We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Woodlands Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bartley Rd, Woodlands, New Forest National Park SO40 7GN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Woodlands
totton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Family Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The meal was very good and well presented, the manager and staff were pleasant.I thought the drinks were a little expensive compared with other hotels we have visited in the area.
We had our coffee in the garden as it was warm,as a gardener myself I thought there could be
more content in it as it lends itself to be improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    61
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
43
115
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Woodlands Lodge is a hotel which feels like it is currently in a state of transition, but that's not a bad thing by the way!

Situated in a picturesque part of the New Forest, you can literally walk down to the end of the enviable gardens and out into the forest to see the roaming horses, cows and deer. The rooms are comfy, but feel like they need a bit of fine tuning. This is something which I know the owners are in the middle of doing, (they've not owned the place long) and once this is finished, they will hopefully go from being good, to great. The same goes for the sitting room where visitors can relax after dinner, take coffee, read, watch tv (The Olympics was already on for us) and digest their amazing meal (more on this later).

The staff were attentive, chatty and polite. Would ideally have had our toiletries replenished in our room every day by the maids, but I'm sure this would have been sorted had we been bothered by it enough to ask. (Just one more note to the hotel, please clean the fish tank in reception out regularly, especially as it's one of the first things you see as you come throughout the entrance.)

Now, the massive high of staying here is, for me, undoubtedly the food. We had dinner in the restaurant twice and was incredibly impressed with the standard of the cooking. There was a perfect sized menu, which tends to mean that the food will be fresh, and a great deal of skill went into the cooking and presentation. I really can't express enough how delicious it was. The same goes for the breakfasts. No lazy, self-service continentals in sight, lots of tasty, well portioned options to start the day with, all cooked to order.

So, in conclusion, it's a very good hotel and would be happy to recommend it, but if all of the little tweaks that need to be done are done, and the hotel turns out to be as good as the meals, then the owners and customers will be on to a winner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a lovely old house hotel.
We stayed here on the 23rd July 2012 as we suddenly had a spell of dry warm weather after a very wet early summer.
We wanted a dog friendly hotel and they were offering a good deal,
Yes it is an old building and if you want straight lines and perfect surfaces you should look elsewhere.
The reception area is in the main hall area and is very nice and welcoming in a country house kind of way.
We were in room 11, the bathroom is a flashback to the late 70's with avocado suite including shower, loo, bidet, sink and whirlpool bath! The room itself is quite large but one of the curtain draw strings was faulty so the right side curtain only opened half way.
The maion parts of the hotel are well maintained and clean.
The lawn areas were rather unkempt with things like the Jenga blocks and large chess set scattered about as victims of the deluge we had suffered for weeks. Clearly they hadn't had a chance to get into the garden and tend to it but I bet it's normally well kept and lovely.
The setting is right in the countryside in the forest so you ar away from noise, traffic and 3G but who cares?
We had a lovely time and will recommend it to friends,
Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel should have been a wonderful experience - the weather and location were perfect but on arriving at the hotel there was a really weird smell (the staff claimed not to notice it) The room we had (No 18) was dated and none too clean. Staff seemed to want to be anywhere except where they were. Service in the bar was slow and not too friendly. Menu very limited - no specials offered. The whole place seemed to be soul less at best

Room Tip: Room 18 was on the ground floor at the front of the building which is good if you have a dog. Bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imogene A, Owner at Woodlands Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not have a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly welcome and service. We appreciate your comments, as it is only through your feedback that we can improve our service. In the last few weeks we have received a few comments regarding service and i can assure you the matter has been dealt with to ensure that we restore our friendly and family atmosphere. I cannot apologise enough for this, as the beautiful weather in the New Forest should have been the icing on the cake and not the saving grace. We are undergoing a process of restoration and i am sorry that you did not find room 18 up to scratch. Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and i hope that we can show you how good we really can be in the future. Best wishes
Imogene Anglaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is a terrible rip off, unbelievably overpriced. The staff is unhelpful and dumb. The furniture is cheap. The whole atmosphere is unwelcoming. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Holidays in the UK have suffered this year from some simply terrible weather. Whilst we were staying in the hotel, there was some horrendous rainstorms around Britain and clearly trade is not thriving in the leisure trade. The hotel was probably about half-full but the staff did not hang-around or give the impression that we were not welcome. In fact we found the young staff helpful although some appeared to be part-timers. They might have given the impression that they weren't welcoming but in our opinion it was simply that they were simply young and relatively inexperienced. The owner was very welcoming and professional and one felt that he would soon build up an excellent standard of service from his staff. Certainly the rooms we saw were all newly decorated with good showers (and a small bath).
The food was first class, helpings were appropriate rather than massive and service was efficient and fast. Coffee was served either in the dining room or the drawing room and generally we had a really pleasant evening.
I would certainly stay there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a base in the New Forest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

As a traveler from Canada wanting a relaxing friendly place to stay in the New Forest, the Woodlands Lodge Hotel was perfect. The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful in all aspects. The food was excellent and the ambiance wonderful. Only a few steps away from being in the forest and seeing the ponies was an exciting opportunity. I'd highly recommend staying here and will definitely return one day.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious, well appointed and had every amenity. Top floor rooms might tend to get a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodlands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Lodge Hotel

Address: Bartley Rd, Woodlands, New Forest National Park SO40 7GN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Lodge Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Lodge Hotel is a charming Country House hotel well away from main roads set in three acres that open directly onto Hampshire's New Forest. The perfect base to relax, walk or enjoy the local New Forest attractions. Woodlands Lodge Hotel can also host, conferences, weddings and special events. We have The Hunters Restaurant on site which is open to non-residents and has been awarded an AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Woodlands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Woodlands
Woodlands Hotel Southampton
Woodlands Lodge Hotel New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.