room. It was clean but one set of curtains wouldn't close, the toilet roll holder was broken and four light bulbs needed replacing.
However, putting that aside, we would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Booked this hotel at rather short notice as our normal hotel was fully booked. However we will be booking this hotel in the future when we are in Southampton. Great staff, perfect location, comfy beds and can highly recommend eating in the restaurant, trio of pork was delightful and poached eggs for breakfast were perfect, and to top it all FREE wifi.....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed at the woodlands for one night and I actually felt pretty sorry at it was for one night only as I would have loved to stay for longer. The staff are all very nice and friendly and the place just oozes calm and serenity. The only reason I am not giving it excellent is because the rooms look a little bit tired and could do with a bit of a face lift without taking away any of the rustic charm. Oh and do try the restaurant as well. The dinner was divine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Have just returned from a long weekend at the Woodlands Lodge with 7 other couples. The staff were friendly and happy to accommodate the various wishes of our group. Breakfast on each day was excellent but we didn't take evening meals in the hotel due to prior commitments. All of the rooms were of a good standard altough the decor in the corridor on the top floor could do with a little atttention. All in all a good find we will definitely be making a return visit both as a group and individually.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and enjoyed our stay. Lovely position on the edge of the New Forest. Helpful staff if a little scatty at times. Good breakfast. Had an excellent evening meal in the restaurant. Room perhaps needs a bit of attention but nothing serious. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a brilliant weekend staying at this hotel . We just got back and I must say that the staff cannot help you enough . The food in the restaurant absolutely superb . The hotel is in a great area with access to many walks and not far from most attractions . The only down side is perhaps the rooms are a bit dated decor wise but I suppose that we did stay in dog friendly rooms but we will definitely be staying there again . Thank you to the staff at the Woodlands Lodge for making our family welcome and we cannot praise them enough . Also a big thank you from all our dogs who were made so welcome too . Excellent weekend .

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs and at the rear for wonderful views over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Address: Bartley Rd, Woodlands, New Forest National Park SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.